We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual upmarket bar/restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Bar & Shrimp House

Dolphin Bar & Shrimp House
1401 NE Indian River Dr, Jensen Beach, FL 34957-6514
+1 772-781-5136
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 90 Restaurants in Jensen Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Casual upmarket bar/restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was very handy for Hutchinson Island visitors. Lovely views of the small marina and the intercostal waterway. Excellent happy hour, 3 till 6, drinks and food. Bit more upmarket and you can arrive with your boat. Mainly seafood so we didn't eat there but the meals looked great but pricey.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    119
    52
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jensen Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Have been to the Dolphin bar a few times in the last 3 months. Our first trip was for dinner with the family. We all left disappointed with the food especially the price. Our second trip was for the Sunday brunch. The food was good and the kids loved it and keep wanting to go back, but it is expensive for breakfast. Our third trip was Friday happy hour with 1/2 price appetizers. Bingo! We found the sweet spot. Service has always been fine and the views are great with a marina to one side and the Indian River Lagoon out the back. If you are visiting it is worth a Friday night drink or two with1/2 price appetizers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kafue007
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice loacation, okay food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stopped for dinner with the family, nice location. Staff and service was good. The food was okay. Highlight was feeding the catfish off the dock.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Salmon vs Tilapia”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Was there for the early bird on Saturday Oct. 5th. Heard the food was good at this location so did not eat lunch before going. Hungry by the time we got there so couldn't wait for my grilled salmon (which I recently aquired a taste for). When it arrived, I was puzzled as I thought salmon was pink, fat and usually square??? This grilled fish (tilapia, I think) was in the shape of a filet of fish, white and skinny! Extremely over cooked...had to use a knife to cut it. Did not make waves as I am leery as to what goes on in the kitchen if you return your meal. When queried, waiter assured me it was salmon...don't believe it. If I ever darken their door again it will be for the entertainment in the bar, not for a meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice View & Atmosphere; Smaller Portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife, a friend and I had dinner last evening at the Dolphin Bar & Shrimp House. Always enjoyable to go and see the Francis Langford memorabilia. Had terrific table on the back porch, covered deck, overlooking the Indian River. Very scenic. Great place to bring out of town guests. The Dolphin Bar is a little 'higher' atmosphere than most 'waterfront' restaurants on the Treasure Coast. Hence, prices will be a little more. Service was excellent. Food pretty good, but smaller portions for the price. If you want a dinner with excellent views, good memorabilia, nice atmosphere, decent menu, but smaller portions at higher prices, this is always a nice place to dine. If you want larger portions for lower price with scenic water views, many Treasure Coast options prevail.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Bar & Shrimp House also viewed

 

Been to Dolphin Bar & Shrimp House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Bar & Shrimp House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.