We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service & Very Clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13475 SW 131st Street, Kendall, FL 33186   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Kendall
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service & Very Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I am a consultant and have been staying at this hotel every week for over 1 1/2 years. The people are very friendly. They keep the hotel in excellent condition, always cleaning and touching up. I can think of no negatives for this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIexpress-kendall, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Wayneww1000,

Thank you for your patronage and continued loyalty throughout the course of the year. I am humbled that you would speak so highly of my property.

I hope that we can continue to provide you with the excellent service and high standards that you have been accustomed to.

Sincerely,

Kenny Oliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    37
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
22
26
8
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A couple of months ago the AC inside my house broke and since we live close to this hotel we decided to stay there while we got it fixed. The service was excellent, they had a table at the entrance with fresh fruits and some yummy chocolate and raisin oatmeal cookies ( which my kids loved!) the person at the front gate was super friendly! Only thing that we didn't like (mostly me because of my allergies) was the humidity in the rooms and the smell due to this. I called the front desk and they immediately sent someone with keys to another room, this person told me that they've had that problem with humidity, we moved to another room which was still a little humid but was a lot better than the first one! The breakfast was awesome, a variety of cereals rolls and muffins eggs etc. Overall our stay was pretty good, it's more of a hotel for people that are on business trips (close to the Tamiami Executive Airport) in Kendal Florida.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIexpress-kendall, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
SandraD75,

Thank you for thanking the time to write about your experience while staying at my hotel. I am sorry to learn that your A/C was damaged in your home. Living in Miami, one never truly appreciates their A/C until it’s no longer available.

I am pleased to know that my staff treated you well and that you enjoyed your stay here. I do have a concern with regards to your comments on the humidity in the rooms and the answer given to you by one of my staff. We do not have issues with humidity, occasionally we may have issues with the A/C units that cool the rooms and if they are not functioning well, the room may feel muggy. However, we make every attempt possible to ensure all A/C units are routinely cleaned and serviced.

I am hoping that you may contact me at your convenience, I would very much like to know more about your stay so that I can address the issue properly.

Sincerely,

Kenny Oliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is located in a business park-type setting and near Kendall Tamiami Airport. However, it was very quiet and we did not notice noise from the air traffic during our stay. We had been to the Everglades and were headed to the Boca Raton/Del Ray Beach area the next day.

Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly, recognized as Priority Club members and given a goody-bag. Our check-in was quick and efficient and the staff was professional and courteous. There were cookies available in the lobby and also popcorn in the eating area later in the afternoon. The staff were knowledgeable about the area and were able to recommend a good restaurant. The check-out was also fast and correct.

We found the hotel including our room to be extremely clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good and the breakfast area was neat and clean.

Although it was a little off our route, we are glad we stayed here and would do so again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIexpress-kendall, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
llgtfan,

Thank you for choosing my hotel for your travel needs and thank you as well for your positive review the property and staff.

As you have mentioned, we are "off the route" but definitely well worth the while.

Sincerely,

Kenny Oliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I travel a lot for business and use tripadvisor as my primary resource when booking a hotel. I chose this hotel for its excellent rating and I must admit, its definetly well deserved. I have stayed in more upscale full service hotels that are no where near as clean or well staffed as this "limited service" one.
Pros: Excellent front desk staff, free everything (breakfast, internet, COOKIES), clean (although I would question their taste in furniture, its a little dated)
Cons: Pool only open until 9pm, no ATM on site (although there is a bank on the corner)

Word of caution, this is exactly what you would call a "corporate hotel" it is for the business traveler. I wouldnt recommend it for a vacation spot, its way to far from Miami Beach and Downtown.

I would most definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIexpress-kendall, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Fish_n_Chips

Thank you for your positive review of my staff and property. I am pleased to know that we were able to surpass your expectations and provide you with an experience that you would be willing to return for.

We may be a limited service property by definition, but we strive to provide the same level of service and satisfaction that you would find in "upscale full service hotels"

Sincerely,

Kenny Oliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

It's pretty average...maybe a bit above, but the location's sort of away from everything. Since we were heading to both the Everglades and Miami, it worked for us but I could see it being inconvenient for other travelers. They keep the facility clean. Small workout room (but the equipment worked, and that's always a plus).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIexpress-kendall, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
TennesseeCarl,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience while staying with us. We try very hard to provide and clean, comfortable, and inviting atmosphere for our guests.

