We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel/Great Pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 N 1st Street, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% Online
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel/Great Pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I remember when this property was the Comfort Inn - it had become old and outdated. BUT WOW! The Hampton Inn looks fantastic with it's super modern lounging area with flat screens all over! I love it! The staff was friendly and professional. My room (queen) was clean and beds were comfortable. I had a beautiful side view overlooking the pool and could see the ocean from my balcony. Breakfast items consisted of waffles (make your own), crockpot of oatmeal (my fave), hot biscuits - i couldn't resist!, juices, eggs, sausage, pastries, fruit, yogurt, etc. A coffee/tea area was set up near elevators and was fresh and replenished throughout the day. I used the office area space to work on my report - it consists of 2 large screen computers, one printer, and a xerox machine. I had no glitches - everything was great - took a lot of stress off of me. This hotel is oceanfront with easy beach access - just walk out door, turn left, thru gate, keep straight. I walked the beach area then came back and dangled my legs in the HEATED pool - it felt wonderul! My co-workers and I always stay at this hotel when we are working in JAX. It offers the federal government per diem rate. Excellent!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear TravelerGurlNorfolk,

Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding your stay, and your impressions of the hotel. We take great pride in the hard work of the staff, and the new facilities. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Brad Whitaker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    134
    31
    10
    4
See reviews for
238
140
16
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
In GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I am very picky when it comes to choosing hotels. After seeing that Hampton was ranked #2 for oceanfront hotels on Jacksonville Beach, we chose this one to stay in. We were greeted by a wonderful staff member and I believe her name is Andrea. She told us to check our room to see if the beach access was okay and when we weren't comfortable with it, she changed us to a higher room. She knew us by name when we came and went and always talked with us and our daughter, but not overly talkative. She complimented us when we were leaving for a birthday party and greeted us when we arrived late that night with the same smile and as energetic as earlier. The room was great and the balcony overlooking the ocean gave us an amazing view. While the room was excellent, the staff made it even better! Thanks!

Room Tip: Higher floors give a great view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear JGW912,

Thank you for the comments regarding youstay with us. We have passed along your wonderful comments about Andrea, and recognized her for her efforts. We appreciate you staying with us, and we hope to see you on a future stay as well.

Sincerely,

Brad Whitaker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Checked in, Miss Betsy was working the front desk. She makes you feel welcome. Check-in was quick and very informative about the layout. Once we got situated in the room, the phone rang and it was Miss Betsy.....she was calling to make sure everything was good. WOW, never had that happen before. She really goes above and beyond!! KUDOS really go out to her. Very clean room, ocean-view, large balcony. Frig and microwave in room that is a + with me, need to keep drinks cold!! Walked around property and enjoyed the property and gym, breakfast area, front desk, even the beverage counter is a good idea. I would stay here again and recommend it!!

Room Tip: Oceanview.......beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear VanillaElla,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a response based on your stay with us. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have passed along to Betsy all of the wonderful comments, and we have recognized her for her efforts.

We hope that you decide to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Brad Whitaker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My family and I chose this location to stay for Thanksgiving and it was an excellent choice! The rooms were updated and very nice and comfortable. The service at this location was fantastic! We had 8 rooms at this time and there was some issues with the heaters. It is cold and turned the alarms on. I guess it makes sense that in Florida they do not use them very much but perhaps they can turn them due to its winter. Luckily there was always a smiling face at the front desk when there was a problem. This staff was so impressive!! All the girls were always trying to help. At the end of the stay one of the girls told me that Miss Betsy was the supervisor of this desk and it all made sense! Her positive energy and how she does her job is absolutely extrodinary that you can basically see how the other girls follow this positive influence and her training. From her helping the bar with their computer and her helping cleaning a spill. Her focus is one and it the guest. On thanksgiving there was no newspaper delivery, my elderly 80 year old grandmother wanted the black friday paper. Well she ended up sending someone to retrieve them from the gas station. The joy she brought on that breakfast ! No one missed out on deal.Made the women very happy. Sometimes the smallest gesture is the nicest. I could on and on and on all the gestures she does. Even before she stepped to the desk, she would say good morning to everyone at the hotel including breafast servers and housekeeping and all the guest in the breakfast area, she would even sit for second and have a conversation. The girls at the desk told us she always there for them and if need be she will be there 24 hours to make sure they are okay and the hotel. It is so nice to see how the hotel staff really adore her and further more all the guest sees everyday how she cares. Most hotels are never ever like this one! I hope upper management and corporate knows what wonderful hands they keep this hotel in. I wish the best for her and her staff- Andrea, Rebecca, Megan, Simone, and Rusty. . . .Thank you for a wonderful week! It ended up not being just a hotel stay, it ended up being a memory we will never forget!

