We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Cuban Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Carreta

La Carreta
11740 Kendall Drive, Kendall, FL 33156
305 596 5973
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 29 Restaurants in Kendall
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Cuban
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Sebring, Florida
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Delicious Cuban Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We found La Carreta quite by accident and were glad we did. We were actually looking for a place to eat lunch but they didn't begin serving lunch for another half hour. Therefore, we ordered breakfast and I must say it was the best breakfast I've had in a long time. We had veggie omelets and they were cooked just right complemented by great home fries which were prepared with onions and green peppers. The grits were nice and creamy. For me the best part of the meal was the Cafe con Leche. It was absolutely delicious. My husband had decaf Cuban coffee and he said it was very good also. The Cuban toast was very thin and buttery and we enjoyed it a lot. All in all it was a delightful breakfast in a lovely authentic Cuban setting. When in the area, we will definitely return. By the way, remarkably our hearty breakfast cost a mere $13.50. Wow!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    19
    5
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Open late”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had just arrived to the Miami area after many delays at airports during the day, we were there for a funeral and barely made the visitation on time. So we were tired sad an hungry. After the visitation my brother took us to La Carreta it was 11:00PM I never imagined we would find good food at that hour but to my surprise they were opened til 1 am. We had the best Cuban sandwich ever and it was big enough that we saved half for breakfast. We ate and talked for a while and no one rushed us. It was a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Latin Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

La Carretta has been around forever, but it still offers some of the best Cuban food in Miami. Ropa Vieja was delicious, as was the Bistec Milanese

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast fills for lunch too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Conveniently located in West Kendall with ample parking and a good size restaurant. Quality breakfast with nice presentations and generous portions very reasonably priced. Café con Leche has taste and power. Opens at 8 AM for breakfast and people are waiting outside. Good for lunch and dinner too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Service and food---- Awful! Will not recommend it ever.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Our first visit with 2 of my girlfriends. Our waiters name is Ricardo....and he is the worst. Needs attitude overhaul.Did not stop to ask us if our food are ok. Turns out as he told us that his section is closed and he has been there since 9 am. Understand his predicament...but no excuse for his behavior. We did not ask to be seated in a closed section. Ricardo should realized that he has a job and a paycheck coming. If he does not want to serve his customers, he should resign and not go to work.This is not authentic Cuban restaurant. My Ropa Vieja is no flavor...only pieces of meat and covered with onions. My white rice is undercook...my black beans is hard as a rock. Only positive in this place...cafe con leche is excellent. Otherwise go to another restaurant to spend your money. Not worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carreta also viewed

 

Been to La Carreta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Carreta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.