We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Excellent Value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13475 SW 131st Street, Kendall, FL 33186   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kendall
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Service, Excellent Value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Very comfortable hotel. Great customer service and clean/comfortable/quiet rooms. Close enough to the Miami airport. I stayed here for business and picked the location due to close proximity to my work site. It's not in an area that has a lot to do/see without driving a long way. The only exception I observed was the Miami Zoo, which is only 2 miles away. My only constructive feedback is regarding the elevators. They have these odd decals; one is of a woman in a white bikini and the other is of the beach. BOTH are odd. In the scheme of my stay doesn't matter a lot, but would recommend they get rid of them ~ it's CHEESY. The complimentary breakfast is awesome. Eating area and pool are a decent size and are clean. Great place for an excellent value. Would stay here again and would recommend it to others as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIexpress-kendall, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
kctravel11,

Thank you for providing such a detailed review of my property. You will be pleased to know, based on your recommendation, I have removed the "cheesy" decals from both elevators.

I haven't decided what to replace them with, but I welcome your opinion.

Sincerely,

Kenny Oliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    39
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
27
27
8
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

I reviewed this hotel a few years ago and was less than happy with it, however, I think it may have just been the situation at the time. The last time we stayed here, the Red Lobster was under construction and the hotel was overrun by construction workers.

Well, they're all gone and the hotel is much quieter and more pleasant. He young man was very pleasant and helpful at check-in. We had a room with two double beds and a sofa-sleeper, which was quite spacious. It also had a mini-fridge and microwave, which was helpful for heating up Cuban food leftovers. The rooms were clean, however, the furniture had been a bit abused (what are people doing banging up furniture that way).

The location is okay. It's great for me being near family, however, for tourists maybe not so much. There aren't really many touristy things in the area. It is close to the Fl turnpike, though, which makes for easy access to the rest of the city.

Hotel is nice, clean and inexpensive.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Just as good as several years ago. The manager, Mr. Oliver, is a man of his word. I cannot say enough good about him and his employees. I am in the Kendall area every couple years, and will not consider staying anywhere else. GREAT PLACE TO STAY !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIexpress-kendall, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
GaryR,

Thank you so very much for the high praise of my staff and property. I am pleased to know that the quality you have come to expect from your first stay was met during your second visit.

I look forward to your return and have no doubt that we will continue to surpass your expectations.

Sincerely,

Kenny Oliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

As always, Trip Advisor reviews were a major factor in the selection of our hotel. Our hotel was just what we expected it to be, a quality Holiday Inn property. Our check-in was professional, efficient, and friendly. The front desk staff went out of their way with suggestions and excellent directions. We walked in to a very clean room that was nicely configured. Our beds were comfortable and hallway noise was not a factor.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIexpress-kendall, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
bookboy50,

Thank you for your endorsement of my property and staff. I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

I trust you had a safe trip home, please come see us again the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Kenny Oliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel was impressive from the 1st moment of my arrival, with it's beautiful outdoor landscape, the charming personality and friendly welcome by the 1st staff person named Keisha, and the lobby/reception area was very quaint with it's orange infused drinking water in a glass tea pitcher and the large bowl of Florida oranges there for our enjoyment. At dinner time, they displayed a very nice assortment of chocolate chip and oatmeal cookies for our enjoyment as well. The rooms were very clean, spacious and had the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in at any hotel. The pillows were so fluffy and sooo comfortable which is one of the features that I will never forget. I usually have to take my pillows with me when I travel due to neck problems, and these were absolutely incredible.....The outdoor pool and jacuzzi were a dream to use, and the jets on the jacuzzi were powerful enough, that I felt like I had gotten a massage on my lower back and also my feet. I give this hotel a "10" in my book and I would recommend this to anyone traveling to Miami. The breakfast was good, not just continental as in most hotels. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and even the maintenance man named Ruben S. came to our rescue, when my friend and I locked ourselves out of our room, and saved us a trip to the reception desk to get another key......Thumbs UP to all in this location, and I will definitely be staying here again in the near and distant future. Sincerely, Maria Rizzi

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIexpress-kendall, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
charisma_77,

My sincerest heartfelt thank you for writing such a detailed and positive review. I am thrilled that every aspect of your stay was enjoyable and that the staff made you feel welcomed and taken care of.

Kesiha was just brought on board as the Front Desk Manager and her impact has been immediate, we are lucky to have her. Ruben is our Chief Engineer and it is thanks to him and his team that the hotel looks as great as it does, he is invaluable.

I will make sure to pass on your praise to each of them.

Sincerely,

Kenny Oliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Great hotel, very comfy rom with seating and kitchen area. Restaurants nearby, some nice ones overlooking lake in nearby shopping mall. Breakfast was great, lots of choice and fresh pancakes. Could have done with microwave at breakfast to cook instant porridge a bit better. Good fitness room and pool. Very helpful staff. Loved the vanilla flavoured milk with coffee.

Room Tip: Go for a high room to enjoy the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIexpress-kendall, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Lorna F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at my hotel.

With regards to the porridge, Intercontinental Hotels Group will be launching new and improved options very soon. I hope you enjoy them.

Sincerely,

Kenny Oliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Everything about this hotel was great. The rooms were clean, internet worked fine, temperatures very adjustable, and location close to where the hospital in which I was conducting business. There were eateries close by and traffic not too bad. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIexpress-kendall, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
JimTigerPT,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at my property. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.

I hope that you would consider us again the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Kenny Oliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall

Address: 13475 SW 131st Street, Kendall, FL 33186
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Kendall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kendall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Beautiful Hotel in Miami's Kendall Neighborhood You will love the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall- one of the newest hotels in the southwest Miami area. This stylish hotel is located halfway between Homestead and downtown Miami with easy access via FL's Turnpike & 874/821. Our hotel is conveniently located across from Kendall Tamiami Airport (TMB)- exclusive homebase of Falcon Trust Air- Reliance & Dean Int'l. Easily accessible to major corporations such as Beckman Coulter- Noven Pharmaceuticals and Assurant Group- we are also within minutes of Baptist & Kendall Regional Hospitals- Ministerio El Rey Jesus and Alper JCC. Miami International Airport (MIA) is only 24 miles away. Leisure travelers seeking the sunny fun of Miami will enjoy this Kendall hotel near the Metro Zoo- Gold Coast Railroad Museum- Kendall Ice Arena- Homestead Miami Speedway & Monkey Jungle. London Square- Dadeland Mall and The Falls are within minutes of our Miami-Kendall hotel. Our well-designed Kendall hotel features choice amenities to entice a SMART traveler. We offer an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub area surrounded by fabulous palm trees emitting a tropical ambiance. We also have a Business Center and Fitness Center- as well as high-speed Internet access. Our professionally designed putting green and our modern non-smoking hotel provides you with the best Miami has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Miami-Kendall
Holiday Inn Kendall
Holiday Inn Express Kendall
Kendall Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.