We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
6 Beach Blvd, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250-6813
904-249-6160
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
486 reviews 486 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Pricey but fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I had one of the carb pots and it was pricey at $30. The amount of crab was a bit on the light side to say the least for that amount of money. The food was good and the service excellent. The view and atmosphere were also excellent. There were several other menu options less expensive and some looked very good. My wife had the lobster plate but the lobster was overcooked and a bit tough. We did have a good time for our 39th wedding anniversary and were happy we went with the kids.
I recommend this for any events even special events. I would stay away from the crab pots they are a little weak on quantity but they are good. So you decide
If you find this helpful please mark it so.
Thanks Berny.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    99
    54
    23
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Straight-Forward Fresh Seafood! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We frequented this Joe's Crab Shack very often during our extended stay in Jacksonville Beach, FL. Not one time were we disappointed with the freshness and flavor seasoning of our seafood! The Sounds of the Surf only enhanced the meal experience! Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Lobster fail”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We normally enjoy eating here, however this time they did not cook the lobster until it was done. We told the server, who told the manager, who apologized and asked did we want another one in it's place. Uh...no.....he didn't offer to take it off the bill. Disappointed.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
488 reviews 488 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
“Right on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This Joe's is located right on Jacksonville Beach near the pier. They have outdoor seating if you want to enjoy the view. There are umbrella's to shade you but it's still pretty hot out there so we decided too cool down inside.
The portions at Joe's are HUGE so it's easy to split something. Because of it's location it's ideal to pop in & grab something while you're at the beach.
There is a playground for kids to plan on but it was too hot to use the day we were there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Two dollar Tuesdays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Drink specials and appetizers on Tuesday for only Two bucks. My goodness the servers even dance for you!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

 
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.