We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Night, No Hassle, Very Good Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Oceanfront to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   305 North 1st Street, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Free Night, No Hassle, Very Good Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Great spot near the beach and boardwalk. On our way back from the Left Coast at the end of February with our dog, we had stayed in a few Pet Friendly Best Westerns and earned the "free night". Best Western emailed an electronic coupon promptly which I had with me when we flew south in March. We drove by the Oceanfront Best Western on 1st and it looked nice and was located in an area on the upswing with new restaurants etc. To get the free room you need to have your coupon and make the reservation through Best Western. We pulled over and called and a delightful lady booked our $139.00 room at no cost. A minute later we pulled in and got our room. When we learned they were fully booked, we wondered what the free room would be like. Well, it was great. Clean, comfortable and with a good King bed and excellent High Def, flat screenTV. The lobby is very small, so the free breakfast can be crowded, but I used a tray and just provided my own room service. Cost on check out $0.00. We would have stayed a second might, but there were no rooms available.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    119
    45
    22
    17
See reviews for
101
141
29
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

This maybe an older hotel but it is very clean and the rooms are comfortable. You can't beat the view and all the staff is friendly and helpful. I always enjoy having the complimentary breakfast and the staff has fresh coffee and juice available throughout the day. I will definitely visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing Best Western Oceanfront; we are glad to learn you enjoyed the panoramic views of the ocean. We would love to have you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed two days this past weekend at this BW to celebrate St. Patrick's day...we are in our 50's; but you are only as old as you feel, right?! This was certainly not our first stay at this BW, and it will not be our last. All of the staff (including the housekeeping staff) were super friendly and helpful; and Angie (I wondered if she worked 24 hours a day!! Just kidding-but she was there all of the time!) was above and beyond! Always had a smile for us and was able to make sure our every need was met! We had a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the boardwalk and ocean - perfect view! All was clean and comfortable and the room was DARK!! So nice! I actually slept until 10 am; and I am one of those people that awaken when the sun rises! The location of this hotel is within walking distance from everything you could want. We took our bicycles and never got back into our vehicle the whole 3 days we were there! The breakfast is nice. Internet service fast. I can't imagine anyone not enjoying their stay with Best Western Oceanfront!

Room Tip: Second floor ocean front rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We are delighted to learn that your stay was memorable and that you enjoyed our ocean view balconies. We will pass on your compliments to Angie. She certainly is an asset to our hotel. Thank you for being a loyal Best Western guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is an old hotel with a face lift. It is very clean and the rooms are spacious. We had ocean front with a balcony but the balcony was extremely small with a limited view due to the sides being slanted in and concrete. Adequate. The pool is in the parking lot and the pool chairs are rickety, wooden, chained down with only one lounge chair. The pool is small but it was clean. The breakfast room is tiny and the breakfast is limited but ok.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We regret for not having kept up with your expectations. Your concerns regarding the pool furniture will be addressed.

At Best Western Oceanfront, we are consistently striving to provide the best value of any oceanfront hotel in Jacksonville Beach. We hope you would choose to stay with us again; we will ensure your stay would be a memorable one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Staff and location were wonderful. My son and I really enjoyed our stay at Best Western Oceanfront in Jacksonville Beach, FL. The hotel is right on the boardwalk so it's very close to shops and restaurants.


  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife had a conference in Jacksonville and let me tag along ... because I did, she (instead of registering at the conference hotel, downtown) booked a room at the Best Western in Jacksonville Beach ...

The room they gave us was on the second floor (of three), literally overlooking the beachwalk and the Atlantic Ocean ... I spent four days working on two songs I was writing, with the door to our balcony open, listening to the waves ...

An older hotel (we have an affinity for older places with character all their own), it was clean, friendly and the staff was excellent, from the front desk to the housekeeping staff ...

Interestingly enough, though we had not asked for that, there was a jacuzzi tub, in the room ... we didn't use it (just because we didn't want to fool with it), but we still thought it was pretty cool ...

There's an excellent Mexican restaurant a couple of blocks away where we ate twice, because the only seafood restaurant nearby is a Joe's Crab Shack, and we can go eat there in Nashville, so we didn't go there ... ther was (unfortunately) a seafood restaurant that was there on Tuesday, but had closed (apparently for good) on Thursday of our week there (which was why we went back to the Mexican restaurant we'd found ...

All in all, an excellent experience ...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your choosing to stay with Best Western Oceanfront, and for your review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel experience and that the unbridled view of the ocean from your balcony served as an ideal atmosphere for writing your songs.
We look forward to welcoming back during you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Jacksonville Beach itself is old and run down. The city is making improvements, but very slowly. I agree with another poster that this end of the strip is is not a vacation type neighborhood. Angie and Jaimie at the front desk were amazing! Southern hospitality at it's best. I was there 2/17-2/23 2013 for my son going to the Mayo clinic. Beds are extra comfy, breakfast plentiful, and the grille next door called "Off the Hook" had good food. If you are going to Florida for a family vacation, I would either pick a beach further south or if you have to stay in Jacksonville, choose a larger hotel and pay a little more for the room and total atmosphere.. Don't get me wrong, this hotel was perfect for our purpose for a place to stay on the beach and make the best of the in between time at Mayo.

Room Tip: Def. pay for an oceanfront. Balconies are small but better than looking out at the parking lot or b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Oceanfront

Address: 305 North 1st Street, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Jacksonville Beach, the Best Western Oceanfront is surrounded by restaurants, shops and nightlife, as well as facing the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. We are convenient to Freebird Live concert venue and offer a complimentary shuttle to the Mayo Clinic Hospital. Oceanfront rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oceanfront Hotel Jacksonville Beach
Best Western Hotel Oceanfront
Best Western Jacksonville Beach
Jacksonville Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.