We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good with some annoyances” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11520 SW 88th St, Kendall, FL 33176   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Kendall
Riverside, CA
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Good with some annoyances”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Enter the property between the MacDonalds and the Red Lobster. It's a good location; many restaurants are nearby. The room had a spacious and comfortable sitting area, but it was very poorly lit, making it difficult to read. The carpet was stained. We had a large mini-fridge (no freezer), a small microwave, and a TV that swiveled between the sitting area and the bed area. I noticed a constant whining sound during part of our stay, but I could not locate the source. Eventually it stopped. The air conditioner was effective but noisy and woke me up in the night. The toilet/shower room had a loud fan and a loud flush. The sink was outside the toilet/shower room, and it was also dimly lit, so I had to put on makeup by the window. The sink was sluggish. The bed was comfortable but sagged a bit. The showerhead was good, but the shower made puddles on the floor despite our best efforts. We used the guest laundry for $2 per wash or dry load. Breakfast was decent but not great: carb heavy, with processed hot items, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, etc. It could benefit from some peanut butter and some hot oatmeal. James at the front desk was very helpful in locating a used bookstore for us.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendalleast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel during your recent stay. We appreciate all your detailed comments. We are encouraged by your positive comments however we do see opportunities where we can do better in the future. I will pass all of your comments on to the departments involved so then can be reviewed and used both positively and constructively. I am very glad that you recognized James and that he was able to assist you personally. Once again thank you for your review and we do hope to see you again in the near future. Sincerely, Brian E. Rubine, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    60
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
56
31
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I have to give this a 4 star just because the rooms were huge and the value was great. The hot breakfast was decent as well. The only issue I had was with a desk clerk. I needed to use a phone charger, and she acted like it was her personal charger and was going to bill it to my room.....and it was from Lost and Found! I have had motels GIVE THEM to me in the past, but this lady was visibly upset that I would want to just borrow one from Lost and Found. Not sure why

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a suite. They have kitchenettes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendalleast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel and your stay. We appreciate your comments regarding the size of our suites, their value and the included hot breakfast bar. I am glad you enjoyed yourself. However I do apologize regarding the phone charger situation. As you can imagine we do have numerous ones that are left behind. We are required per policy to hold onto them for a certain time period before we dispose of them in one way or another. The one that the clerk gave you to use might have not reached the required time holding period and she was just concerned about it being available in case the original guest claimed it. Our normal practice is to assist guests by giving them older ones when needed. Again I want to thank you for your comments and hope to have you stay with us again very soon. Sincerely, Brian E. Rubine, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Recently stayed here for a week. We found the staff extremely friendly and helpful with advice on where to go and how to get there. Rooms very clean, lovely comfortable beds. All you could eat breakfasts with a great varity to choose from. All in all can't fault the place at all. Close to shops and malls and other places of interst. Would definately return. Oh....and don't forget the pool which is a bonus.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendalleast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We appreciate both your comments and your time to let us and others know how your stay was. WE appreciate your comments regarding the rooms, breakfast, location and our staff. I will definitely pass your comments on to the rest of my hotel staff. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you had positive comments for us. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in the Kendall area. Sincerely, Brian E. Rubine, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The more I use the Holiday Inn express hotels, the more I like them. Like the Courtyards, they are clean, safe and comfortable places to stay. Do not hesitate to book this property because it delivers what it promises. Add to that the convenient location by the turnpike so getting to and from the Miami airport is very easy. Breakfast is good, staff is helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendalleast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We appreciate both your comments and your time to let us and others know about your like of our hotel and the Holiday Inn Express brand as a whole. We do everything we can to make our guests feel safe and comfortable in our hotel. I will definitely pass your comments on to the rest of my hotel staff. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you had positive comments for us. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in the Kendall area. Sincerely, Brian E. Rubine, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here overnight while visiting my mother who lives in Kendall. The hotel appears relatively new, was clean, and laid out like all the new Holiday Inn Express. Our room had two double beds, flat panel TV, small sitting area with pull out couch plus a chair, small refrigerator, and reasonably large bathroom area (closet open to bedroom and sink/vanity open to room, then room with door where toilet and shower were).

