We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very tasty time at the beach.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Path Bed and Breakfast by the Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jacksonville Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pelican Path Bed and Breakfast by the Sea
Save Saved
You added Pelican Path Bed and Breakfast by the Sea to your Saves list
11 N. 19th Ave., Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250   |  
Hotel amenities
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A very tasty time at the beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Spent a wonderful Wedding Anniversary at this B&B directly on the beach. Our hosts, Joan and Tom were very engaging and worked to meet all our needs. In addition to the room being very comfortable and the beach wonderful, the breakfasts were especially tasty: Day 1, Eggs Benedict, Cheese Grits, Blueberry Pan Dowdy; Day 2, Omlettes with Ham and Cheese, Cheese Grits, and Pecan Pie Muffins; Day 3, Scrambled Eggs, Sausage, and Buckwheat, Blueberry Pancakes. Of course, each meal was accompanied with orange juice, fresh fruit compote, yogurt, coffee,tea and iced water. Does it get any better than this? I think not.

Room Tip: I suggest getting one of the two rooms directly facing the beach since they each have a nice balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    2
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flowery Branch
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had a lovely, relaxing stay with Joan and Tom in their beautiful oceanfront B & B. The oceanfront full breakfast was so nice to wake up to. Our fellow guests were also quite pleasant to have breakfast with. We would definitely stay again if in the area. Thanks Joan and Tom! Sabrina and Dan.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for oceanfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

First of all I have NEVER been to the Florida beaches as I am from the PAC NW. A great friend from High School has family in this area and gave me a list of all the places they thought would be fitting. This B&B is far from. The decor is very aged the bed although was soft was a bit lumpy. The major fact was it was booked with blinders on and they are NOT family friendly. As we had already booked and paid we wanted to stay but Joan would not allow us. In her defense "if the whole house is rented by a family I do allow children, but not when its one room" We were the ONLY ones there why was there a difference? I can continue to go on and on about this whole fiasco Needless to say after 3 letters from our attorney she finally sent us a check for a refund of the nights we were not able to stay. In hindsight we did stay at the local resort "One Ocean Resort" and it was great they have wonderful beds, service, accommodations, as well as anything and everything a place needs for the SAME price if not a little less.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanderling, Owner at Pelican Path Bed and Breakfast by the Sea, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
I discovered this review just a few days ago. I researched our records to confirm what I already knew: other than the name of the inn, the location of the inn, the fact that we do not take children (under the age of 17, which is published information) and the name, "Joan," the information is false:
1) This family has not stayed with us for even one night. We do not put 5 people in one room which contains only one king-bed.2) They were never charged a fee which needed to be refunded. We do not run a credit card until guests actually check-in.3) We have not received ANY attorney letters requesting a refund. 4)We have written no "refund checks" in response to an "attorney letter."
We have written to the TripAdvisor address furnished on the web-site, with a more detailed rebuttal of this review. If you have questions, we can be reached at 904-249-1177.

Joan P. Hubbard, co-owner
Pelican Path B & B by the Sea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

I stayed here with my boyfriend to get a few days if privacy from his family when we visited Florida. It was a wonderful place, very clean and bright. The hosts were friendly and hospitable, although we had to wait a little to get our rooms. The beach area is beautiful and perfect if you want to get away from the busier parts of the town, and it's a nice walk over to the quaint commercial areas for food, drinks and shopping. Our only regret was that we didn't get the seaside rooms, which probably had a nicer view. However, the room was still very nice.

  • Liked — Very quiet and laid-back
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed at Pelican Path for three nights in Mid-March 2008. We had read the reviews here prior to our visit and were pleased to find that our experience was nothing but wonderful. We stayed in one of the relaxing ocean front rooms on the second floor, the view was beautiful, the room was spacious, and the included spa tub was a delight. The owners Joan and Tom were also a delight, their bright personalities and hospitality made us feel welcomed and appreciated.

We are young professionals in our late 20s, during our stay here there was also another young professional couple present. We feel that Pelican Path is a great location for those in our age group and older who are looking for a relaxing location with all of the amenities of a hotel, but with the comforts of a home.

There are no "Continental Breakfasts" at this BNB, each morning Joan and Tom put a lot of care and hard work into creating unique and delicious breakfasts.

We highly recommend this BNB for a wonderfully relaxing getaway.

  • Liked — Location, View, Spa Tub!
  • Disliked — No Smoking on balcony
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2006

We stayed at PP in June. The weather didn't cooperate but the inn was wonderful. We had a second floor room with a great view of the ocean. The room was spacious clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was outstanding. We were there 2 days and there was a different breakfast each day. The view of the ocean from the dining room is terrific.

The owners were friendly and most accomodating.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2005

Pelican path b&b is situated in a terrific Jax beach location. We stayed 4 nights in the most expensive ocean front room. The rooms are furnished in "early Walmart." Inexpensive furnishings, poorly decorated and rediculously inadequate TV. Access to the beach is terrific.The breakfast is served on the first floor overlooking the ocean. Joan does a wonderful job and is a very good cook. The first floor also has a sitting area althought you never felt comfortable using it.In fact you never felt comforable a all at the Pelican B&B. When ever you ask for anything you get the impression you are intruding as the owners are not at all accomodating. We asked to use the bicycles and were told we had to give adequate notice as they were locked in the garage. Also we would have to leave a 10 dollar deposit for each bike.We returnd with the bikes to find a nasty note on the door suggesting that we would forfeit our deposit if the bikes were not returned by 6pm. Then we asked for a later check out and were informed of their progressive late check out fee's. We asked to use the internet for printing our boarding passes. No help at all with that.The biggest problem with this place is the owner, Tom. He has a very dark sense of humor which is quite vexing. He makes you feel unwelcome and any request is an intrusion.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Path Bed and Breakfast by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Path Bed and Breakfast by the Sea

Address: 11 N. 19th Ave., Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Jacksonville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from home for travelers. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Path Bed and Breakfast by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.