Please come visit us again when you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Kenny Oliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Staying at this hotel has made me aware that I need to be very careful when I select hotels for future stays. First I shall begin with the positive...staff at this hotel are very personable and friendly. On arrival I was met by a very friendly male front desk agent and on check out an even more pleasant lady. Other employees were equally friendly and helpful , I had employees hold elevators for me on two separate occasions while I was struggling with luggage ... a gesture that was appreciated.
There is popcorn and cookies available in the lobby and breakfast is included in the room rate. The hotel also has a shuttle which I made use of and found to be very reliable . Huge flat screen TV in the room.

Now for the negative
Hotel is a bit isolated. We had a rental car and I would suggest the same.
There was a noticeable odour when I entered the room that was present throughout my stay. Truth be told the room is quite spacious but seems a bit dated . I found the room to be clean and spotless but for whatever reason still felt a little dirty to me - maybe because it was old. Definitely not modern and could use a little extra something. I wanted to leave and stay at another hotel but my husband didn't want to . Personally I won't be returning . I stayed at the Courtyard Marriott for some of my stay and wished I had booked there for the entire stay .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIexpress-kendall, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Chica42,

Thank you for writing about your experience while staying at my property. I am pleased to know that your interactions with the team were consistent and that you were treated well. We try very hard to provide all of our guests with same level of courtesy and respect that we would show a family member.

I noticed by some of your other posts that you generally stay at the Best Western. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to accommodate you and your husband.

With regards to the rooms, the team works diligently to ensure that all rooms are spotless. As you may see from some of the other reviews by our guests, cleanliness is a common theme among them all.

I am very interested in learning more about the issues with your particular room. Please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience

Sincerely,

Kenny Oliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I came here as a college group with a set it 10 other students. 5 of us had fraudulent card transactions after providing the hotel with our card details.

Not sure if its the people or the systems, but they need to take corrective action quick. The stay in general was pretty good. The horror came to light after checkout.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIexpress-kendall, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
HarshakNagaraj,

First I'd like to begin by extending my sincerest apologies for any inconveniences that you and your friends have experienced.

The hotel has recently changed its credit card service provider, it appears that in that transition, we fell victim to a computer hack. The hack has since been removed and the security increased to prevent this from happening again.

I hope that this doesn’t tarnish your opinion of our hotel and that you and your friends return to us on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Kenny Oliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Miami-Kendall
Holiday Inn Kendall
Holiday Inn Express Kendall
Kendall Holiday Inn
Address: 13475 SW 131st Street, Kendall, FL 33186
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Kendall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Kendall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Beautiful Hotel in Miami's Kendall Neighborhood You will love the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall- one of the newest hotels in the southwest Miami area. This stylish hotel is located halfway between Homestead and downtown Miami with easy access via FL's Turnpike & 874/821. Our hotel is conveniently located across from Kendall Tamiami Airport (TMB)- exclusive homebase of Falcon Trust Air- Reliance & Dean Int'l. Easily accessible to major corporations such as Beckman Coulter- Noven Pharmaceuticals and Assurant Group- we are also within minutes of Baptist & Kendall Regional Hospitals- Ministerio El Rey Jesus and Alper JCC. Miami International Airport (MIA) is only 24 miles away. Leisure travelers seeking the sunny fun of Miami will enjoy this Kendall hotel near the Metro Zoo- Gold Coast Railroad Museum- Kendall Ice Arena- Homestead Miami Speedway & Monkey Jungle. London Square- Dadeland Mall and The Falls are within minutes of our Miami-Kendall hotel. Our well-designed Kendall hotel features choice amenities to entice a SMART traveler. We offer an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub area surrounded by fabulous palm trees emitting a tropical ambiance. We also have a Business Center and Fitness Center- as well as high-speed Internet access. Our professionally designed putting green and our modern non-smoking hotel provides you with the best Miami has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.