We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everybody Seemed to Be Enjoying Themselves -- But Us” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pietro's On The River

Pietro's On The River
8735 S Ocean Dr, Ste 2, Jensen Beach, FL 34957-2101
772-229-7575
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 90 Restaurants in Jensen Beach
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Constant Traveller
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
“Everybody Seemed to Be Enjoying Themselves -- But Us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Pietro's on the River is a nice facility, set slightly back from the river; you're not dangling your feet over the waves. Its large, modern, with good parking and a professional staff. However, our large group did not have a very good evening. For some reason, despite having many empty tables, they put together two round tables and one skinny rectangular table, creating the look of a "dog bone." Notice on the photo -- some of our guests had their backs to other guests, making conversation difficult. The wait staff was very friendly and hard-working, but the meals were just average. I had a seafood combo platter that tasted like frozen Mrs. Smiths fish-fingers. My brother had the duck and said it was excellent. The reviews from others in my group were polite, but mixed. Nobody raved. All in all, I probably would give Pietro's one more try -- maybe for their brunch -- but so far I am under-whelmed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    14
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jensen Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Scallops at Pietro's Not Very Good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Ate at Pietro's for the first time with another couple. Both men ordered the rack of lamb - which was good; both ladies order sea scallops,which were undone and tastless. Wrote a feedback to Pietro regarding the problem; never heard back. We are now thinking that they are not using sea scallops at all, but instead punched skate or shark. Too bad a place would cut corners at the expense of their reputation....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Our favorite restaurant for dinner +/or Sunday brunch while snow birding on Hutchinson Island for the last 2 years. Excellent service, nice ambiance, great food. We've eaten there several times and always have had a wonderful experiance whether as a couple or with friends. We rate their Sunday brunch as the best brunch we've ever had. Great variety of choices but we especially enjoy the Eggs Benedict and the vanilla / bourbon Belgian Waffles. Also, the peel and eat Jamaican Shrimp should not be passed up during your second course.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I had dinner there last week after not having been there in a few years. The food and service were both top notch. It was refreshing to dine in an elegant atmosphere, have very professional, attentive (but not intrusive) service, and a most excellent meal. The waiter was very knowledgeable and helpful re: the menu and wine selections. I had an outstanding veal chop and my husband had filet mignon with peppercorn sauce - both were cooked to perfection and elegantly presented. We will be dining there again soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food, not so good experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Took a good friend to a special birthday dinner at Pietros on Feb 10, 2013. We were greeted by Pietro himself at the door, and once we were seated, we felt very rushed! Our server would ask a question and move to another table - we felt like she just wanted to turn the table and get us out of there. The food was delicious and nicely presented. We watched the same server linger and visit with what appeared to be a "regular". She would speak to us, but not look at us - made us totally feel as if we were not good enough to even be in this restaurant. There are a lot of choices in the area and we probably would not be back, nor would we recommend it to others.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pietro's On The River also viewed

 

Been to Pietro's On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pietro's On The River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.