We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian down south” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portobello Cucina Italiana

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Portobello Cucina Italiana
351 South US Hwy 1, Jupiter Bay Plaza, Jupiter, FL
561 748 3224
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 173 restaurants in Jupiter
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Italian down south”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Tonight was my first visit to Portobella and I wasnt disappointed. I had the spinach lasagna (based on other reviewers) and it was delish! Very fresh and flavorful with lots of cheese and spinach and not too salty which sometimes italian restaurants tend to oversalt. My app salad was very fresh with tasty red wine vinegarette. My husband had fish francese which was so good. It was on a bed on spinach. All dishes were prepared well and service was attentive and friendly. We split a decaf cappuccino and that was tasty as well. We skipped dessert bc we are trying to be good but they looked good from afar...;-)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    36
    20
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Consistent and excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

A large and varied Italian menu (all delicious), multiple special dishes, excellent service -- what more could one want?

Honor one's reservations to the minute? -- yes!

Friendly and courteous staff? -- yes!

Allowus to bring our own wine and pay a corkage fee? -- yes!

Overall, a wonderful dining experience. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Super Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This restaurant is quite pretty both inside and out, with valet parking service when you arrive. The wait staff is friendly and eager to help, although we felt a bit rushed at first. We all thought that the choices on the menu were broad enough to please any palate and then the list of specials was described and it got even harder to pick one. All of our choices were delicious, beautifully plated and arrived in the right amount of time. Good wine list. The cost was appropriate for the food. Three of us had different fish dishes and each one was outstanding. It might be mentioned that the clientele at this establishment was mostly older people, and this wouldn't be a recommended place to bring children and might not be quite right for a young couple on a romantic evening out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fair to middling ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We had Christmas dinner at this local eatery. The restaurant was filled with the grey-haired crowd & their visiting relations. The service was outstanding but the food was uninspiring & the desserts not worth the calories. Would not return, nor recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequesta, Florida
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Solid First Rate Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had head about the good food and service at Portobello for over a year and decided to try it with some out of town friends. We were very pleasantly surprised at the varied menu and first rate service. From the Valet, to the hostess, to our water and the wine captain everyone was efficient and friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portobello Cucina Italiana also viewed

 

Been to Portobello Cucina Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portobello Cucina Italiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.