We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hotel Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort

Save Saved
You added Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   39 Beach Lagoon, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Amelia Island
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice Hotel Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

What I liked about the most from this resort is their open air shopping center. It looks like a little village with a man-made lake, an all around deck, different shops, as well as good eateries. They have a decent size convenience store with very reasonably priced pastries and comfort foods. The only problem I saw with their merchandize was an added service fee of about 20% plus tax, which kind of kills the conveniency of buying stuff there. Don't get me wrong; the food was tasty, but it was too little food and very expensive when you factor in all of the convenience fees! Overall, not a bad stop on A1A for a mental break before you head to the beach.

Room Tip: Get their chocolate treats and deserts. They are to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visit_OAIP, Manager at Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our shopping village and the scenery. It sounds like you dined and shopped at Marche Burette, our french style deli and market. The retail section of the market that includes gifts, grocery items, toiletries and a wine shop does not add a 20% gratuity to the bill, however if you dine at the restaurant portion or order food to go and ice cream from the deli they will add the 20% charge. Please note the 20% automatic gratuity charge is going away in all dining venues on March 1, 2013. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    621
    318
    122
    59
    32
See reviews for
321
397
17
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We held our Daughters wedding at the Omni Amelia Island resort. Could not of been better. From the attentive staff to the chefs who prepared the meals, it was all first class. This resort has something for everyone. We had approximately 130 guest spend a weekend at this fabulous resort and all had a great time. From volleyball on the beach to rehersal dinner at the Falcon's nest to the reception at Walkers Landing. This is the place if you are wanting a great desitation beach wedding. First class all the way.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Most have an ocean view and we felt the room cost were below market rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visit_OAIP, Manager at Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and positive rating of your daughter's wedding at the Omni Amelia Island Plantation! It was our pleasure to host you and we are thrilled to hear that everything from the location to the amenities exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your return, perhaps for future vacations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4SEASONS
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

One bedroom very nice with plenty of space for a couple,ocean view terrific. Staff very pleasent. You know when it is not just "quite right”! Well it's not "quite right". Food is mediocre at best and twice the price at a good restaurant in the town of Fernandino. Breakfast buffet ok but food dried out. One of the times we got a dirty cup. Went there late one morning and early another, same problem both times(no excuse) . The bar: you can order tomato juice from room service but can't get it at the bar? Food and beverage department got a long way to go. Member of Omni program asked for 2pm check out (they are at 90%) they said it is not possible. Also program states water and amenities night of arrival: never happened. So they don't honor loyal members! No-one at the beach to take care of beach chairs/towels etcetera so if they are out they are out. Not possible to get beach service (drinks/food) . So the big question: Would we come back and stay here or recommend to friends? Big resounding NO!
PS. the place is difficult to get in and out of; signs are terrible (in case you have your own vehicle)

