We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hungry Bear Subs

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hungry Bear Subs
Kendall, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 26 Restaurants in Kendall
Price range: $5 - $10
Restaurant details
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth the wait.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

You might have to wait in a line that goes out the door, abeit of a very small subshop, but it's most definitely worth it. I have never been dissapointed and we've been going there for years. A close friend received an incorrectly made sub on two occassions, but considering we've been ordering from there regularly for over 10 years, I would say that's pretty good. We're very happy that they took down the "No Refills" sign! Thanks Hungry Bear!

One complaint: We wish they were open later...they close at 8 pm Mon-Sat, and at 6 pm (I think) on Sundays.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    4
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great subs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

After a long work day, a group of us sent a list of subs along with a co- worker. The subs were not all made correctly. They were heart and good but preparers need to read correctly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Always great subs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011 via mobile

People from the area all know about this hidden gem for great subs. Kids go away to college and dream about coming home for a Hungry Bear sub

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“THE BEST SUB SHOP IN FLORIDA!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

My friend took me here on spring break in college. This place is fantastic! Every time I am in the vicinity, I have to go. The steak subs are out of this world. I had a chicken sub once and it was ok, but nowhere near as good as the teriyaki steak sub! They do not have any seating, except for outside. Take it to go and enjoy!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“They make the subs to order. The service is quick and friendly. The only thing I don't like is after you leave you...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2008

They make the subs to order. The service is quick and friendly. The only thing I don't like is after you leave you smell like cooked food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Bear Subs also viewed

 

Been to Hungry Bear Subs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hungry Bear Subs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.