We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Cuban food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casavana

Casavana
8300 Sw 117th Ave, Kendall, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Kendall
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Cuban
Restaurant details
Elmhurst, Illinois
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 179 cities Reviews in 179 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
“Excellent Cuban food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My husband, my mother and myself, really enjoyed our dinner at Casavana. The informal restaurant is located at Town & Country Mall. My mother ordered the "rabo encendido" a Monday evening special, which she loved. My husband and I, enjoyed the churrasco with white rice and black beans. He also had the ripe plantains (maduros) and I had the yuca (with garlic, onions and olive oil). Our steak was perfectly cooked..medium rare, really juicy and very tender. Their bread with olive oil & garlic is to die for. Reasonably priced. Definitely we will go back when we return to Miami. Recommended!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our first Cuban cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our visit to the Kendall, FL Casavana was, for us, a very unique experience. Having traveled to the Caribbean a few times, we have sampled much of that cuisine but we've always wanted to try Cuban. We've had some so-called "Cuban-style" sandwiches, etc. in SW Florida but never true Cuban dishes. This visit allowed us to taste two wonderful dishes, one fish and the other beef and both were scrumptious! The beans and white rice and plantains were also wonderful as was the fresh bread. Although the restaurant was very busy and many families and larger groups waiting to be seated, the two of us were shown our table almost instantly. Our server was so personable and helpful with the menu, asking us if this was our first visit. Service was relatively quick, the food was hot, and the soup might have been the best we've tasted. Upon our return to South Florida, we will certainly come back to Casavana!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORIDA
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“Another great meal!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Went for Christmas Day Lunch with my partner and his parents. They are so organized they had us sitting down within 15 min. The food was out quick and everything was FRESH and HOT!
If in the area....this is a great place to check out for Cuban Food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best mariquitas in Miami!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have been eating at Casavana for many years and have never been disappointed. Try their fried plantains with garlic sauce. They are the best. The white rice and beans is delicious. They also make great soups. The steaks are very tasty and so is their grilled chicken.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of the Best Cuban Restaurants in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Ladies and gentlemen this place rocks the city of Miami. There are two ways of eatiing here, one is the express window where you can order a cuban coffee with the different cuban pastries they have available sucha as Empanada (meat, ham and cheese and chicken) or croquetas, pstelito de guayaba etc. my favorite is Empanada de Carne (Meat Empanada) make sure you add "Green Tabasco Sauce" Delicious!!! The other way to enjoy this restaurant is to dine in, they have a wider selection of food such as Palomilla Steak, ropa vieja, Special Cuban Sandwich and many more. Service is great, prices are reasonable and the restaurant has a good setting. They have few locations around Miami, make sure you locate your map to locate one near to you.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casavana also viewed

 

Been to Casavana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casavana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.