We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable with a good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Miami (Kendall), FL

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Miami (Kendall), FL to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Miami (Kendall), FL
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11750 Mills Drive, Kendall, FL 33183   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kendall
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable with a good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed in a suite for just one night while en route to Everglades. Room was clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was fine. Usual choice of bagels, waffles, cereal, fruit and a few hot choices.

We had confirmation of a lake view but were looking over the car park. Too tired after a long flight to complain though.

Pool is tiny and not worth a visit

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis2011, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Miami (Kendall), FL, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and my apologies for the things that were not right.
The pool is just a regular size pool for the lake location.
Regards,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    122
    42
    19
    16
See reviews for
109
88
14
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheboygan, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed at this location for 2 nights before a cruise. The location of the hotel was very good, easy to get to, close to shopping and many restaurants. The exterior and interior were typical of others in the chain and looked clean and well maintained. The staff was very professional and polite at all levels from housekeeping to front desk.

Our room was on the second floor facing the front and had no issues with noise. The room was small compared to others in the chain but was nicely furnished well maintained and CLEAN. Thanks housekeeping staff.

If you were going to have an extended stay at this location I would opt for a suite but for a night or two the regular room was fine.

If I am travelling in the Miami area again I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis2011, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Miami (Kendall), FL, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments specially the ones regarding our Housekeeping staff.
They are really great and that is part of our success.
Again thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Great place to stay with shopping within walking distance by as well as restaurants. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was very clean. It's in a very nice area of Miami. Pretty city views are to be had from one side of the hotel. Nightlife is great and also within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis2011, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Miami (Kendall), FL, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Country Inn & Suites Miami/Kendall.
Our location is Excellent and our Staff makes you feel at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I arrived late after a business trip and was hoping for a quiet room. I was put in a room on the first floor directly beside the breakfast area. The gentleman checking me in said there was nothing else available unless I paid for the price difference to move to a room with two queen beds. I thought it very petty given it was after 9 pm and unlikely there would be any walk-ins.
Room was very small and dated. The way the bathroom was situated, I felt like I was practically in the hallway.
Seemed to be quite a few amenities within walking distance which would have been nice had I had more time.
Breakfast was as expected; basic. Unsure about staying at Carlson hotels again.

Room Tip: Anything but the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis2011, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Miami (Kendall), FL, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments and I do apologize for the inconveniences you encontered.
When the Hotel is sold out we do our best to accomodated the guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here because we were visiting a dentist close by so just needed a fairly good priced comfortable hotel for 2 nights and it was perfect for us. Free parking, very friendly staff. Room was fairly small with a strange setup, the sink for the bathroom was not in the ensuite but anyway. Nice view looking out onto the small lake. Lots of places to eat locally as its right next to a shopping mall. Breakfast was basic but within the price of the room. Overall it was fine for what we needed, if I ever needed to return to this area then I would stay again, but I will probably never need to be in the area again!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis2011, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Miami (Kendall), FL, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments and hope you see you whenever you are in this area.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The hotel was clean and the staff was very nice, but the hotel was not what we are accustomed to at a Country Inn. The room was very small and the bathroom micro sized. The shower had instant hot water, but we are not accustomed to plastic insert shower/bath stall. The coffee/tea cart that we have seen at all of the Inns that we have stayed at was in the hallway. The wonderful breakfast that we normally expect was lacking. It was located at the end of the hall with a small sitting area to eat in. The food was sub-par, with one morning sausage, under cooked potatoes and boiled eggs in chaffing dishes. The next morning they served some type of egg product, canadian bacon (right out of the package) and muffins. The oatmeal was tasteless - One breakfast high point, the waffles were great as always... Something I always look forward to having is the fresh baked cookies at night - This hotel has cookies out of a box and they put them out in the morning in a glass jar. Last time we will waste money here

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online, Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Miami (Kendall), FL, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

If you would like to discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Firstly this hotel is not in Miami, but Kendall which is an unincorporated census-designated place in Miami-Dade County. It can take some time to get to and from the airport especially during peak hours. However, the location of this hotel is great if you want to stay in Kendall and it has free parking.

Here are the bad sides:

- I was woken up at 2am to a Rhianna track – there is a nightclub next door
- The hotel is tired
- Breakfast is not the be our guest breakfast as it says on the country inn website and the breakfast area is small
- Lack of power sockets in the room
- Washroom and restroom are split (as most country inns are in Florida)

On the plus side the staff are friendly and gave us a sachet of popcorn whist checking in! It is really close to a large shopping mall that you can walk to.

Our room also had a great view to the lake.

Would I stay here again?

They would have to renovate the hotel (if you scroll down you will see that they say that they have) and do something about the nightclub noise.

If I am being brutally honest, I think that Carlson need a better property for Miami.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online, Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Miami (Kendall), FL, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Miami (Kendall), FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Miami (Kendall), FL

Address: 11750 Mills Drive, Kendall, FL 33183
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Kendall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kendall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Miami (Kendall), FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent Location, 1/2 from the Turnpike, Shula's Express Way 5 minutes and 7 from the Palmetto Express Way. We are located on an upscale Mall, Town & Country. Great Dining within walking distance of famous restaurants like Cadillac Ranch, CJ Burgues and Portofino, glamour shopping stores Nordstrom Rack, Loehmann's and more. Enjoy our lake side and go walking distance to the nice and fun Blu Martini Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Miami (Kendall), FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Miami (Kendall)
Country Inn & Suites Miami (Kendall) Hotel Miami
Country Inn Miami Kendall
Miami Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Miami (Kendall), FL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.