The hotel was quiet while we stayed there. In the morning there is an array of breakfast items pretty standard at Holiday Inn Express (don't miss the cinnamon rolls) and coffee and juice.

The property has free wifi which worked throughout (in the room and in the lobby).

We found a rate which was about $100 a night and I thought it was a good value. i would stay here again when visiting this part of Miami.

Room Tip: The location is just off Kendall Drive just East of 117th Avenue on the Eastbound side of the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendalleast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking your personal time to let us and others know your thoughts of our property. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you had positive comments for us. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in the Kendall area. Sincerely, Brian E. Rubine, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel
Hotel is generally well-maintained
Is located in safe area surrounded by numerous malls; near fuel/gas station; near interstate access; many restaurant & store options
Friendly, responsive staff
Excellent Continental Breakfast

Only concerns:
Only one access road into & out of site/road hard to identify if not
known/ when leaving site can only make right turn & need to
U-turn back if need to go in opposite direction
Shower head in bathroom needs to be replaced/not well designed &
shower type/placement causes water to get on floor in BR no
matter how it is turned
Rug on floor questionably clean?/feels wet to bare or socked feet
Rest of room seems clean & well-maintained although bathroom
wastebasket could use liner ( I was told on 1st visit that waste-
baket liner was "fire department regulation" related)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendalleast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Than you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate you not only taking your time to let us and others know about your experience but for also returning to us for a second stay. We hope that you will continue to stay with us in the future as well. Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel's location, our staff and breakfast. Your have raised legitimate concerns and they will be reviewed for any possible improvements that can be made. Again thank you for your review and we look forward to having you stay with us again very soon. Sincerely, Brian E. Rubine, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a surprise!
Located just off the turnpike.
Dozens of places to eat!
Full good breakfast included.
The only drawback we had was do to sharing a driveway with Mcdonalds!
We had to wait out a drive though line to get to the hotel.
This is unaxeptable.
I am shure in this case timing is everything.
We will return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendalleast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are very happy that you found our hotel to be a surprise and we appreciate your positive comments. Our location and the surrounding area are definitely a plus for our hotel and our guests. We are currently working to make entering and exiting our property a smoother process. We do know that at certain times of the day that the shared driveway can get backed up. Once again thank you and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Sincerely, Brian E. Rubine, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami

Address: 11520 SW 88th St, Kendall, FL 33176
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Kendall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Kendall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kendall East Miami. The beautiful Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kendall East Miami is located in Kendall, FL and is an all-suite 100% non-smoking hotel, conveniently located one-quarter mile off the Florida Turnpike at Kendall Drive/SW 88th Street, 30 minutes from Miami International Airport (MIA) and three miles from the Kendall-Tamiami Airport. With the newly renovated Dadeland Mall just ten minutes to the east of our hotel and Kendall Town & Country Center just across the street, plus numerous restaurants within walking distance, our hotel provides the best value for your dollar. Families will love staying at our all-suite Miami-Kendall hotel. Our favorable location offers easy access to popular Miami attractions, including the Miami Metro Zoo, the Miami Seaquarium, Jungle Island, South Beach Art Deco District and Homestead Miami Speedway. Business travelers will find that our all-suite hotel, located in southwestern Miami, provides them with access to numerous companies, such as Federal Express, the University of Miami, Assurant Group, Baptist Health South Florida and Beckman Coulter, Inc.You will enjoy our Kendall hotel amenities, including free high-speed Internet access, an outdoor pool, a well-equipped fitness center and our free Express Start breakfast buffet. Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kendall East Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Kendall East Miami
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Express Miami
Amerisuites Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.