We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not to good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of On The Border Mexican Grill

On The Border Mexican Grill
12295 SW 88 St., Kendall, FL 33186
(305) 275-3255
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 32 Restaurants in Kendall
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“not to good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

been some time went to the place and did with my son's. For my two son's to say the place S*ck that is a surprise. The food was not great, service was very poor and did not have crayon's for my son to color.

Visited May 2014
Thank Gil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Management needs to hire waiters for weeknights”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We came for happy hour which is from 9 - 11pm for some drinks. The place was not as busy but did have customers both outside and inside. We were waited by the bar server as we decided to sit at the bar. However, during our time here, I noticed that the bar server was nit only ckeaning up the tables, but was also serving other customers that were sitting on regular booths and tables. There was no other waiters helping him out and felt bad for the amount of responsibility he had. I honestly feel management is to blame as I did not even notice a host in the front to greet the clientele and sit them. I hope that they read this and improve customer service. The rest of the employees need to help out as well. For those looking for service as well as a happy hour or an area to eat, at this moment I feel as though I would not recommend it to anyone as you will leave upset and disappointed. I how this helps anyone looking for a place to done in. The only reason I gave it 2 stars was for the bartender who was able to provide us the service.

Thank huesos1580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Mexican treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten twice in this restaurant over the last three nights. On choosing what to eat I told our waitress, Jamie, that I was a non meat eater and she was able to help me make the right choices and showed that the restaurant had great flexibility in mixing and matching dishes and she steered me clear of any dish using meat products and stocks. The food was excellent with clean distinctive tastes and flavours and was very good value for money.

Visited April 2014
Thank Suzanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A complete waste of time and money, I'd rather eat Taco Bell.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The chips were made with old oil..the plates are incredibly small for what your paying. I ordered two orders of their chicken fajita tacos. The tortillas were stail and worst of all there was almost no chicken or even veggies in the tacos. The slab of white dry rice that they slabed on was terrible..I felt disrespected.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
1 Thank axistorr1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

2 words>>>>>>STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!.....our meal was so bad that we told the server to tell the manager that we refused to pay....he said ok and we left...

Thank Robbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Border Mexican Grill also viewed


Been to On The Border Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing