We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Palms Cottages and Fish Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added River Palms Cottages and Fish Camp to your Saves list
River Palms Cottages and Fish Camp
2325 NE. Indian River Drive, Jensen Beach, FL 34957   |  
Hotel amenities
Lakeland, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mini vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We spent three nights at end of May 2012. First impression on the phone was favourable as they offered a third night free. They gave us the holiday Monday night for free and a small break on the cost of the dog. Thank you very much. As per some of the other reviews, the cottages are very small, bathrooms tiny but everything functioned. Everything was clean and no bed bug bites to report. I was expecting more of an oasis but this is a small beach spot just minutes away from the rigours of the big city. I would reccomend River Palms as a quick getaway but don't expect a resort. The grounds are safe well lit and quiet, except for the day we decided to have an afternoon nap and they cut the grass. We caught a couple fish from the on site pier and over all enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plantation Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed a night in cottage 19 with our yellow lab. Staff was friendly, everything worked as expected. Our lab enjoyed swimming and running on the beach. Has a "Keys" feel to it, yet a few miles down the street are major shopping centers with grocery stores and restaurants. We ate at Mulligan's and Caps outside with our lab. If you have a dog, this is the place to come.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The cottages are very old and in need of a major face lift. They are fairly clean, but could be better. The bathrooms are so tiny, that there is literally room for ONE person only and there is no room on the sink area for toiletries. River Palms Cottages are definitely fine for those folks wanting a "fishing camp", as the location is right on the inlet. But for anyone just wanting a week getaway, this isn't a great destination. The beach is very small and needs to be cleaned (dead fish, dead leaves, some trash). The nightly/weekly charge was much too high for what you get. On the positive side, we felt comfortable leaving our door unlocked and sometimes open when we wandered down to the dock for a morning stroll. The owners are very nice and accommodating.

Room Tip: If you want to be right on the "beach", choose cabin #5 (but only one burner on the stove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
key west
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We are regular guests at the River Palm Cottages, and every time we return we are just so grateful to the owners for keeping this property just the way it is. The property is pretty and peaceful, located on the Indian River with lovely gardens. The cottages are simply comfortable, clean and stocked. The beds, sheets and towels are quality materials. The managers are incredibly friendly and helpful. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Was traveling solo and happened upon this property. They were very accommodating. Stayed in three different rooms/cottages as I kept extending my stay but had no reservation. All were exceptionally clean. Quaint setting and within walking distance to all you need. Felt safe. Not your typical vacation accommodation. Can relax on the river beach, fish from the pier, sit by the pool all on property. Don't go here as I want to be able to get reservations for my next trip!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I sneak away to this hidden little gem from time to time. Large rooms and a really unusual "fish camp" setting make this the perfect get away. Our suite was large, everything was spotlessly clean and we never knew we had neighbors as the rooms are so quiet. This place is so different from any other vacation get away, it has the feel of the keys or another island location. It was/is the perfect place to fall in love.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Our suite was very clean, well appointed and had a full kitchen and our bed was extremely comfortable. The riverfront views are beautiful and the tropical well-maintained grounds are lovely. The entire place has such a peaceful and relaxing feel, similar to the Keys. Being able to bring our dogs was a big plus. We so enjoyed sitting on the dock at night and on the beach during the day. There are nice restaurants in the area and the historic downtown area is charming. We didn't know what to expect when we arrived because many dog friendly places are below par, but River PAlms is everything we hoped for...and more.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Palms Cottages and Fish Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palms Cottages and Fish Camp

Address: 2325 NE. Indian River Drive, Jensen Beach, FL 34957
Location: United States > Florida > Jensen Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Jensen Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your River Palms Cottages and Fish Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palms Cottages And Fish Camp Hotel Jensen Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Palms Cottages and Fish Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.