We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step Back into Old-Time Florida” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fernandina Beach

Fernandina Beach
Amelia Island, FL
904-277-5269
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Thirty block historic district.
Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Step Back into Old-Time Florida”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

A seaside community that has really stood the test of time... Downtown Fernandina Beach has storefronts from 50-100 years ago, and surprise- almost all of the storefronts were active and in business- even during January. So many towns like this look so sad, with the old-time downtown shopping districts looking like ghost towns. Fernandina Beach has a wide variety of shops, restaurants, boutiques, and character. Stop in the Vistor Center (old time train depot) for a free booklet that will guide you on a walking tour of the downtown area.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    70
    11
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

What's with the Pollution Factory that spews gastly smoke all day long? It's disgusting! Don't come to this town...Not worth it--too many beautiful clean beaches that smell like salt air and ocean. Soooo disappointing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“For all budgets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We have been here a week and have just loved our stay. It's a great seaside town with lots of free as well as moderately priced to expensive things to do. We love just walking on the beach and the marinas are great- you can check out the boats, the people and the birds. Restaurants in all price ranges plus lots of things to see and enjoy. It's been in the high 60's all Christmas week with cool evenings and a nice breeze. We're glad we came and will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Serene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Serene setting during a beautiful winter day. Almost deserted. Clear water, lots of sun, no wind. Great place to relax.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FERNANDINA BEACH
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Fine Beach Community”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Live here from 1982. Very pleasant small town, beach generally clean with multiple accesses. Surf sometimes high and dangerous; comply with lifeguards and safety flags.
I am very happy that we moved here. Town has a wide variety of restaurants, a very interesting history and good local shopping.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fernandina Beach also viewed

 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Fernandina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fernandina Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.