Room Tip: stayed in room 609 .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visit_OAIP, Manager at Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are extremely sorry to hear that your experience with our resort was much less than satisfactory. It is our mission to exceed our guests expectations and clearly we fell short in regards to your dining experiences. A new Director of Food & Beverage as well as a new Executive Chef recently joined our team and we are confident that our staff and service levels will continue to gain momentum not only in the area of food & beverage but throughout the entire resort. We also apologize that your late check out request was not honored, however those circumstances are based on availability and occupancy levels, not primarily on select guest status. It is also regretful that you did not receive your water upon arrival but we hope you were able to enjoy the perks and points that a Select Guest membership provides including morning beverage service.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the oceanfront accommodations and resort location, therefore we hope you will reconsider not staying with us in the future so that we may rekindle your faith in our property. Your comments have been forwarded to our executive team for review and training opportunities. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuluota, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had the opportunity to visit the Omni last weekend. We had an ocean view room. The hotel is beautiful, the room was comfortable, the view was unbelievable. The hotel is undergoing some construction right now on a new convention center - should be fabulous. Didn't dampen our fun. We had a cocktail party at the golf clubhouse - beautiful sunset, fire pit, good food, good friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visit_OAIP, Manager at Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments and rating! Sounds like everything you experienced from the rooms to the view to the club house cocktail party - was all around fabulous - and we could not be happier for you to share that. By the sounds of your review title, you will be visiting again - we look forward it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort was a beautiful place - set between large live oaks with Spanish moss and the beautiful beach. The hotel and its meeting facilities were great and I think each room has a view of the ocean. Our room was wonderful and was nicely appointed and well-cared for by the housekeeping staff. There was a fair amount of construction going on at the time, but the hotel and restaurants and meeting facilities were functioning without missing a step. The golf courses were outstanding and the food service at the restaurants was excellent. As part of our meeting, the hotel provided a beach party one evening with excellent food and entertainment by some of the activities staff. This was quite a distinctive experience. All in all, this was a beautiful facility and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visit_OAIP, Manager at Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for sharing your positive experiences! Its so nice to hear how much you enjoyed our location, oceanfront accommodations, function space and culinary options - all things we pride ourselves upon - despite the current renovations taking place. We look forward to hosting you again whether it is for another company excursion or a personal vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Updating a previous post: Since the situation in the hotel lobby, we have not returned to the hotel itself. It's unfortunate what occurred and it was obviously an isolated case. We continue to enjoy the pleasures of the OAIP property and support the staff and planned events during the year.

We love shopping at the stores around the lake, meeting friends for drinks at the Boardwalk Bash, and eating at Marche Burrette, the Falcon's Nest, and the Veranda. We're happy to see the arrival of the Farmer's Market on Saturday mornings and love the vast selections of fresh fruits, vegetables, flowers and plants. We also love the prepared meals at the Market, the kettle corn, and flavored honey.

OAIP is a wonderful family destination with continued improvements underway for the guests' and property owners' enjoyment. OAIP is a special destination for business meetings and family vacations, and it will always be a special place for those who call it home.

Room Tip: Great place for business and families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visit_OAIP, Manager at Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make updates to your previous review. As you mentioned, the lobby incident was unfortunate. Nevertheless, we are extremely grateful that the isolated incident did not dissuade you from mentioning the positive experiences and elements of your visits with the plantation. It's wonderful to hear you enjoy our new weekly farmers market! We are very fortunate to have it here and we look forward to its continued success as well as your future visits. Thank you for the excellent rating and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I just completed a stay at the Omni Amelia Island. Thanks to the fantastic staff. The Catering events were fantastic, the food good and the staff...

The staff were prompt, courteous and all had a fantastic attitude.

It's always hard to be upbeat during contruction and remodeling so kudos go out to all who made our event A+.

Room Tip: The Sandcastle rooms are privately owned condos so they vary in decor. A little bit of a hike but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visit_OAIP, Manager at Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed yourself while visiting us and that you were especially happy with the events you attended. We look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort

Address: 39 Beach Lagoon, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Amelia Island
#6 Business Hotel in Amelia Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the tip of a barrier island just off the Northeast Florida coast, this AAA Four Diamond oceanfront resort features luxurious ocean view accommodations, family-friendly activities, grand on-site meeting spaces, and endless dining options. It's the perfect backdrop for your family vacation, romantic getaway, corporate event, or destination wedding. Whether you choose one of our deluxe oceanfront rooms, a contemporary premier guest room, or a completely indulgent luxury hotel suite, you will enjoy unparalleled ocean views and spacious accommodations. Relax on the largest multi-tiered pool deck in Northeast Florida, which features an adults-only infinity edge pool, a 10,000 square foot family-friendly Splash pool, a Splash Park water playground for the kids, two hot tubs, and oversized fire pits. Stroll down 3.5 miles of pristine beach or spend an afternoon kayaking and paddleboarding through Amelia Island's preserved marshlands, just a few of the many activities available during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Amex, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Hotel Amelia Island
Hotel Amelia Island
Resort Amelia Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.