We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value; Nice View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1617 N 1st St, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
GreenLeadersBronze level
Connecticut
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Good Value; Nice View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Room was oceanfront with a balcony, under $200 per night; great value. Furniture was showing some wear and tear and could use updating soon. Parking was at a premium on site, but luckily, Marriott has a property right across the street that had plenty of extra parking spaces. Public areas were clean but dated in decor. Staff was great. Facility is not close to anything except the water; you need to drive about five to ten minutes to find a good restaurant for dinner. Atlantic (Neptune) Beach has lots of great restaurant choices and is about seven minutes away, but has severe parking limitations, and is just far enough away to make walking there impractical. This is not a true destination resort area, so don't plan on coming for a week unless you just want to lie on the beach (which is VERY narrow). We were in town to spend time with friends and this hotel worked out well for that.

Room Tip: Pay the extra tariff for an oceanfront room, otherwise this is just another average hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    94
    32
    15
    4
See reviews for
104
77
10
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This has become our hotel of choice when in Jax for business or for pleasure! The oceanview rooms with balconies are great! We love hearing the ocean and watching the dolphins from our room. This is one of the few places where the air doesn't shut off when you open the doors. The staff is always fabulous, friendly, and very helpful. This chain puts out cookies in the afternoon for guests; my son has a peanut allergy and without my asking they offered to bake some cookies for him so he could enjoy without cross-contamination issues - very thoughtful! The beds are Tempurpedic, so some apparently either love 'em or hate 'em. I am indifferent. There are lots of great restaurants in the area, but what I loved most of all is how "un"-touristy the area is. My kids and I rented bikes right next door to the hotel that the concierge recommended. They were very reasonable and in great shape. You can ride for miles along the beach and through the residential area next door. They will also rent out beach chairs, equipment, etc., but my suggestion is to pack a folding chair if you want to be near the beach - at least during the winter time when thing are very slow. This hotel is a great choice if you are in the Jax area!

Room Tip: The 2 suites are very nice, but be forewarned that if you want to hear the ocean at night, the bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I found this hotel by doing an internet search. You never know what you are going to get.... However, our stay was perfect. Front desk was nice at check in and check out. Our room was oceanfront on the 5th floor (high enough to not be bothered by pool traffic) with a perfect view. I thought our room was nice and roomy and up to date. We enjoyed the balcony. We were traveling with 3 mountain bikes and there was plenty of room to store them in our room. No one gave us a hard time about transporting them up and down the elevator. We of course made sure they were clean before bringing them in! The hotel is not pet friendly, which we like since we don't want to think about sharing a bed with someone's dog. However, both my husband and I think we heard a small dog bark one night or morning. Just made me wonder. The cleaning staff was very friendly and provided us extra "stuff" when we asked. Oh yes, and the price was very reasonable. Less than $200/night which seems to be about the going rate any more. Also the location was great and it appeared to have one of the nicest pools in the selection of hotels. It was at the end of Jacksonville Beach bumping up against Neptune Beach which is very residential. Not too close to the pier and all the business that went on in that area. We would go back.

Room Tip: Oceanfront and up high and away from the elevator. There are only 6 floors (for normal folks) and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I paid for an ocean front room. Technically the room was ocean front but 4 feet of the balcony was the wall of the restaurant downstairs and at 4 feet you looked across the roof. I had a view of the roof of the restaurant and an exhaust fan for 190.00 dollars. When I went to the front desk to check out I said I was disappointed that my room was misrepresented and she told me it was my fault I booked with expedia. I actually thought I had booked through the Marriot Website. At any rate don't book rooms on the second floor from about room 214 to room 230 unless you enjoy restaurant rooftop views.

