We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step Back into Old-Time Florida” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fernandina Beach

Fernandina Beach
Amelia Island, FL
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Historic sites, Sights & Landmarks
Activities: Hiking, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Thirty block historic district.
Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Step Back into Old-Time Florida”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

A seaside community that has really stood the test of time... Downtown Fernandina Beach has storefronts from 50-100 years ago, and surprise- almost all of the storefronts were active and in business- even during January. So many towns like this look so sad, with the old-time downtown shopping districts looking like ghost towns. Fernandina Beach has a wide variety of shops, restaurants, boutiques, and character. Stop in the Vistor Center (old time train depot) for a free booklet that will guide you on a walking tour of the downtown area.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    58
    11
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Really?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

What's with the Pollution Factory that spews gastly smoke all day long? It's disgusting! Don't come to this town...Not worth it--too many beautiful clean beaches that smell like salt air and ocean. Soooo disappointing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“For all budgets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We have been here a week and have just loved our stay. It's a great seaside town with lots of free as well as moderately priced to expensive things to do. We love just walking on the beach and the marinas are great- you can check out the boats, the people and the birds. Restaurants in all price ranges plus lots of things to see and enjoy. It's been in the high 60's all Christmas week with cool evenings and a nice breeze. We're glad we came and will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Serene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Serene setting during a beautiful winter day. Almost deserted. Clear water, lots of sun, no wind. Great place to relax.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FERNANDINA BEACH
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A Fine Beach Community”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Live here from 1982. Very pleasant small town, beach generally clean with multiple accesses. Surf sometimes high and dangerous; comply with lifeguards and safety flags.
I am very happy that we moved here. Town has a wide variety of restaurants, a very interesting history and good local shopping.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fernandina Beach also viewed

 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Fernandina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fernandina Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.