We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Oceanfront Courtyard-great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1617 N 1st St, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tequesta, Florida
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
“Lovely Oceanfront Courtyard-great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night visiting my son in Atlantic Beach for his birthday....just a few miles up the road....had dinner up that way & there were tons of dining options but it was PACKED on a Saturday evening! It is the place to go!

The view from the hotel lobby is just stunning.

After a tease with the lobby view, went up to our room--can't remember the floor but it was low & had a balcony & could see nothing but the rooftop....I mean nothing and I don't mean to really complain about that because I got a great deal on this hotel & it was clearly stated "no view"....ok, ok....no biggie but hubby said "go ahead & call the desk & just ask if they have something on a higher floor"....the clerk said "sure, no problem, come on down & we will change your room". Gather all our stuff, schlep them to elevator, down to the desk we went....walk into the next room....whoa, parking lot. Guess I made a mistake when I asked for a room on a "higher floor"....should have specified "with a view"....but couldn't he have said "yes, we have a higher floor but it will not have a view"....could have saved us all that "schlepping" after a very long day & only 30 minutes to get ready for son's birthday dinner---- Didn't really matter & the guy probably thought he was being helpful but at the time, it was annoying to us! Guess we were happier with the parking lot view anyways because the "roof" was just a tease cuz you knew the ocean was right there out in front of it!

Prior visit, I stayed at the Fairfield across the street which is just as fine; figured we would try the Courtyard this time for comparison. We were on such a rushed trip, we did not get to enjoy the pool or beach which looked lovely. Walked by the fire pit which looked very nice but there was a large group taking it over & you could not edge our way in for even a sliver of warmth....

Had a very quick breakfast in the morning....standard fare, friendly server....eggs were not very good (powered, I guess?).

I would not hesitate to stay here again; great location; easy free parking, rooms are fine.

Room Tip: If you want a view, make sure the room you book has one because there are a lot of rooms with views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    88
    28
    14
    4
See reviews for
102
76
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I just recently stayed at the Courtyard, I had a great experience checking in with Thomas. He seemed very light hearted and was very nice. We stayed there as a night out to celebrate our anniversary...We enjoyed the rooms as well as the beautiful view of the beach. We sat out by the fire and enjoyed a wonderful end to our evening. We were greeted by a Noel and Ashley in the morning. They made our check out experience quick and easy. All in all we had a pleasure staying at this hotel and would recommend it highly to friends and family coming to Jacksonville.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This property was so nice, the views were amazing!! You can't beat being right on the beach and not to far from local restaurants, bars and shops. The staff was very friendly and honored an early check in as well as a late check out which was greatly appreciated. Overall I would recommend this hotel to families looking for a fun place to hang out on the beach or for the couple who just wants to get away for a weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The lobby is nice, however, the people working the desk are not. The lobby and their outside seating areas smell like gas due to their use of tiki lamps, and it doesn't seem to bother them, but it bothered me enough to have to go back to my room. The rooms are OK, the sliding door was so hard to open we almost got stuck outside on the balcony, the bottom drawer wouldn't close because it was stuck on the drawer above it and the rooms are on the small side. The cleaning staff disturbed us four times the day we were checking out. The room rate that Orbitz quotes is for a room looking over the parking lot. We asked for another room and after an additional cost they gave us a room, which we could see the ocean, but overlooked the roof. It felt like a Motel 6 and I do not recommend it. Enjoy yourself somewhere else. My suggestion is not to stay on Jacksonville Beach at all. It's kind of dumpy.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get the rooms facing the parking lot or over the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, New Jersey
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

If possible, I always prefer to stay at a property with an ocean view. There is only one Marriott property, other than the Ritz Carlton, in Jacksonville with an ocean view. We arrived at the hotel at 11:30pm tired from a long day of Christmas holiday traffic. There were limited options for dining, the local take out closed by mid night. The night desk service was helpful, and while she tried, could not increase options for late night dining.

However what I will always remember about this stay is the disruptive coughing through the night of the traveler next door; yes, I could hear him all night and the children when they woke in the morning. When I mentioned it to the front desk clerk at checkout, she said that it was because the room had adjoining doors and there was nothing they could do about it. While the sunrise over the Atlantic was beautiful, it could not compensate for sleep deprivation and we still had another full day of driving.

The hotel is located near US1 so we headed south for a scenic drive along the Florida shore.

Room Tip: Dont get a room that adjoins -- the acoustics can ruin your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend and had a wonderful time. Spend the extra $ on the oceanfront room - I still don't understand why anyone would stay at a resort like this with a view of the parking lot. The beach is clean and gorgeous and looks/sounds amazing from the room. The hotel itself is clean and well maintained.

At night the hotel was extremely quiet (which meant everyone slept by 10pm), all we heard were the waves crashing into the shoreline. However, that slowly changed as people started waking up. We could hear conversations taking place in the rooms next to us and in the hallway - wasn't great for sleeping in. BUT...many hotels are like that so we understand. Best option is to leave your sliding door cracked while you sleep to make the waves drown out the talking!

Overall a nice stay. We would have liked lunch/dinner options...that would have made me rate it closer to 5. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Oceanfront...only way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, I was visiting family and they came over everyday we all sat around the lounge and the pool so friendly and spotless loved it my best holiday this year, They don't serve evening meals but a great breakfast is on offer. We just went to local bar for food at night.

Room Tip: the hotel was full so couldn't get sea view and the beach is stuning
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront

Address: 1617 N 1st St, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront has spacious and comfortable guestrooms for you to enjoy along with the many amenities and close proximity to Jacksonville Beach attractions. Just a half hour from downtown Jacksonville and minutes away from some of the best shopping in the area, Jacksonville Beach is a great destination for business travelers or the family vacationers. Guests can sit on their balcony and listen to the waves crash ashore, enjoy a meal in our oceanfront restaurant, or just take in the beauty from our oceanfront patio. Gorgeous weather and beautiful scenery are some of the many magical things you can experience when you’re paying a visit to the Sands of Jacksonville Beach. Our hotel is recognized by the State of Florida as a Green Lodging Property & Most Sea Turtle Eco-Friendly Hotel. Our spacious rooms perfectly integrate business conveniences with luxurious comfort - beachside! Our junior and executive suites have a large oceanfront private balcony and a separate sitting area offering panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean. All rooms are non-smoking and have an LCD screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, and high-speed wireless internet access. Enjoy a reasonably priced breakfast buffet with omelets cooked to order and an ocean view. Relax in the oceanfront heated outdoor pool and whirlpool with Tiki Bar. Our hotel is equipped with an exercise room that has cardiovascular equipment and free weights. East coast Sports Rental has surfboards, skim boards, kayaks, bikes, beach chairs and umbrellas to rent for a day of fun at the beach. Reserve your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront Hotel Jacksonville Beach
Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Jacksonville Beach Marriott
Jacksonville Beach Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.