We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is NOT on the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 Beach Blvd, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel is NOT on the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

From the reviews and traveler photos we thought we reserved a hotel on the beach. We were disappointed about it when we had been driving all day. The receptionist said we were the 5th person in today with the same complaint. The hotel was very nice but we were expecting to walk out on the beach. The drive is about 1/2 mile. The receptionist had compassion and upgraded our room which was unexpected. The free hot breakfast was appreciated and the room was spacious and relaxing.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsGuy, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We certainly never try to misrepresent our location, but it appears you may have booked through a third-party online source that may not portray our property accurately. Looks like everything else (especially service) was handled great at our property. We just encourage you to book directly with the hotel to avoid confusion next time. Hope we can make it up to you on a future stay! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    46
    16
    0
    1
See reviews for
82
54
19
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
360 reviews 360 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here when we were out interviewing - good price, good breakfast, and convenient location to the beach. Cost was very reasonable and we would stay here again if back in town. Also very close to Mayo hospital if you are visiting family or friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsGuy, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. With your stay happening almost a year ago, we wish we knew what didn't earn us a perfect score, but happy that you shared your comments with us. Hope that you visit Jacksonville Beach again and let us continue to give you the best service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here overnight. It was nice and relaxing. Didn't get a chance to check out the hot tub. Very close to the beach and restaurants. Would stay here again. Breakfast wasn't that great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsGuy, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Looks like overall, everything was good except for a short fall on breakfast. We will look into what may have caused that. Thanks again for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

AC went out and had to get a hotel room for the night. Wife didn't waste any time to pick up the phone and book. Staff was super friendly and we were able to bring our pets which was an added bonus. Enjoyed the fresh cookies and headed to the room.

Room is spacious and nicely designed. Breakfast was tasty. Overall a great stay. I might just have to break the AC more often. A great relaxing night (in AC)...what more could you want? Thanks to the staff for really making this stay special.

Room Tip: Get up early enough to have the breakfast.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling in room and I saw some by the vending machines. Had a sign to reuse towels or sheets. No halogen or incandescent bulbs that I saw.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsGuy, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We can truly understand how important air conditioning is in Florida! Glad to have the praise of a neighbor. Hope to see you again soon, just hope it's not because your AC went out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The staff of the Holiday inn Express-Jax Beach went above and beyond to ensure our staff retreat went off without a hitch. Our meeting room was set up on time, was refreshed frequently with water and coffee without being asked, and staff were extremely accommodating to special requests.

The rooms were clean, very comfortable, great wifi signal - all in all, an excellent experience. Will absolutely book rooms/meetings at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsGuy, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your great comments. We know how important it is to have a successful meeting and it sounds like everything went great! Glad we could help and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I had a wonderful stay with this Holiday Inn Express. I'm a gold elite member of the IHG priority rewards program and did not have any trouble check in or out. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was great. Highly recommend this holiday inn!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsGuy, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
So glad that has an IHG Rewards Gold Elite member that you were recognised and everything was taken care of throughout your stay (from checkin to checkout). Please don't wait too long before you come back to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utica,ky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My daughter and I did not meet one staff person who was less than gracious and helpful in our recent stay at HIE Jacksonville. John, Josh, Kevin, Jeremy, Lori, Elena, and the lady in charge of breakfast, Jill, does a fantastic job. The rooms and all public areas are very clean. Always someone available to assist. They have a shuttle to Mayo Clinic, and the driver is very courteous. All things considered; I have been in more expensive hotels, but the service, awesomely helpful personnel, and general ambience of HIE Jax is second to none.
Guys and gals, we hope to see you in the future when we are on a real vacation. All of you
are great.

Room Tip: We were on third floor. Very quiet. There probably isn't a bad room at this site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsGuy, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave such amazing comments. We couldn't do it without our staff or the appreciative customer. Please don't forget us when you come back to Jacksonville Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach

Address: 1101 Beach Blvd, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 82 room hotel is a few short blocks from the beach. With deluxe amenities like flat panel televisions, iPod docking clock radios and free wifi throughout the hotel, the Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach is the best hotel for any traveler. Our hotel is located in close proximity to the Mayo Clinic Hospital, Mayport Naval Station and the beach. We offer complimentary shuttle service to/from the Mayo Clinic.Our award winning hotel is always ranked top in the area by our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach Hotel Jacksonville Beach
Holiday Inn Jacksonville Beach
Jacksonville Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.