We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best cities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fernandina Beach

Fernandina Beach
Amelia Island, FL
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Thirty block historic district.
Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of the best cities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Been around the world, but this is one of my favorite cities. Modern and old all in one place. The beach is the loveliest in Northeast Florida.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    56
    11
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely place to visit, charming old Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I didn't know places this charming still existed in Florida! Both Fernandina & St. Augustine are delightful, full of one-of-a-kind shops & restaurants. We have spent about a week here. Try Barbara Jean's for dinner & Ms. Carolyn's for breakfast or lunch. The eggwhite vege omelet is so tasty you won't notice you're eating healthily. The beaches are wide & beautiful, not crowded, at least in January. We stayed at the Residence Inn -- very nice. We went on a river boat ride & the area is filled with history of which I'd been unaware. Great locations. We toured the old fort in St. Augustine & walked around the adjacent old town -- lovely shops, restaurants, ice cream & candy stores, etc.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Step Back into Old-Time Florida”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

A seaside community that has really stood the test of time... Downtown Fernandina Beach has storefronts from 50-100 years ago, and surprise- almost all of the storefronts were active and in business- even during January. So many towns like this look so sad, with the old-time downtown shopping districts looking like ghost towns. Fernandina Beach has a wide variety of shops, restaurants, boutiques, and character. Stop in the Vistor Center (old time train depot) for a free booklet that will guide you on a walking tour of the downtown area.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Really?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

What's with the Pollution Factory that spews gastly smoke all day long? It's disgusting! Don't come to this town...Not worth it--too many beautiful clean beaches that smell like salt air and ocean. Soooo disappointing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“For all budgets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We have been here a week and have just loved our stay. It's a great seaside town with lots of free as well as moderately priced to expensive things to do. We love just walking on the beach and the marinas are great- you can check out the boats, the people and the birds. Restaurants in all price ranges plus lots of things to see and enjoy. It's been in the high 60's all Christmas week with cool evenings and a nice breeze. We're glad we came and will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fernandina Beach also viewed

 

Been to Fernandina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fernandina Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.