We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't believe it was so busy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Charlie's Reef Grill

Captain Charlie's Reef Grill
251 S US Hwy 1, Jupiter, FL 33477-5926 (Formerly Reef Grill Jupiter)
(561) 746-8857
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 177 Restaurants in Jupiter
Restaurant details
Key Largo, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Couldn't believe it was so busy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Average seafood place, liked how they offered things like Triple Tail and Golden Tile fish which you don't see to many resteraunts in the area take advantage of. Menu was huge and they seem to jump on the Food Shak band wagon of having a huge specials page which is unreadable and ultimately the same as the menu with a different sauce or never changes anyhow...how does it make it a special then? Server was nice, atmosphere was dated and dirty, food was lack luster and average. If I was asked to go there with someone I would, but I wouldn't seek this place out.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    25
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

It's always a tossup whether to visit the Reef Grill or Little Moir's for wonderfully creative seafood dishes.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“This is where the locals go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

When the seasonal crowd goes home this is where the locals eat. The food is fabulous and the service great. A glass of wine is generous. Lots of hustle and bustle. We have been going here every year for about 10 years. Don't miss it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okawville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

Get the duck if available. Hustle and bustle and crowded but worth it! There is always a wait, but order a glass of wine from the extensive and quality wine list.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A locals favorite.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

This place is just cool. The menu has soooooo many options, it's not possible to find something you don't like! The flavors are so diverse!!

We frequent this place often. Food is pretty consistent. On one occasion we were not pleased with one of our entrees (one we order frequently), but for the most part, the food is great. We'll chalk it up to a bad day in the kitchen.

If you are in the area, this place is a must. Everyone is nice and super knowledgeable about the menu. Go with the staff recommendations and specials. You can't go wrong!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Charlie's Reef Grill also viewed

 

Been to Captain Charlie's Reef Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Charlie's Reef Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.