Room Tip: If you need connecting rooms, call ahead. the best for kids!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear southernlady112,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay at the Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach. We are thrilled that your stay was so enjoyable, and that all of the staff took such good care of you and your family. All of the staff read your wonderful comments, and we have passed along recognition to the staff for their efforts.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Brad Whitaker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schererville, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this location in the beginning of October. I was very impressed with this hotel. Very clean, updated and great location. We had an oceanfront room, well worth the price! I was greeted with a school of dolphins playing in the ocean one morning, that I could clearly see from my balcony. The property has a great beach front "tiki" bar, that many of the locals seem to hang out and enjoy. I was, however, not impressed with Jacksonville Beach.
You could very easily walk a mile or two to shopping and or bars. Some people chose to rent bikes and bike along the strip, (this hotel does not offer bikes to rent). I wasn't at all happy with the oceanfront choices of nighttime dining. All the sport bar and clubs you could ask for, to see college football and sunday games. We were looking for some good seafood, to go along with the oceanfront, beach, pier.....NONE! Had to go inland, into the city of Jacksonville, or to the surrounding towns, for a nice dinner.
The staff at the hotel were more than accommodating, very friendly, very helpful and since we were with a group of 50, I was very impressed with how smoothly check in and out was.
Overall, if you're looking for some beach time and some night club life...place for you.

Room Tip: Ask to be on second floor or higher, if you get oceanfront room, view is obstructed on ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Have usually stayed at the Courtyard next door, and we like it, but decided to give this property a try when Hampton took it over. Made a "trial" run earlier which was great and returned again w/ family. Ocean front room w/ beautiful view, outdoor pool was warm enough for swimming w/ grandchildren. Love the comfortable beds, which look so clean and inviting when you walk in.
Breakfast another plus, especially w/ children along, but the 'grownups " were pleased too! Customer service from the front desk to housekeeping was just great!. One of our rooms had a couple of minor problems, which were promptly corrected, and even had a nice note from management sent w/some treats. Totally unexpected! You can be sure we will return!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

it's another Hampton Inn, but not really. This one stands out with one particlular front desk clerk--Andrea--that never stopped smiling or trying to make your visit the best. This young lady was sincere and knew her guests. I sat waiting for a high school friend I had not seen in 20 years, and when I came back in she was excited to hear about our visit. I had sat for about 20 minutes awaiting for his arrival and watched her greeet guests, sell rooms, answer calls and make calls to guests to check their rooms. If anyone in Hampton;s corporate world is reading this review they need to capture this young lady and make her a front-desk trainer that they send around the country...she is good, really good!! Or move her to a Conrad in managment training.
Hotel is very nicely located near the beach. Easy to miss as the signs are small for the streets that will take you to it.
The oatmeal at breakfast was thick and watery unlike most Hampton's. It was more like what I cook at home. Nice roomy breakfast area. They have an outdoor bar but was closed due to inclement weather. Heated pool and very nice pool area. I will stay here on future trips to Jacksonville.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a balcony... They have roomy junior suites but they do not have a balcony. I recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront

Address: 1515 N 1st Street, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy private access to the beach for breathtaking sunrises over the Atlantic Ocean. We also offer the largest swimming pool on the beach, a 120-foot heated pool and hot whirlpool grotto, featuring four waterfalls cascading from sculptured rock formations. Unwind in one of our spacious guest rooms and find everything you need for a comfortable stay. Surf the web with free high-speed internet access and enjoy a restful sleep in the clean and fresh Hampton bed®. For extra space and a touch of luxury, step up to one of the hotel's stylish suites, offering upgraded amenities such as a spacious work area with ergonomic desk chair. Catch up with work in the hotel’s fully equipped business center or make the most of your leisure time with a workout in the fitness center. The hotel offers a free hot breakfast buffet, Relax at the Tides Bar while enjoying one of your favorite libations or purchase lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Oceanfront Hotel Jacksonville Beach
Comfort Inn Jacksonville Beach
Jacksonville Beach Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.