We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Path Bed and Breakfast by the Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jacksonville Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pelican Path Bed and Breakfast by the Sea
11 N. 19th Ave., Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250   |  
Hotel amenities
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GREAT weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at Pelican Path as a suprise Anniversary get away. Never having been to or stayed on JaxBeach, we were delighted with the area, accomodations, and great chat's with Tom and Joan. The beach side room was very roomy and comfortable for the two of us and the view from the balcony was great, day and night. Clouds and rain showers couldn't even obscure the view. The lack of high rises to the North made it possible to see the ships coming out of the port into the ocean. An unexpected treat! The new experience of the Bed and Breakfast with Tom and Joan may create high expectations for the next one we visit. After chatting with them in the mornings at breakfast, we will be visiting some of the recommended places in area's we travel often. I can only hope, they are all as relaxing as Pelican Path. We felt like we were home, but without the cleanup and cooking. Tom's ability to share stories was part of the comfort and Joan made sure we knew the extra details of each one. The breakfasts were delicious and healthy. No pre-made anything. The fruit each morning was very fresh and the eggs benedict and omletes were done just right. The blueberry pandowdy and pecan pie muffins were delicious and Joan packed us a bag to go. The boardwalk beach access was great and the stroll down the beach and down the sidewalk was wonderful. Very pretty walking down both. The recommedation for dinner was excellent and we liked the fact they left the cell phone number when they went out one evening, even though we didn't need it. Very considerate! It would be great to go again, but we will have to remember they are only allowed to be open 6 mos. of the year. I'm sure we will find one weekend again to visit Jacksonville Beach/Neptune Beach area at THE PELCIAN PATH BED & BREAKFAST.Can't wait!! Rick & Jo Clark

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Had such a great time at Pelican Path. We live in Jacksonville and just needed a quick escape to the beach for the night. Tom and Joan Hubbard were just what the doctor ordered. They could not be more friendly or accommodating! The Pelican Path is located on a great beach perfect for long walks and a nice bike ride at low tide (beach cruisers available at the Inn). The room has a great balcony and the room has a convenient fridge (even filled with courtesy drinks). The location is right next to public access to the beach and it was fun to people watch and I can tell they were quite envious of our perch on the second floor overlooking the ocean. Slept with the windows open and enjoyed the surf and moonlight.

Breakfast was divine. With just a few rooms, we felt like it was personally prepared for us.

If you live out of town or live in Jax and need a quick retreat (we celebrated our 15th anniversary here), come to the Pelican Path... you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: go oceanfront. I'm sure the other rooms are nice, but nothing beats the oceanfront balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here for Memorial Day weekend in 2012 and were very happy with it. The room and common areas were very clean, the bed was comfortable, the breakfast was great and the owners were very helpful and accommodating. The decor was not as dated as other reviewers led me to believe. I thought it was just fine and certainly current enough. The bedding was very nice. As this was a chance for us to get away without the kids, we definitely appreciated that children are not allowed at this B&B (there is nothing worse than having a night away from the little ones only to be woken by the kids in the hotel room next door). I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avera, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My wife and I just returned from our stay at this lovely little B&B. We currently have a son that is getting chemo treatments (he was at a camp for cancer patients and his little brother was there with him this week), so my wife and I have had little time for ourselves. She wanted a few days of beach time while they were at camp.

After having troubles at a different resort hotel, we were able to get a refund and set out to finding a nice, quiet place so that we could have some much-needed relaxation. We stumbled upon their website and called. We called and were informed they had an oceanfront room available, so we drove over and checked in.

The room is adequately sized - similar to what you would find in most decent hotels. The bed was comfortable. The small refrigerator was stocked with a few items and we added some of our own choices. The bathroom on the oceanfront room includes a large jacuzzi and toilet with its own door, and an adjacent area with a sink and large mirror. There is a very large closet, as well.

There are four very large, floor-to-ceiling windows facing the ocean - including one of which is a sliding glass door. The balcony is spacious with a couple of chairs and small table and an amazing view of the beach.

