We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looe Key, Looe Key, But No Touchy, Touchy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Looe Key (Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary)

Looe Key (Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary)
Looe Key Existing Management Area, Nancy Foster Florida Keys Environmental Complex, FL 33040
+1 305-809-4700
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$75*
and up
Key West Safari Snorkel Adventure
Ranked #36 of 298 things to do in Florida Keys
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Snorkeling, Scuba diving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Looe Key reef has been federally protected since 1981, first as a national marine sanctuary and now as an Existing Management Area* within the Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary. This area includes a Sanctuary Preservation Area* (SPA) that is a popular snorkelling and dive destination for new and experienced divers alike. A diversity of fish congregate here - parrots and surgeonfish on the north side; barracudas and jacks on top of the reef; grunts, butterflyfish, and angelfish on the reef crest. It is located approximately 5.5 nautical miles south of Ramrod Key and about eight nautical miles southwest of Bahia Honda State Park. *Special use regulations apply here.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Looe Key, Looe Key, But No Touchy, Touchy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

While attending a Conference in the Keys, I was able to visit the Looe Key Sanctuary. This was one of the coolest places I have snorkeled to date. While there I swam right over a Nurse Shark, who was just minding his own business and left me alone. And also a very large, very old Sea Turtle.

The Sanctuary has lots of wonderful sights, and even a few tunnel-like openings in the rock that were fun to swim through. Overall a great experience, but please note, if you get motion or sea sick you might bring aid for that; we had a few landlubber in the crew who didn't have their sea legs (they got sea sick). And this is great for kids, as long as they can swim and are able to navigate and not panic with 2 to 5ft waves at times with no life jacket.

Lastly don't forget to have fun!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    17
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic coral reefs and marine life.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I love scuba and snorkeling in the Keys -- it's a beautiful location and the experience is similar to that of other Carribbean locations I've been to -- colorful and plentiful marine life and in Spring through Fall, very comfortable temperatures even without a wetsuit. In the Winter I typically wear a shortie suit or full wetsuit to stay comfortable on my dives. I cannot necessarily recommend this more than any other spot in the Keys, but it's gorgeous and worth seeing -- so much marine life to view!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Snorkeling is great here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I've been coming to this reef for almost 20 years and I'm still amazed by it. The Goliath grouper, sharks, parrot fish, barracuda, rays, and other tropical fish are abundant because it's a sanctuary. We're really lucky to have this reef. If you had to pick only one place to snorkel or even dive then this should be your top pick because of the amount of sea life here. You will always see something great here. You'll get plenty of bottom time if you're diving. Snorkeling is great here too just check the visibility before you go and if you tend to get sea sick don't go if the seas chop over 2'. Other than that bring an underwater camera if you have one and enjoy the scenery. The water color is spectacular and it's a relatively short ride to and from the reef. You'll be glad you went!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A nice little dive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We are highly experienced and traveled scuba divers. We did a couple of dives out of key west and a couple on Looe Key. Looe Key was be far our favorite spot. Lots of fish and some pretty corals. I'd recommend this over Key West. Also, if you rent your own boat you can take your time and do Looe Key, plus nearby wreck.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cudjoe Key, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Snorkle, Dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

A nice snorkle or dive trip. Go with Innerspace, Strike Zone, or Under Seas outfitters of Big Pine Key.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Looe Key (Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary) also viewed

 

Been to Looe Key (Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Looe Key (Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.