We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"LAYED BACK"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fernandina Beach

Fernandina Beach
, Amelia Island, FL
904-277-5269
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Thirty block historic district.
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
185 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“"LAYED BACK"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Amelia Island is the Northernmost barrier island on the East Coast of Florida. Just two miles wide and 13 miles long, connected by a bridge over the Inter Coastal to the North and a series of bridges to protected Talbot Islands to the South.

Fernandina with its wonderful Historic District , port, and paper mill lie to at the North end where part of the shrimp fleet is docked. Mid Island is the resort Summer Beach communities anchored by the Ritz Carlton Resort. The lower third is the Omni Amelia Island Plantation resort currently under major restoration.

Amelia Island and Fernandina are unique and diverse. Layed back to say the least, but there is a movie theater. Scores of top notch restaurants, amazing beaches, Fort Clinch, The Pier, Main Beach and the remote and pristine South End. This is a place where families are not distracted by shopping malls, traffic or stress. Bike and walking trails are everywhere. You can drive your 4x4 onto the beach at some points on the Eastern shore and enjoy the marshes on the Western shores.

Read the posts. It it is too quite for you, go elsewhere, but if you have seen the world and want a genuine "layed back" vacation, you can't do much better and do it on any budget. I know I sound like a Chamber of Commerce writer, but this is our fourth season living here part of the year, and each year it gets better and better. Yes there is a paper mill, it is part of the history and the economy, but I can count the times I have smelled it on one hand.

Check it out, you will love this place. Someone you know has been here and will tell you there is no other place like it in Florida.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    73
    12
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best cities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Been around the world, but this is one of my favorite cities. Modern and old all in one place. The beach is the loveliest in Northeast Florida.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely place to visit, charming old Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I didn't know places this charming still existed in Florida! Both Fernandina & St. Augustine are delightful, full of one-of-a-kind shops & restaurants. We have spent about a week here. Try Barbara Jean's for dinner & Ms. Carolyn's for breakfast or lunch. The eggwhite vege omelet is so tasty you won't notice you're eating healthily. The beaches are wide & beautiful, not crowded, at least in January. We stayed at the Residence Inn -- very nice. We went on a river boat ride & the area is filled with history of which I'd been unaware. Great locations. We toured the old fort in St. Augustine & walked around the adjacent old town -- lovely shops, restaurants, ice cream & candy stores, etc.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Step Back into Old-Time Florida”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

A seaside community that has really stood the test of time... Downtown Fernandina Beach has storefronts from 50-100 years ago, and surprise- almost all of the storefronts were active and in business- even during January. So many towns like this look so sad, with the old-time downtown shopping districts looking like ghost towns. Fernandina Beach has a wide variety of shops, restaurants, boutiques, and character. Stop in the Vistor Center (old time train depot) for a free booklet that will guide you on a walking tour of the downtown area.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

What's with the Pollution Factory that spews gastly smoke all day long? It's disgusting! Don't come to this town...Not worth it--too many beautiful clean beaches that smell like salt air and ocean. Soooo disappointing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fernandina Beach also viewed

 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Fernandina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fernandina Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.