We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There Are No Good Italian Restaurants In Jupiter” 1 of 5 stars
Review of casa mia

casa mia
indian town road, Jupiter, FL 33458
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 177 Restaurants in Jupiter
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
FL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“There Are No Good Italian Restaurants In Jupiter”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Casa Mia - Lasagna I picked up last night looked like a pile of poo and did not taste much better. Staff/owner (?) seemed very friendly but looks like another Italian resturant in Jupiter will bite the dust. There are alot of Italian resturants in Jupiter and I have tried 98% of them. Worth going to for a slice - Vinny's on Indiantown/Angelo's on Tony Penna, the rest - Fogetaboutit!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    15
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobe Sound
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We so wanted to love it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

After our recent visit to Tuscany and Veneto, we were excited to learn about a fairly new Italian restaurant in our area...one with a Northern Italian and Tuscany inspired menu. Our first impression was "Wow, this place is really noisy"! We had a glass of Prosecco at the bar until our table was ready. The back dining room was much quieter but the service was not the best. We're not sure if it was because they didn't have enough servers or if there was a lot of inefficiency involved. After waiting longer than we should have, our server took our drink orders and sometime later they arrived along with a basket of tasty focaccia...we were amazed since we very seldom encountered tasty bread with a meal during our 2 weeks in Italy! So far, so good. Then onto the crostini with tomato, basil, etc. We were hoping for something more exotic but none the less it was quite tasty. It was with eager anticipation we awaited the arrival of our pizza and wild boar ragout. We had read that the owners had imported a pizza oven from Northern Italy but sadly that did not translate into the superb pizzas we had become accustomed to in Italy! The sauce was hit or miss, the cheese was too heavy and it was curiously flat tasting. The wild boar ragout had stayed in the kitchen too long and had cooled off. This was a dish we very much enjoyed in Italy but tasted as though cinnamon had been added to the ragout. The taste was sweet but we think they may have changed the recipe to accommodate the so called "American palate". We were going to order gelato but after asking the server if it was really gelato, we were told it was not. We were given instructions on where we could find "real" gelato in our area! We so wanted to find that Casa Mia was the real thing but sadly it's not. All in all, we won't be returning since the food and the service didn't add up to match the price.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Decent value - good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I disagree with comments on unfriendiness. Found owner very pleasant. Service was very good. Restaurant is simply appointed but comfortable. Had the pasta fagioli soup which was tasty and better than average. The fried calamari, shrimp veggie app was a disappointment. The calamari was sliced into very large pieces. The veggies were sliced so thin they were limp and greasy. Tried the veal with porcini mushrooms in a wine reduction over polenta. Was very good. Should have had two of those as the other entree was homeade ravioli with porcini mushrooms. The description indicated finishing with sage and butter but they were served with only EVO and parsley. The mushrooms probably were not drained and so the filling was overly soggy and lacking in taste. The raviolis, while cooked well, were infused with so much garlic [not even mentioned in the description] that they completely overwhelmed any mushroom taste and were practically inedible. And I like garlic and usually double the amounts I use in my own recipes. Prices were reasonable. Might go back some day but certainly won't order homeade pasta again.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
“Good food - owners indifferent to customers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Have been there 5 times given the proximity and the good food. The aloof attitude of the owners, however, will keep me from a sixth. Requests from customers that require the owner or manager to do something as simple as changing the channel on then tv are met with at best indifference and sometimes with disdain. There are too many owners of Italian restaurants in this area that actually care about their customers to bother with one where they do not.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great authentic Italian food, for every budget.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

This visit to Jupiter, brought us to Casa Mia on two occasions. We were very pleased with the menu selections and presentation of food. Casa Mia's menu has something for everyone. Whether you want a brick oven pizza ( with some original toppings ), a variety of pastas,or fresh seafood and meat dishes, there is something for everyone. Our son joined us for dinner after returning from a year in Italy and said that he would drive from his work in Palm Beach to Casa Mia because the food was so delicious and authentic. It helped that he was able to brush up on his Italian when speaking to the owners. Can't wait to return to this young restaurant, open for under a year. I recommend that you ask for a table in the back room, as anything near the bar area is too noisy.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to casa mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage casa mia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.