We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to visit, charming old Florida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fernandina Beach

Fernandina Beach
Amelia Island, FL
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites
Activities: Hiking, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Thirty block historic district.
Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely place to visit, charming old Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I didn't know places this charming still existed in Florida! Both Fernandina & St. Augustine are delightful, full of one-of-a-kind shops & restaurants. We have spent about a week here. Try Barbara Jean's for dinner & Ms. Carolyn's for breakfast or lunch. The eggwhite vege omelet is so tasty you won't notice you're eating healthily. The beaches are wide & beautiful, not crowded, at least in January. We stayed at the Residence Inn -- very nice. We went on a river boat ride & the area is filled with history of which I'd been unaware. Great locations. We toured the old fort in St. Augustine & walked around the adjacent old town -- lovely shops, restaurants, ice cream & candy stores, etc.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    49
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Step Back into Old-Time Florida”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

A seaside community that has really stood the test of time... Downtown Fernandina Beach has storefronts from 50-100 years ago, and surprise- almost all of the storefronts were active and in business- even during January. So many towns like this look so sad, with the old-time downtown shopping districts looking like ghost towns. Fernandina Beach has a wide variety of shops, restaurants, boutiques, and character. Stop in the Vistor Center (old time train depot) for a free booklet that will guide you on a walking tour of the downtown area.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Really?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

What's with the Pollution Factory that spews gastly smoke all day long? It's disgusting! Don't come to this town...Not worth it--too many beautiful clean beaches that smell like salt air and ocean. Soooo disappointing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“For all budgets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We have been here a week and have just loved our stay. It's a great seaside town with lots of free as well as moderately priced to expensive things to do. We love just walking on the beach and the marinas are great- you can check out the boats, the people and the birds. Restaurants in all price ranges plus lots of things to see and enjoy. It's been in the high 60's all Christmas week with cool evenings and a nice breeze. We're glad we came and will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Serene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Serene setting during a beautiful winter day. Almost deserted. Clear water, lots of sun, no wind. Great place to relax.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fernandina Beach also viewed

 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Fernandina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fernandina Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fernandina Beach to your Saves list