We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and unique options” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Beach Cafe

Kona Beach Cafe
3340 NE Pineapple Ave, Jensen Beach, FL 34957-7215
772-934-6956
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 90 Restaurants in Jensen Beach
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Healthy, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Stop in and enjoy our tropical outdoor cafe & tiki bar which offers a delicious gourmet twist on beach food. Full bar now available, Happy Hour 3-6 Monday thru Friday. Fresh food, fire pits and live music.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tasty and unique options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

A funky, Hawaiian-themed restaurant with lots of outdoor seating, the front patio being dog-friendly (which is what drew us to this restaurant in the first place). It took forever to decide what to order because everything on the menu sounds fantastic and many options are unique to this restaurant - fun and tasty variation to traditional menu items like Shrimp and grits (served with cheese and chicken sausage, a special on the day we visited) and chili cheese fries (made with TURKEY chili for the non-red meat eaters). Everything we tried was delicious (shrimp and grits, smoked chicken wings - another special that day, ahi tuna poke with avocado and homemade chips). Fun and relaxing atmosphere (again, LOVE that it is dog-friendly) with live music, a tiki bar vibe, fun and pleasant servers, and lots of good beers on tap and in bottles. Will definitely return and highly recommend!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    64
    24
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield Beach, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Laid back fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Their is live music and adorable atmosphere. You can sit at either 2 bars or their adirondack chairs with tiki feel umbrellas set in the sand . It gives a good vibe to your soul. You feel relaxed and stress free. The service is a little slow during the day but its worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Went tonight with a party of 16. We arrived shortly after six and Happy hour was over. We asked for a mohito but they had no mint. Asked for a white Zinfandal wine and they had none. Ordered the tuna but they had no wasabi. Played the trivia game for 20% off your bill and they collected the bill before the game was over? BTY WE WON! No compensation! Not even an offer!! Food was ok but probably will not return! Lots of unsatisfied friends.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
konabeachcafe, Owner at Kona Beach Cafe, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
I'm very sorry that you had a bad experience. My manager came to your table and offered to adjust your bill since you had won the trivia contest, and he was told that it wasn't necessary as you were leaving and your children were restless. He also checked on you several times and was told each time that everything was fine. If it isn't fine, we would appreciate you communicating that to the manager so that we can correct a problem immediately. Regarding our being out of white zinfandel and mint, my server neglected to communicate that to the manager, who would have made sure you had those items. I will be retraining that server; he is relatively new and perhaps was overwhelmed. I hope you do try us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Relax and enjoy yourself like you are on island time......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stopped here based on the reviews and desire to eat at a place that is not a chain while on vacation. It is very much a unique dining experience as everything is outdoors but covered by various trees and canopies. The atmosphere is great. Just walk in, find a seat or table, and get started. This is not a fast food establishment so sit back and enjoy your visit (you can get in and out very quickly, but why?). Kameron provided great service and several people came by to make sure everything was fantastic. We would certainly come back if in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Favorite Place in Jensen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We've only visited Jensen Beach twice (so far) but have been to Kona more times than we can count. The food is pretty much always great, regardless of what you order, it's not too expensive, and the atmosphere is unbeatable if you're looking for a beach/surf vibe. They have cornhole and live music (some nights) and the entire restaurant is outside but very well covered. Only problem we've ever had is mosquitos, so bring some bug spray, but it's not a dealbreaker.

Also, if you're staying at the Inn at Tilton Place you get a 15% discount off your bill since Kona's owners are the innkeeper's parents.

Seriously, don't skip over this place, it's a gem. Best fish and chips I've had anywhere in the area (or anywhere else).

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Beach Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Kona Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Beach Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.