We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing beachfront rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1617 N 1st St, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing beachfront rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend and had a wonderful time. Spend the extra $ on the oceanfront room - I still don't understand why anyone would stay at a resort like this with a view of the parking lot. The beach is clean and gorgeous and looks/sounds amazing from the room. The hotel itself is clean and well maintained.

At night the hotel was extremely quiet (which meant everyone slept by 10pm), all we heard were the waves crashing into the shoreline. However, that slowly changed as people started waking up. We could hear conversations taking place in the rooms next to us and in the hallway - wasn't great for sleeping in. BUT...many hotels are like that so we understand. Best option is to leave your sliding door cracked while you sleep to make the waves drown out the talking!

Overall a nice stay. We would have liked lunch/dinner options...that would have made me rate it closer to 5. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Oceanfront...only way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    82
    22
    14
    3
See reviews for
88
69
8
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, I was visiting family and they came over everyday we all sat around the lounge and the pool so friendly and spotless loved it my best holiday this year, They don't serve evening meals but a great breakfast is on offer. We just went to local bar for food at night.

Room Tip: the hotel was full so couldn't get sea view and the beach is stuning
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I am writing this review after midnight in our room, # 628. I was impressed with the ocean view upon first arrival. The problems surfaced when it was time for us to sleep & rest. The walls are paper thin. One can hear the other party using their restroom. After 2 calls to the front desk due to excessive noises, we are reserved that tonight will be no rest for us. If you like a good night's sleep, stay elsewhere. We travel extensively and this is by far the noisiest place we have stayed. Would not book this hotel again or recommend. Thank goodness we are leaving tomorrow.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for the issue you experienced while staying with us. It can be difficult controlling guests that unfortunately don’t understand they are affecting the experience of other hotel guest’s. The hotel has additional staff on property in the evenings to help control this type of situation. I will make sure they understand the importance of addressing these situations before they do get out of hand.
I understand while traveling that having a good night’s rest is needed and I apologize for not delivering. I hope the next time you are in the area; you will give us another opportunity to better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lots of good stuff to say about this hotel. It was nice and clean, nicely decorated, great staff, and full service breakfast buffet. It's right on the ocean and worth paying the extra for an ocean front room. The pool area was really nice although i didn't spend much time there, and they have a really nice firepit for relaxing in the evening and listenting to the ocean. They have tempurpedic beds here. I know some people love them, I don't. That's the only thing I didn't like, but that's personal preference.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments; and we look forward to having you stay again at the Courtyard by Marriott Oceanfront in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had an oceanfront room on the 5th floor and our balcony was like a ringside seat to watch the show. When the Navy's Blue Angels flew over and beside the hotel as part of the show's finale, well, it just couldn't get much better!

Beach hotels have always been among our favorites, and this one did not disappoint. The morning breakfast was just what we needed. They don't serve dinner, so we ordered delivery pizza from the Mellow Mushroom, one of Jacksonville's favorite pizza restaurants, which arrived in about 30 minutes.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower are accessed from an air conditioned hallway. Other oceanfront rooms are accesse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay. The Air show is always a huge drawl to stay at the beach. We understand they will be back in Jacksonville Beach in 2014. We look forward to seeing you back at the Courtyard Marriott Oceanfront in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation Key
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Air show off the balcony, no 2 night min required, staff even managed to pull off a wedding in front of the Blue Angels Air Show. Made it all look normal and routine! Clean room, great view of the ocean, fridge, microwave in room. Great spot!

I will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay. The Air show is always a huge drawl to stay at the beach. We understand they will be back in Jacksonville Beach in 2014. We look forward to seeing you back at the Courtyard Marriott Oceanfront in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

For several years my boyfriend and I make an annual Jax Beach visit in October and stay at One Ocean Resort (we stayed here when it was the Sea Turtle Inn too) but they were booked so we chose the Courtyard Mariott and we were not disappointed. This hotel does not have all the amenities that One Ocean offers but there are no added fees (parking, mini bar, resort fee). This hotel was so clean (kudos to the housekeeping department), the staff was friendly and professional, the pool bar stayed open rain or shine and it did rain 2 of the days we were there, and the breakfast buffet was good. Not to mention it is on the beach and we did have a room with a view. Great stay. Looks like next October.... we love you One Ocean ....but The Courtyard Mariott will probably see us again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We were thrilled to read you had such a great experience at the Courtyard by Marriott Oceanfront. Thank you for taking the time to share all of your comments and we look forward to having you as our guest again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront

Address: 1617 N 1st St, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront has spacious and comfortable guestrooms for you to enjoy along with the many amenities and close proximity to Jacksonville Beach attractions. Just a half hour from downtown Jacksonville and minutes away from some of the best shopping in the area, Jacksonville Beach is a great destination for business travelers or the family vacationers. Guests can sit on their balcony and listen to the waves crash ashore, enjoy a meal in our oceanfront restaurant, or just take in the beauty from our oceanfront patio. Gorgeous weather and beautiful scenery are some of the many magical things you can experience when you’re paying a visit to the Sands of Jacksonville Beach. Our hotel is recognized by the State of Florida as a Green Lodging Property & Most Sea Turtle Eco-Friendly Hotel. Our spacious rooms perfectly integrate business conveniences with luxurious comfort - beachside! Our junior and executive suites have a large oceanfront private balcony and a separate sitting area offering panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean. All rooms are non-smoking and have an LCD screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, and high-speed wireless internet access. Enjoy a reasonably priced breakfast buffet with omelets cooked to order and an ocean view. Relax in the oceanfront heated outdoor pool and whirlpool with Tiki Bar. Our hotel is equipped with an exercise room that has cardiovascular equipment and free weights. East coast Sports Rental has surfboards, skim boards, kayaks, bikes, beach chairs and umbrellas to rent for a day of fun at the beach. Reserve your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront Hotel Jacksonville Beach
Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Jacksonville Beach Marriott
Jacksonville Beach Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.