I also had the pleaseure of being there the weekend that time changed for daylight savings. I did check out on time but many didn't realize the time change or overslept. Instead of the front desk women on Sunday morning being compassionate and ftexible they were rude and disrespectful to guests. I was sitting by the desk waiting for a friend and watched as people wererushing to check out. When one guest apologized profusely for being late (11:20) The desk clerk said "excuses, excuses we did have signs in the elevators." Another guest checked out shortly after that and got a yeah yeah response. I was appalled at how rude these two desk clerks were and it is unlikely I will ever book with Marriot again. My experience at a Hilton Garden Inn two weeks earlier was head and shoulders above this establishment. The staff here really made you feel like you were lucky to be there and owed them something as opposed to honoring the guest and valueing thier business as job security.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was my third time staying at this property in the past two years so obviously I like it. Mostly, I enjoy the location and the hotel amenities. It is easy to walk to the "downtown" areas of either Jax Beach, Neptune Beach or Atlantic Beach. Each morning I would wake up, go for a run and start my day with a coffee down the street. It is so nice to not have to use a car when on vacation!

This Marriott property itself has a wonderful pool (although it is usually supposed to be heated, it was not when we were there), great jacuzzi, and a fire pit to warm yourself up if you happen to be visiting during a cold time of the year (which unfortunately we were!). It is located right on a very uncrowded, safe beach. I absolutely think it is worth the upgrade to get one of the oceanfront rooms or suites.

The only criticism I have is the rooms themselves. The bathrooms could use a bit of updating (some cracked tiles or a little mold towards the bottom of the shower). The balconies also are a little small -if you have friends staying at the property with you and you all want to be outside on a balcony enjoying a sunset cocktail it can be tough. A way to avoid this is to upgrade to a suite because once we had a suite we could have fit 10 people on our balcony, no problem! There is also very little refrigerator space if you want to keep anything in the fridge while you're there.

Otherwise, this is one of my favorite weekend getaways and I will certainly be back!

Room Tip: It is worth it to upgrade to a suite or an ocean view. Why stay on the ocean and not be able to loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is one of my favorite hotels to stay at when I go to Jacksonville! It is in a great destination being it is on the oceanfront and close enough to travel to St Augustine! I will start with the lobby which is eye catching when you enter the hotel, the staff are all so friendly and helpful at the desk. They have complementary hot coffee and tea all day and evening, and in the summer a drink cooler full with a cold drink .
They have an amazing view of the ocean while you have breakfast, you can sit inside or out, and the staff are so lovely. You can purchase the buffet or the menu. A nice start of the day!
At night time, they have an open fire pit outside and we meet people from all over! They have a bar that you can purchase a drink and sit by the fire, which we love after a long day.
The rooms are clean and bright, and comfy! The pool and hot tub are located outside all day for your pleasure. I would go back in a second when I go back. Great Place!

Room Tip: Oceanfront..... great scenery!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Staff at this resort went above and beyond - helping me locate items we had forgotten in room and did not realize at first. They found everything 3 weeks later and mailed them to us. Service at this level does not exist at all hotels. Hotel is beautiful - great oceanfront views. Will definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront

Address: 1617 N 1st St, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront has spacious and comfortable guestrooms for you to enjoy along with the many amenities and close proximity to Jacksonville Beach attractions. Just a half hour from downtown Jacksonville and minutes away from some of the best shopping in the area, Jacksonville Beach is a great destination for business travelers or the family vacationers. Guests can sit on their balcony and listen to the waves crash ashore, enjoy a meal in our oceanfront restaurant, or just take in the beauty from our oceanfront patio. Gorgeous weather and beautiful scenery are some of the many magical things you can experience when you’re paying a visit to the Sands of Jacksonville Beach. Our hotel is recognized by the State of Florida as a Green Lodging Property & Most Sea Turtle Eco-Friendly Hotel. Our spacious rooms perfectly integrate business conveniences with luxurious comfort - beachside! Our junior and executive suites have a large oceanfront private balcony and a separate sitting area offering panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean. All rooms are non-smoking and have an LCD screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, and high-speed wireless internet access. Enjoy a reasonably priced breakfast buffet with omelets cooked to order and an ocean view. Relax in the oceanfront heated outdoor pool and whirlpool with Tiki Bar. Our hotel is equipped with an exercise room that has cardiovascular equipment and free weights. East coast Sports Rental has surfboards, skim boards, kayaks, bikes, beach chairs and umbrellas to rent for a day of fun at the beach. Reserve your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront Hotel Jacksonville Beach
Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Jacksonville Beach Marriott
Jacksonville Beach Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.