We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Oceanfront to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   305 North 1st Street, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Highland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The customer service at this Hotel was the best. Everyone was friendly and very willing to help. They were knowledgeable about the area and was able to suggest placed to visit and eat. We arrived early in the morning, way before check-in, yet the girls did all they could to get us in a room quickly. We were able to get a room at noon even though we arrived at 9 and check-in wasn't until 3 or 4.

The room was clean and we had a wonderful view of the ocean and city. The beds left a lot to be desired, they were hard, but the pillows were fantastic. The ceiling looked a bit rough and the room sometimes smelled a bit musty, but this is due to it being so close to the water. The balcony was nice, if a bit small.

The hotel was a very short walk to the water and close to some shopping areas (some stores were a bit on the expensive side). The breakfast was from 6-10 am and had a wonderful selection and layout of the continental breakfast foods. The lobby, breakfast area, and elevator are small.

The employees made this hotel the best, and allowed us to overlook the very few faults we found.

Room Tip: We had a "city" facing room on the south side of the building (room 307). This room gave u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay with us. We are very happy that our staff were able to serve you to their best; you appreciation had been conveyed to them. It would be our pleasure to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    119
    45
    22
    17
See reviews for
101
141
29
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

clean, comfortable, great staff, get the ocean front balcony...................... wonderful! We stay here every time we come to Jax beach and am never disappointed. Hot cookies on arrival. Good continental breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
It is wonderful to read such happy experiences from guests; it goes great lengths in motivating us to go beyond the expected. Thank you very much for your review and for choosing us every time you visit Jacksonville Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The staffs were helpful and friendly; the room was quiet, clean and the hotel location is excellent right in the beach and walking distance to restaurants and night life. ZETA was great place to eat and in other hand Pier was not (stay away from Pier bad food and worst service).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for writing in with your review. Within walking distance from the beach and located close to shops and restaurants, the Best Western Oceanfront indeed makes for an excellent hotel choice in Jacksonville beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Paid for a Ocean front with room with a Jacuzzi and walked in the room which looked like a "swingers" club nightmare. The Jacuzzi was actually IN THE ROOM and beat up used and dirty. The "view" from the little window was another buildings window (maybe 30-40 feet way). If you pressed your face to the window and looked east...you could make out the blue from the ocean down the alley. But the windows were too dirty to be sure. Furniture, carpet, paint...everything was just old and used. For almost $200 in the summer?!?!...that was a compete rip off.

Really wish I would have taken pics to show you!

We left the hotel immediately (within 3 min) and went next door to the Choice Hotel...not much better...but at least it had a balcony on the ocean...and cost less the this incredibly horrible Best Western!!!!!!!

NEVER AGAIN!!!!

Room Tip: Dont stay at this hotel...period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are extremely disappointed that your experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apologies. We do offer rooms with partial and full ocean view rooms to our guests. It seems you rented one of our off-ocean rooms. We will address your concerns regarding the in-room spa tub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Having read previous positive reviews, I was certain my stay would be a good one, but it was not. I've never felt inclined to write a bad review about any hotel, but certainly did in this case. I don't want to see others make the same mistake I did.

Positives: beach is close.
Negatives:
- room service lacking: didn't make beds and claimed belongings were on bed when they were not; another time they claimed the 'do not disturb' sign was on the door even though it wasn't but somehow they changed the towels.
- breakfast area is far too small. It encroaches into the lobby area. The first day I asked if the 4 tables were enough for all the guests and the manager said they seem to manage fine, but that was not my experience at all. Many people ended up taking their breakfast outside or up to their rooms due to lack of tables.
- AC unit is a window unit and there is not any central AC; you can tell the hotel was an old one that was renovated/modernized but left out some important upgrades.
- No gym, but I knew that going in....at least they gave me a free pass to use the Holiday Inn Express heading inland about a mile, and after seeing it, I wish I'd stayed there.
- About half the staff were professional and the other half not.

If you just want to use the beach and don't expect much else, it's fine, but there is plenty of parking around and recommend you stay somewhere else and make the quick drive over. Otherwise, it's pretty expensive parking area, is all.

Room Tip: Saw a roach in mine, but that's Florida for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Let me start by saying, if you want beachfront, then this is it! It is not luxurious, but it's clean. We stayed here for the 4th of July and it worked great to be super close to the beach and the fireworks!
Expedia screwed up our booking that should have been oceanfront with a balcony, but instead we had a city view with a window. If you are a light sleeper or have light sleeping children DO NOT book a 'city' view. It is across from a dingy bar with screaming women! The bed was broken and completely sunken in on one side...
Overall it worked for our purpose, but they are not overly friendly during check-in...

Room Tip: Dont book city view, you get a view of a dingy bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesup
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was a very pleasant stay. The staff was super helpful and polite. It was a very safe area...lots of police around to protect. We looked out at the beach and the boardwalk. Restaurants were close. The beach was just a short walk.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get an oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad you were able to enjoy our views and that you found our staff friendly and accommodating. Located just by the beach with spectacular ocean views, the Best Western Oceanfront is one of the best hotel choices in Jacksonville beach. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Oceanfront

Address: 305 North 1st Street, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Jacksonville Beach, the Best Western Oceanfront is surrounded by restaurants, shops and nightlife, as well as facing the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. We are convenient to Freebird Live concert venue and offer a complimentary shuttle to the Mayo Clinic Hospital. Oceanfront rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oceanfront Hotel Jacksonville Beach
Best Western Hotel Oceanfront
Best Western Jacksonville Beach
Jacksonville Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.