We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican food for american taste” 3 of 5 stars
Review of On The Border Mexican Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
On The Border Mexican Grill
12295 SW 88 St., Kendall, FL 33186
(305) 275-3255
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 29 Restaurants in Kendall
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
miami, fl
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Mexican food for american taste”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went to On the Border Mexican Grill with friends. The night began with Margaritas in large glasses to start. The chips and salsa were a nice touch and got you in the mood for mexican night. The sauces were good but not real hot and chips were fresh and crunchy tasted like that probably make them there. The orders we placed were chicken fajitas, nice order of chicken brest on the grill with lettuce, tomatoe, sour cream with lots of jaleaponos to boot. The other order was trio of meat & chili relleano, shrimp fajitas & the chicken con queso. All of the servings were great portions with either a side of rice and refried beans or black beans we chose the black beans. The food was average and if you wanted more of a tex mex feel with american style taste. I thought the service was good and the food prices were average for this type of chain restaurant trying to appeal to the more common mainstream crowd. There are items on the menu for all palates and prices were reasonable for the presentation and portion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    6
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We arrived very late at night, just before closing. The staff was very friendly and even though it was late, we were served with smiles and very good food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice "chain "”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice place good food good Margarita's. "A little weak" but good.
It is very large .
If you hit at the wrong time it could be a loud zoo.
We have been here befor and will return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
“no good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

we wait for about 1 hour to be seat and the place were empty , the service was fair but the food were horrible , My soup was cold and when I told the service he was nice and told me that he was to bring me another one . Tortilla chicken soup it must be called tortilla cold water with salt soup no flavor at all and as watery as the water. The tostada were soggy and cold too , My tacos too much salt . the only thing I enjoyed were the chips with red salsa cause the cheese one was a liquid cheese salsa don't go terrible terrible

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really enjoyed it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

It was amazing for a cheap and good food
Familiar environment.
Ir was really late night and still serving a delicious mexican food

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Border Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to On The Border Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On The Border Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.