We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to my next visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casavana

Casavana
8300 Sw 117th Ave, Kendall, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Kendall
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Cuban
Restaurant details
North Wildwood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Looking forward to my next visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I ordered the breakfast sandwich and was surprised how ordinary and plain the sandwich was. It was as uninspiring as an egg sandwich at Denny's or McDonalds. There was nothing wrong with it; the ham was good, but nothing that would identify it as Cuban. Same for the bread. I'm giving 4 stars since the fault was mine for ordering it. But next time, I'll definitely skip the breakfast sandwich and try one of their signature breakfast items.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow! What happened to you guys? ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We regularly order delivery from here and sometimes dine in. Today was a delivery day. AWFUL! So many corners cut. I actually had to check if indeed there was steak in my steak sandwich, that's how thin it was. The Miami sandwich, same thing. Come on guys, everyone is hurting in this economy, however, if you can't afford the ingredients in your sandwiches and appetizers, then close! SO DISAPPOINTED! !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 179 cities Reviews in 179 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
“Excellent Cuban food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My husband, my mother and myself, really enjoyed our dinner at Casavana. The informal restaurant is located at Town & Country Mall. My mother ordered the "rabo encendido" a Monday evening special, which she loved. My husband and I, enjoyed the churrasco with white rice and black beans. He also had the ripe plantains (maduros) and I had the yuca (with garlic, onions and olive oil). Our steak was perfectly cooked..medium rare, really juicy and very tender. Their bread with olive oil & garlic is to die for. Reasonably priced. Definitely we will go back when we return to Miami. Recommended!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our first Cuban cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our visit to the Kendall, FL Casavana was, for us, a very unique experience. Having traveled to the Caribbean a few times, we have sampled much of that cuisine but we've always wanted to try Cuban. We've had some so-called "Cuban-style" sandwiches, etc. in SW Florida but never true Cuban dishes. This visit allowed us to taste two wonderful dishes, one fish and the other beef and both were scrumptious! The beans and white rice and plantains were also wonderful as was the fresh bread. Although the restaurant was very busy and many families and larger groups waiting to be seated, the two of us were shown our table almost instantly. Our server was so personable and helpful with the menu, asking us if this was our first visit. Service was relatively quick, the food was hot, and the soup might have been the best we've tasted. Upon our return to South Florida, we will certainly come back to Casavana!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORIDA
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“Another great meal!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Went for Christmas Day Lunch with my partner and his parents. They are so organized they had us sitting down within 15 min. The food was out quick and everything was FRESH and HOT!
If in the area....this is a great place to check out for Cuban Food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casavana also viewed

 

Been to Casavana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casavana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.