We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go some place else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1617 N 1st St, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pearland, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Go some place else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The lobby is nice, however, the people working the desk are not. The lobby and their outside seating areas smell like gas due to their use of tiki lamps, and it doesn't seem to bother them, but it bothered me enough to have to go back to my room. The rooms are OK, the sliding door was so hard to open we almost got stuck outside on the balcony, the bottom drawer wouldn't close because it was stuck on the drawer above it and the rooms are on the small side. The cleaning staff disturbed us four times the day we were checking out. The room rate that Orbitz quotes is for a room looking over the parking lot. We asked for another room and after an additional cost they gave us a room, which we could see the ocean, but overlooked the roof. It felt like a Motel 6 and I do not recommend it. Enjoy yourself somewhere else. My suggestion is not to stay on Jacksonville Beach at all. It's kind of dumpy.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get the rooms facing the parking lot or over the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    88
    26
    14
    4
See reviews for
101
75
8
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Highlands, New Jersey
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

If possible, I always prefer to stay at a property with an ocean view. There is only one Marriott property, other than the Ritz Carlton, in Jacksonville with an ocean view. We arrived at the hotel at 11:30pm tired from a long day of Christmas holiday traffic. There were limited options for dining, the local take out closed by mid night. The night desk service was helpful, and while she tried, could not increase options for late night dining.

However what I will always remember about this stay is the disruptive coughing through the night of the traveler next door; yes, I could hear him all night and the children when they woke in the morning. When I mentioned it to the front desk clerk at checkout, she said that it was because the room had adjoining doors and there was nothing they could do about it. While the sunrise over the Atlantic was beautiful, it could not compensate for sleep deprivation and we still had another full day of driving.

The hotel is located near US1 so we headed south for a scenic drive along the Florida shore.

Room Tip: Dont get a room that adjoins -- the acoustics can ruin your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend and had a wonderful time. Spend the extra $ on the oceanfront room - I still don't understand why anyone would stay at a resort like this with a view of the parking lot. The beach is clean and gorgeous and looks/sounds amazing from the room. The hotel itself is clean and well maintained.

At night the hotel was extremely quiet (which meant everyone slept by 10pm), all we heard were the waves crashing into the shoreline. However, that slowly changed as people started waking up. We could hear conversations taking place in the rooms next to us and in the hallway - wasn't great for sleeping in. BUT...many hotels are like that so we understand. Best option is to leave your sliding door cracked while you sleep to make the waves drown out the talking!

Overall a nice stay. We would have liked lunch/dinner options...that would have made me rate it closer to 5. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Oceanfront...only way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, I was visiting family and they came over everyday we all sat around the lounge and the pool so friendly and spotless loved it my best holiday this year, They don't serve evening meals but a great breakfast is on offer. We just went to local bar for food at night.

Room Tip: the hotel was full so couldn't get sea view and the beach is stuning
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I am writing this review after midnight in our room, # 628. I was impressed with the ocean view upon first arrival. The problems surfaced when it was time for us to sleep & rest. The walls are paper thin. One can hear the other party using their restroom. After 2 calls to the front desk due to excessive noises, we are reserved that tonight will be no rest for us. If you like a good night's sleep, stay elsewhere. We travel extensively and this is by far the noisiest place we have stayed. Would not book this hotel again or recommend. Thank goodness we are leaving tomorrow.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for the issue you experienced while staying with us. It can be difficult controlling guests that unfortunately don’t understand they are affecting the experience of other hotel guest’s. The hotel has additional staff on property in the evenings to help control this type of situation. I will make sure they understand the importance of addressing these situations before they do get out of hand.
I understand while traveling that having a good night’s rest is needed and I apologize for not delivering. I hope the next time you are in the area; you will give us another opportunity to better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lots of good stuff to say about this hotel. It was nice and clean, nicely decorated, great staff, and full service breakfast buffet. It's right on the ocean and worth paying the extra for an ocean front room. The pool area was really nice although i didn't spend much time there, and they have a really nice firepit for relaxing in the evening and listenting to the ocean. They have tempurpedic beds here. I know some people love them, I don't. That's the only thing I didn't like, but that's personal preference.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments; and we look forward to having you stay again at the Courtyard by Marriott Oceanfront in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had an oceanfront room on the 5th floor and our balcony was like a ringside seat to watch the show. When the Navy's Blue Angels flew over and beside the hotel as part of the show's finale, well, it just couldn't get much better!

Beach hotels have always been among our favorites, and this one did not disappoint. The morning breakfast was just what we needed. They don't serve dinner, so we ordered delivery pizza from the Mellow Mushroom, one of Jacksonville's favorite pizza restaurants, which arrived in about 30 minutes.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower are accessed from an air conditioned hallway. Other oceanfront rooms are accesse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay. The Air show is always a huge drawl to stay at the beach. We understand they will be back in Jacksonville Beach in 2014. We look forward to seeing you back at the Courtyard Marriott Oceanfront in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront

Address: 1617 N 1st St, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront has spacious and comfortable guestrooms for you to enjoy along with the many amenities and close proximity to Jacksonville Beach attractions. Just a half hour from downtown Jacksonville and minutes away from some of the best shopping in the area, Jacksonville Beach is a great destination for business travelers or the family vacationers. Guests can sit on their balcony and listen to the waves crash ashore, enjoy a meal in our oceanfront restaurant, or just take in the beauty from our oceanfront patio. Gorgeous weather and beautiful scenery are some of the many magical things you can experience when you’re paying a visit to the Sands of Jacksonville Beach. Our hotel is recognized by the State of Florida as a Green Lodging Property & Most Sea Turtle Eco-Friendly Hotel. Our spacious rooms perfectly integrate business conveniences with luxurious comfort - beachside! Our junior and executive suites have a large oceanfront private balcony and a separate sitting area offering panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean. All rooms are non-smoking and have an LCD screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, and high-speed wireless internet access. Enjoy a reasonably priced breakfast buffet with omelets cooked to order and an ocean view. Relax in the oceanfront heated outdoor pool and whirlpool with Tiki Bar. Our hotel is equipped with an exercise room that has cardiovascular equipment and free weights. East coast Sports Rental has surfboards, skim boards, kayaks, bikes, beach chairs and umbrellas to rent for a day of fun at the beach. Reserve your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront Hotel Jacksonville Beach
Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Jacksonville Beach Marriott
Jacksonville Beach Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.