We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Schooners Restaurant

Schooners Restaurant
1001 N Highway A1a, Jupiter, FL 33477-4441
561-746-7558
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 179 Restaurants in Jupiter
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yuck”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I had heard good things about this restaurant but was so disappointed. The fish was absolutely terrible, old and tasteless. Only one person out of the four in our party liked their food. The rest couldn't even finish it. When our bill came, I was over charged. I showed the waiter the menu item I had ordered on their chalkboard and he said "OH, that price is wrong, its 5 dollars more." WHAT? He went to the back for 15 minutes and then came back out and asked me if I really wanted him to charge the lower price. WWHHAATT?? I said of course because that is what is printed 5 feet from my table. Another 15 minutes and the bill was corrected and somebody came out and also changed the chalkboard. Horrible Horrible Horrible experience.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    49
    25
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tequesta, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never Disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Despite an occasional wait on line, never disappointed with cuisine or service. Selections always satisfy. Clam Chowdah is the best. We meet the nicest folks during our visits.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“For years it has been the place for great dining in Jupiter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have been going to Schooners for 20 plus years. We live in Florida now, and it is still one of favorites. Large menu....great soups....fantastic salads...and the Carrot Cake is so good, you may stop just for that...we did. Indoor and outdoor seating. They have even added a bar to the second level outdoors. Ceiling fans keep it comfortable even in the heat of the summer. We know it is a favorite for sport figures, since on more than one occasion, we have seen a player enjoying his meal....and everyone just lets them enjoy it. A high recomendation on food and service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I've been to Schooners at least a dozen times in the past two years. The food is always good. I love the different specials never the same old menu. My husband had the Lobster Creole tonight and it was amazing. I love the soft shelled crabs and the lamb shank special. I agree with Dave Schooners should be in the top 5.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“21? You've got to b kidding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Schooners is one if the better offerings for seafood in Jupiter. There is no waterview but the food and service is consistently good. Cannot believe the shacks rated above this beauty. The specials served here rock my tummy.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooners Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Schooners Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schooners Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.