We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate accomodations” 2 of 5 stars
Review of River Palms Cottages and Fish Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jensen Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Palms Cottages and Fish Camp
2325 NE. Indian River Drive, Jensen Beach, FL 34957   |  
Hotel amenities
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Adequate accomodations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The cottages are very old and in need of a major face lift. They are fairly clean, but could be better. The bathrooms are so tiny, that there is literally room for ONE person only and there is no room on the sink area for toiletries. River Palms Cottages are definitely fine for those folks wanting a "fishing camp", as the location is right on the inlet. But for anyone just wanting a week getaway, this isn't a great destination. The beach is very small and needs to be cleaned (dead fish, dead leaves, some trash). The nightly/weekly charge was much too high for what you get. On the positive side, we felt comfortable leaving our door unlocked and sometimes open when we wandered down to the dock for a morning stroll. The owners are very nice and accommodating.

Room Tip: If you want to be right on the "beach", choose cabin #5 (but only one burner on the stove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
key west
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We are regular guests at the River Palm Cottages, and every time we return we are just so grateful to the owners for keeping this property just the way it is. The property is pretty and peaceful, located on the Indian River with lovely gardens. The cottages are simply comfortable, clean and stocked. The beds, sheets and towels are quality materials. The managers are incredibly friendly and helpful. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Was traveling solo and happened upon this property. They were very accommodating. Stayed in three different rooms/cottages as I kept extending my stay but had no reservation. All were exceptionally clean. Quaint setting and within walking distance to all you need. Felt safe. Not your typical vacation accommodation. Can relax on the river beach, fish from the pier, sit by the pool all on property. Don't go here as I want to be able to get reservations for my next trip!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I sneak away to this hidden little gem from time to time. Large rooms and a really unusual "fish camp" setting make this the perfect get away. Our suite was large, everything was spotlessly clean and we never knew we had neighbors as the rooms are so quiet. This place is so different from any other vacation get away, it has the feel of the keys or another island location. It was/is the perfect place to fall in love.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011 via mobile

Our suite was very clean, well appointed and had a full kitchen and our bed was extremely comfortable. The riverfront views are beautiful and the tropical well-maintained grounds are lovely. The entire place has such a peaceful and relaxing feel, similar to the Keys. Being able to bring our dogs was a big plus. We so enjoyed sitting on the dock at night and on the beach during the day. There are nice restaurants in the area and the historic downtown area is charming. We didn't know what to expect when we arrived because many dog friendly places are below par, but River PAlms is everything we hoped for...and more.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at River Palms in July 2011 with many other friends and couples, as two friends were getting married in the Jensen Beach area. This is the kind of place you'll definitely want to see pictures of to be sure it's what you had in mind (check on the website). Our place had two bedrooms, including a very spacious master suite which was awesome. It was a short walk to the dock and a little "beach" area where you could sit and relax. The decor was a little dated, but it kind of made it the funky Florida destination it was. The grounds were nice and the service from the front desk courteous. We really liked that the place was stocked with all the necessities you could think of (iron, hair dryers, pots, pans, etc). However, we were there for 3 nights and the staff did NOT come in to clean each day (they wait until the end of your stay). This was one major reason the cottages have one lower rating. If you're not looking for luxury, but a less traditional spot to call "home" while you bounce around FL - this could be an option for you.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

I traveled here solo with my little maltese dog. When I travel, my biggest concern is safety. I did feel quite safe. I stayed in efficiency #9. The room was clean and spacious. My only gripe is that they did not offer ANY utensils at all. No knives, forks, plates, pots or pans. I suppose this is because there is only a fridge and microwave. They had coffee but no coffee mug. However, when I asked, they did the best they could to accomodate. Overall, it was a really nice place. I would definitly stay here again. If you want quiet, I suggest not staying anywhere near the tiki hut as people gather and party there. Also, wear something for no-see-ums or sand fleas, as there are many on the beach there during low tide.

Room Tip: Units 16 & 17 are the best bang for the buck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River Palms Cottages and Fish Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palms Cottages and Fish Camp

Address: 2325 NE. Indian River Drive, Jensen Beach, FL 34957
Location: United States > Florida > Jensen Beach
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Jensen Beach
Also Known As:
River Palms Cottages And Fish Camp Hotel Jensen Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Palms Cottages and Fish Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added River Palms Cottages and Fish Camp to your Saves list