We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Privacy and nifty get away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Palms Cottages and Fish Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jensen Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Palms Cottages and Fish Camp
2325 NE. Indian River Drive, Jensen Beach, FL 34957   |  
Hotel amenities
Miami, FL
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Privacy and nifty get away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I sneak away to this hidden little gem from time to time. Large rooms and a really unusual "fish camp" setting make this the perfect get away. Our suite was large, everything was spotlessly clean and we never knew we had neighbors as the rooms are so quiet. This place is so different from any other vacation get away, it has the feel of the keys or another island location. It was/is the perfect place to fall in love.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
8
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011 via mobile

Our suite was very clean, well appointed and had a full kitchen and our bed was extremely comfortable. The riverfront views are beautiful and the tropical well-maintained grounds are lovely. The entire place has such a peaceful and relaxing feel, similar to the Keys. Being able to bring our dogs was a big plus. We so enjoyed sitting on the dock at night and on the beach during the day. There are nice restaurants in the area and the historic downtown area is charming. We didn't know what to expect when we arrived because many dog friendly places are below par, but River PAlms is everything we hoped for...and more.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at River Palms in July 2011 with many other friends and couples, as two friends were getting married in the Jensen Beach area. This is the kind of place you'll definitely want to see pictures of to be sure it's what you had in mind (check on the website). Our place had two bedrooms, including a very spacious master suite which was awesome. It was a short walk to the dock and a little "beach" area where you could sit and relax. The decor was a little dated, but it kind of made it the funky Florida destination it was. The grounds were nice and the service from the front desk courteous. We really liked that the place was stocked with all the necessities you could think of (iron, hair dryers, pots, pans, etc). However, we were there for 3 nights and the staff did NOT come in to clean each day (they wait until the end of your stay). This was one major reason the cottages have one lower rating. If you're not looking for luxury, but a less traditional spot to call "home" while you bounce around FL - this could be an option for you.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

I traveled here solo with my little maltese dog. When I travel, my biggest concern is safety. I did feel quite safe. I stayed in efficiency #9. The room was clean and spacious. My only gripe is that they did not offer ANY utensils at all. No knives, forks, plates, pots or pans. I suppose this is because there is only a fridge and microwave. They had coffee but no coffee mug. However, when I asked, they did the best they could to accomodate. Overall, it was a really nice place. I would definitly stay here again. If you want quiet, I suggest not staying anywhere near the tiki hut as people gather and party there. Also, wear something for no-see-ums or sand fleas, as there are many on the beach there during low tide.

Room Tip: Units 16 & 17 are the best bang for the buck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

perhaps if ur into camping it's the place for you.  i thought it was going to be a gem. and love it. but i was very wrong.  here is what we experienced:  if i could i would go into detail but space is limited.  we checked in and found dirty used towels in the shower. we found a closet full of rat feces. the closet was a utility closet. perhaps a foot wide by five feet long.  and overflowing in feces. management was too busy to help at the time. their words. but certainly did not mind giving my husband a vacuum cleaner in a box that he put together and then he had to clean. I told him to stop after the canister was full of feces and he did not even scatch the surface.  I have pics to prove everything.  pillows smelled like body odor.  bedding was old.  we had to spend one night until we could make other arrangements. so we went to a department store to purchase a completely new bed set.  the next day our friends let us move into their house.  management at the time of check in was aware of everything.  yet they still felt it ok to take our deposit of 249$ for one night after we left. 

on a side note. a dog off leash, no owners in sight, charged my dog who was on a leash. my dog is small so was able to pick him up to avoid anything that could have happened.  

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acegetjr, Manager at River Palms Cottages and Fish Camp, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
In response; Management was never aware of any issues while guests were on the property. The GM actually had a brief conversation with guest #1 on Monday afternoon about their little dog, and was never told about a problem, or it would have been rectified immediately. We did not find out until Tuesday that they left property early, still not aware of any issues. They were responsible for their entire stay, but we charged them with the 2 nights we thought they were on the property. Management spoke with guest #2 on Tuesday afternoon via phone call. The "closet" was a service access to get to plumbing, and is normally screwed shut. As far as the other issues, in 11 years of business we have never had complaints like this about housekeeping, which we offer every day, with housekeepers who have been with us for years. We just wish we had known about this at the time, so these guests would have had the typical, wonderful River Palm experience, as our Trip Advisor record shows.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

My husband and I just completed a four night stay at River Palm and had a lovely time in a cute one bedroom cottage. The lagoon and dock are spectacular - you could stnad there all day and just count the fish jumping out of the water. The cottage was well equipped and had everything we needed. Just a 15 minute walk to Jensen Beach restaurants (three minute drive). Highly recommend Dena's Place for breakfast and loved Mulligan's hamburger! Great sport fishing at Lady Stuart!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

our 7th year at River Palm and we still love it, we had a 2 bed cottage again which was great, weather fantastic and cottage spotless as usual. Nice to see Ace and Jessica again. A friend of ours came to join us with her two children, the kids had a great time fishing on the dock , Husband had a day fishing with Cpt Greg again and caught lots of big fish.Fab time once again, thankyou and see you next year

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River Palms Cottages and Fish Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palms Cottages and Fish Camp

Address: 2325 NE. Indian River Drive, Jensen Beach, FL 34957
Location: United States > Florida > Jensen Beach
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Jensen Beach
Also Known As:
River Palms Cottages And Fish Camp Hotel Jensen Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Palms Cottages and Fish Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added River Palms Cottages and Fish Camp to your Saves list