We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accessible only with tours” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jupiter Inlet Lighthouse & Museum

Jupiter Inlet Lighthouse & Museum
500 Captain Armour's Way, Jupiter, FL 33469
561 747-8380
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 22 attractions in Jupiter
Type: Lighthouses
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The fourth tallest lighthouse in Florida.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Accessible only with tours”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The lighthouse is on a US coast guard base, so you only get there with the tour. You will be told a little bit about the area and history and they also have a museum you can visit (included in admission price).
I would have liked to explore on my own, that's why I only give 2/5. The admission of $9 is also a bit high for seeing a light house, but is understandable because of the tours they have to do.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    72
    18
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“afraid of heights? this might not be for you.- otherwise quite charming.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

You are not permitted to carry small children. Once you start up the iron spiral staircase you will see why. It's a bit of a neckbreaker. You can see to the bottom and you can get dizzy going in circles. There are several spots near the top where you must watch your head, even kids, - but once you're up there the view is lovely/terrifying. You're on a metal plating, outside, that slopes down away from the building for drainage. It's also liable to be quite windy that high. Definitely worth it, very scary if afraid of heights. You don't feel strapped-in out there. You might be scared for your small children. All the other reviews are correct, the tour guides are great, its quite informative/interesting.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice morning trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We went to the lighthouse at 10am when it opened. Probably the best time due to the heat and crowds. Our guide was very knowledgable and kept our interest. Highly recommend for families. Once at the top of the lighthouse (105 winding stairs) the views are spectacular

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Loved being able to go inside, great picture opportunities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I read up before going and knew there was a $9 fee to go inside. It was a guided tour with a volunteer from the community. She was wonderful, so sweet and really seemed to know her history of the lighthouse. One great thing about this verses some other lighthouses you can go see - because you can only go in with a tour guide (the area is locked up near the lighthouse and you can only go in with one of them) it makes for fantastic photos because you don't have a bunch of unknown people in your pictures up and around the lighthouse - I loved that part the most! You also get to go all the way to the top and see the beautiful city of Jupiter from there and what a view it is! It wasn't a difficult climb for me (they do have a rule about little kids going up so check the age of that before heading out with 4 or 5 year olds or younger)...there were other people there that had had knee surgery and made it up fine too - again you might want to check on that as well, it is a narrow and windy staircase that leads to the top). I definitely thought it was worth my time to go visit and see it and would take others back there as well.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Must see if you're in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I've been to many lighthouses but enjoyed this one especially because of the informative tour. Please note that you can only go to the lighthouse with a guide. I was not aware of this prior to our visit and so was hesitant to have to pay the entrance fee. It turned out to be very informative and enjoyable. We first visited the gift shop and the museum which although small, contains a good deal of information and items of significance to the area. Our guide was informative and did not rush us at all. We were able to spend plenty of time at the top of the lighthouse. The lighthouse keeper was there and was very informative. We were fortunate to see manatees swimming along the shore as well.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jupiter Inlet Lighthouse & Museum also viewed

 

Been to Jupiter Inlet Lighthouse & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jupiter Inlet Lighthouse & Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jupiter Inlet Lighthouse & Museum to your Saves list