The breakfasts were amazing each of the three mornings we were there. We enjoyed sitting and watching the huge waves roll in while enjoying some of the same delicious meals that another reviewer mentioned. Tom and Joan were amazingly hospitable and had many stories of local lore for those that wanted to hear about it. I really loved hearing some of the history of the area. They are very knowledgeable of the local history and had some great recommendations for local cuisine and activities.

There is no problem with the access to the beach as another reviewer mentioned. The entrance to the walkway to the beach is less than 30 steps from the front door of the home. There is also a shower head at the end of the walkway for cleaning the sand off your feet and body. The fact that it is a public access is petty and a non-factor. Also, the fact that they do not allow children is a good thing. There are plenty of places for families to go around Jacksonville. This B&B is designed with adults in mind, and I appreciate that. Newlyweds and others looking for a quiet getaway will appreciate it, as well.

I think one of the greatest compliments you can give to a hotel or B&B is to say that you would definitely be going back to that same location. My wife and I have already decided that we will be returning for our anniversary next year. We loved it that much! We loved the accommodations - we are not looking for something fancy. The location of Pelican Path was perfect for beach access and getting around to restaurants and other attractions. And Tom and Joan were amazing hosts. They were extremely flexible and reasonable in accommodating us. Great food, great location, great view, great access, and great hosts make this a highly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Spent a wonderful Wedding Anniversary at this B&B directly on the beach. Our hosts, Joan and Tom were very engaging and worked to meet all our needs. In addition to the room being very comfortable and the beach wonderful, the breakfasts were especially tasty: Day 1, Eggs Benedict, Cheese Grits, Blueberry Pan Dowdy; Day 2, Omlettes with Ham and Cheese, Cheese Grits, and Pecan Pie Muffins; Day 3, Scrambled Eggs, Sausage, and Buckwheat, Blueberry Pancakes. Of course, each meal was accompanied with orange juice, fresh fruit compote, yogurt, coffee,tea and iced water. Does it get any better than this? I think not.

Room Tip: I suggest getting one of the two rooms directly facing the beach since they each have a nice balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowery Branch
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had a lovely, relaxing stay with Joan and Tom in their beautiful oceanfront B & B. The oceanfront full breakfast was so nice to wake up to. Our fellow guests were also quite pleasant to have breakfast with. We would definitely stay again if in the area. Thanks Joan and Tom! Sabrina and Dan.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for oceanfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

First of all I have NEVER been to the Florida beaches as I am from the PAC NW. A great friend from High School has family in this area and gave me a list of all the places they thought would be fitting. This B&B is far from. The decor is very aged the bed although was soft was a bit lumpy. The major fact was it was booked with blinders on and they are NOT family friendly. As we had already booked and paid we wanted to stay but Joan would not allow us. In her defense "if the whole house is rented by a family I do allow children, but not when its one room" We were the ONLY ones there why was there a difference? I can continue to go on and on about this whole fiasco Needless to say after 3 letters from our attorney she finally sent us a check for a refund of the nights we were not able to stay. In hindsight we did stay at the local resort "One Ocean Resort" and it was great they have wonderful beds, service, accommodations, as well as anything and everything a place needs for the SAME price if not a little less.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanderling, Owner at Pelican Path Bed and Breakfast by the Sea, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
I discovered this review just a few days ago. I researched our records to confirm what I already knew: other than the name of the inn, the location of the inn, the fact that we do not take children (under the age of 17, which is published information) and the name, "Joan," the information is false:
1) This family has not stayed with us for even one night. We do not put 5 people in one room which contains only one king-bed.2) They were never charged a fee which needed to be refunded. We do not run a credit card until guests actually check-in.3) We have not received ANY attorney letters requesting a refund. 4)We have written no "refund checks" in response to an "attorney letter."
We have written to the TripAdvisor address furnished on the web-site, with a more detailed rebuttal of this review. If you have questions, we can be reached at 904-249-1177.

Joan P. Hubbard, co-owner
Pelican Path B & B by the Sea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pelican Path Bed and Breakfast by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Path Bed and Breakfast by the Sea

Address: 11 N. 19th Ave., Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Jacksonville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from home for travelers. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Path Bed and Breakfast by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pelican Path Bed and Breakfast by the Sea to your Saves list