We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could ask for in one place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside / Jensen Beach

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside / Jensen Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside / Jensen Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10978 S Ocean Drive, Jensen Beach, FL 34957-2611   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Jensen Beach
Wilmington, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Everything you could ask for in one place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We vacation a lot in south Florida during spring break and this was the best hotel ever. The pool was heated just enough. The beach was right there. Breakfast and lunch were available at the Tiki bar for a reasonable price. There was a convenience store & ice cream shop within walking distance. Several very nice restaurants and a grocery store were only a few miles away. The staff was friendly and professional. The only complaint would be the very small bathroom with the see thru door.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    141
    29
    14
    6
See reviews for
98
121
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We sent 5 days at this hotel and enjoyed the quiet relaxed atomsphere of the beach and surrounding area. we had stoppped in Cocoa Beach on the way down and as a comparsition to this location was far more crowded and rushed.

Pros - Reservation was correct when we arrived and lobby was updated to match that of other courtyeard facilties that I've stayed at. Free and accessilbe parking was available at all times. Staff was very appropriate and friendly, but did not have a great knowledge of area attractions or suggestions.

Cons - Once in the room, I noticed that it was pretty beat up for a Courtyard (not for a Florida springbreak beach front hotel though). The translucent door leading into the bathroom is bizzare and should be replaced. Carpet is not in an acceptable condition and needs to be replaced (see pictures). Walls need a fresh coat of paint (see pictures). No beach furniture is available. $30/day for "private vendor" to supply seating.

Two elevators are located in lobby, however they are not centrally controlled. Main elevator was down for several hours and was very slow.

Finally, the deal killer for me was the quality of the mattress, or lack thereof. I found it difficult to sleep on the matteress. It was obviously an older matteress suffering from years of use. As I rolled over the strings at night, i heard crunching and "boinging" sounds. I pulled back the matteress pad at the bottom of the bed to see if the tag revealed the age of the matteress and discovered a spring poking through. Then at the head of the bed, I found the tag listing the manufacture date of the mattress as "11/18/2000". (see pictures) A 12+ year-old hotel matteress is not the quality I expect from Courtyard or any Marriott Hotel.

Replace the matteress and carpet and I would consider staying there again. If not, NO chance.

Cutting too many corners to make a buck. If/When responding to this posting, I invite Ed to specifically address when the matteresses are so old and when they will be replaced...not we'll look into it. When?

Room Tip: Ask staff what the age of the matteress is in your room is when reserving. When they indicate they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed G, General Manager at Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside / Jensen Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I regret that your stay failed to meet your expectations. However, please allow me to address your concerns.

Our mattresses and carpeting are replaced based on a pre-determined cycle of between 6-8 years. Carpeting is in the process of being replaced as I type this note. Mattresses will follow as they were manufactured in November 2005 and installed in December 2005. (The tag that was photographed is dated 2005, not 2000).

I miss the direct contact with our guests and feel that this impersonal method of reporting problems sometimes inhibits our ability to react quickly if a problem or deficiency arises. Since we were just notified of the mattress with the exposed spring, we are currently going room to room to find and remove the rouge mattress, so no other guest experiences what you experienced.

Thank you again and I hope you reconsider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed for two nights on the ocean side of the hotel after 4 days at Disney. We had reserved a room with 2 beds on the ocean side but only King rooms were available. The desk staff apologized and made it right with a small adjustement to the bill. Room was an ok size, with a king bed and a brand new pull out couch, but the view was why we picked this hotel and it did not disappoint. The Pool and hot tub were clean well sized for the hotel. The outdoor bar was convenient (although could use a little face lift) and the bar menu was perfect for a short stay. All the staff at this hotel were excellent from the front desk to the man our kids called "Mr Cool" renting the beach chairs and umbrellas beachside. we would definitley return if in the area again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We had 1 extra night in FL after all the parks, and thought this location would be just what we needed. And it was. We are 2 adults and 2 kids, and booked a king with a pull-out and the reservation was for 4 people. Unfortunately, the hotel didn't catch the fact that we were 4 people, but the room only slept 3, as the pull-out was a single chair that pulled out to a single sleeper. No other suitable rooms were available, but we had our son sleep on the cushion on the floor, and our daughter slept on the single bed. Also, the rooms were nicely updated, but the bathroom door was a full frosted door, and you could still see through the door. Crazy! If they could fix that, it would make family stays less awkward.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a great junior suite on the first floor with instant beach access and 2 minutes from the pool and hot-tub. The room was near-perfect, service was first-class and the bar menu outside was just what we were looking for with 3 kids in tow. Would recommend it for both couples and families and will surely stay here next time we are in the neoghborhood !

Room Tip: Take a room on the east side on an upper floor for a great ocean view or one on ground level if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent 5 days at this Marriott Courtyard and it was lovely. First, see if you can get a "balcony room" facing the ocean (not all rooms that have ocean views have balconies). We had to pay $50 per night for this, but it was worth it in being able to be outside whenever you feel like it. Even though they are all small balconies, you can eat out there or have coffee/drink and listen to the ocean. The rooms have refrigerators, microwaves and coffeemakers, but there is also a tiki bar at the pool for burgers, etc and a small cafe with Starbucks, breakfast items, and sweets. We had a large room with king size bed that was extremely comfortable and a pullout sofa as well.
We had a car and so had our own beach chairs which was nice because the beach chairs in front of the hotel are run by an independent company and not included in the Courtyard room rate. At $30/day, that was just too much for 2 chairs and an umbrella, but it looked like you could negotiate with the gentleman who was in charge down there if you were there for more than one night (worth a try at least). After about 2PM, the hotel blocks the sun on the beach right in front of the hotel, so you want to setup a little south of the hotel on the beach if you want sun all day on the beach. There are beach chairs around the pool and a nice hottub with waterfall up at the hotel.
The front desk staff could not have been nicer - I think that is a big plus for this hotel. They want to help you enjoy your stay. They will give directions and suggestions and even help with the computers in the lobby when the printer has issues. They have complimentary coffee in the lobby every day. The room was very clean and we loved listening to the waves as we went to sleep. We found this Courtyard to be a great oceanfront value!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the highest floor avaiable and realize that you won't automatically get a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This property is very comfortable, clean and has very nice staff. The primary reason I chose this hotel over the other Marriott in the area was the location. On the beach! The pool was small as indicated in other reviews, but not a big deal when you can walk 50 yds to the beach. I would however caution parents with teens, this hotel is on A1A and to cross the street to get to restaurants etc... is treacherous. Be aware!

Try pizza across the street at Caps. Very good NY style pizza.

Room Tip: invest in the oceanside balcony. We saw dolphins every morning~
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside / Jensen Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside / Jensen Beach

Address: 10978 S Ocean Drive, Jensen Beach, FL 34957-2611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jensen Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Jensen Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside / Jensen Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside / Jensen Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Hutchinson Island Oceanside/Jensen Beach Hotel
Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside
Courtyard Jensen Beach
Jensen Beach Courtyard
Jensen Beach Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside / Jensen Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.