We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loggerhead Marinelife Center

Loggerhead Marinelife Center
14200 US Hwy. One, Juno Beach, FL 33408
561-627-8280
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is a great seaturtle conservation organization. They have a turtle hospital and small education center. The most notable thing with this organization is the during seaturtle nesting season (May - August), they take you on guided walk to watch the turtles up close.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Just returned for our vacation and visited Loggerhead with our 7 year old son and my 68 year old mother in law. Everyone loved it!! It is definitely worth going to - even if you only have an hour. We fell in love with all the sea turtles. The staff and volunteers were superb - so friendly and knowledgeable. You won't be disappointed. Our entire family really enjoyed it. Admission is free but they do request a donation. We had a family of 4 and donated $20. Worth it!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    67
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't Miss The Loggerhead Marinelife Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Loggerhead Marinelife Center is fantastic. It's nice to see one persons dream, Eleanor Fletcher's, turn into something fantastic over 25 years. I was planning on seeing it the last time I went down to Palm Beach and didn't go. This Memorial Day weekend that I went back to Palm Beach I wasn't going to miss it. It's free, but donations are gladly accepted. For donors of $100 or more they have a wall with everyones names engraved. If you want your money used for something really worth while this would be a really good place to donate it.

You can see the whole place in under an hour because it's not big. What it's big in is research, science, education, and a hospital for saving sea turtles. There is an area where they educate you on everything sea turtles, rehabilitation pools, a gift shop. They also have events like feedings, 5K races, beach cleanups, Summer camps, releasing sea turtles back into the ocean, etc. See their website for the events & times. http://www.marinelife.org/ The facility is in Juno Beach (just a few miles North of Palm Beach) and it's right at a park where you can have picnics. The park is also right off the Atlantic Ocean so you can go to the beach as well. Win, win, win!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I go there once a month”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is a center for the rehabilitation of injured sea turtles. They have a small learning area, to tell you about them, how they come about, and things that can happen to them. The real attraction are the pools out back. There are turtles that have been injured in many ways, mostly by the ways of humans. They are nursed back to health, and released. They work on donations, so it's nice to drop a few dollars in the jar. If you don't on the way in, you certainly will leaving, as what they are doing for these animals is amazing.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Must see if in Palm Beach or Surrounding Areas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

If you like sea turtles, you have to take a visit to the marine life center. We arrived with an hour left and had plenty of time to see several turtles being rehabilitated. If you arrive earlier, then you will probably get to see more things going on from what I could tell. In the back of the main building there are many tanks with sea turtles in them with various injuries or illnesses which are being nursed back to health. Each turtle is named and you are able to read about the condition they were found in and how they are progressing. The ultimate goal is to be able to get these turtles back to full strength and then to release them back into the world. The operation works off of donations, so make sure to bring one ;)

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Turtle time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Amazing what they do for these beautiful animals....all on donations!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loggerhead Marinelife Center also viewed

 

Been to Loggerhead Marinelife Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loggerhead Marinelife Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.