We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot to watch the air show!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1617 N 1st St, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect spot to watch the air show!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had an oceanfront room on the 5th floor and our balcony was like a ringside seat to watch the show. When the Navy's Blue Angels flew over and beside the hotel as part of the show's finale, well, it just couldn't get much better!

Beach hotels have always been among our favorites, and this one did not disappoint. The morning breakfast was just what we needed. They don't serve dinner, so we ordered delivery pizza from the Mellow Mushroom, one of Jacksonville's favorite pizza restaurants, which arrived in about 30 minutes.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower are accessed from an air conditioned hallway. Other oceanfront rooms are accesse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay. The Air show is always a huge drawl to stay at the beach. We understand they will be back in Jacksonville Beach in 2014. We look forward to seeing you back at the Courtyard Marriott Oceanfront in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    83
    22
    14
    3
See reviews for
89
71
8
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plantation Key
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Air show off the balcony, no 2 night min required, staff even managed to pull off a wedding in front of the Blue Angels Air Show. Made it all look normal and routine! Clean room, great view of the ocean, fridge, microwave in room. Great spot!

I will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay. The Air show is always a huge drawl to stay at the beach. We understand they will be back in Jacksonville Beach in 2014. We look forward to seeing you back at the Courtyard Marriott Oceanfront in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

For several years my boyfriend and I make an annual Jax Beach visit in October and stay at One Ocean Resort (we stayed here when it was the Sea Turtle Inn too) but they were booked so we chose the Courtyard Mariott and we were not disappointed. This hotel does not have all the amenities that One Ocean offers but there are no added fees (parking, mini bar, resort fee). This hotel was so clean (kudos to the housekeeping department), the staff was friendly and professional, the pool bar stayed open rain or shine and it did rain 2 of the days we were there, and the breakfast buffet was good. Not to mention it is on the beach and we did have a room with a view. Great stay. Looks like next October.... we love you One Ocean ....but The Courtyard Mariott will probably see us again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We were thrilled to read you had such a great experience at the Courtyard by Marriott Oceanfront. Thank you for taking the time to share all of your comments and we look forward to having you as our guest again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We met here for a wedding and family reunion, and it was a great location! Loved that it was right on the beach. My uncle rented a separate room with a kitchen where we could gather for lunch and snacks and talking. The pool was lovely, and we enjoyed sitting around it and talking, too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments; we are look forward to having you stay with us again at the Courtyard by Marriott Oceanfront in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel is average. but below average for a Marriott. No breakfast. No mini bar in room. Room towels are thin, but there is enough of then. Pillows are great.
Pool is nice. It is a older remolded builting. Which means thin walls.
Sunrise is beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for the top 6 th floor away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your stay. We welcome all feedback so that we can work on any issues to better serve our guests on a day to day basis. I did want to let you know that we do offer several different breakfast options including al a cart items all at a reasonable rate. We have also begun to stock a high quality towel due to comments we have been receiving from guest. I hope that when you return to the area we will have another opportunity to deliver those expectations and more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthews,nc
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I found the Marriot in Jacksonville to be one of the nicest beach resort hotel that I have ever stayed. The front desk was very frienly and helpful . The lounge was very accomindating for our group .
We also found the resturant breakfast was very good clean and had something for everyone.
We live about 400 miles away but want to go back. Are planning vacation there. rooms were clean and beds were very very comfortable. Love the pillows!
If I had to find a con about this hotel it would be that when we checked in the water was cut off until 4:oo about an hour for us. They had signs posted and said they were sorry but had to have some repairs and we understood.

Room Tip: rooms above pool might be a little loud , rooms over patio is best , all have nice balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your review! Our staff takes great pride in our Oceanfront hotel and we strive to provide the best customer service to our guests. We again are sorry we had to turn off the water for a few hours, we unexpectedly found a leak and luckily were able to repair it before any major damage occurred. Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott, and we look forward to having you stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

. We normally stay at a hotel closer to all the bars so we don’t have to worry about drinking and driving. We stayed with you guys because he had points to use and it seemed the better option for money. Typically people don’t hesitate to send an email or make a phone call when it comes to complaining. I wanted to send an email doing to opposite. When we stayed a few weeks ago we both feel in love with the atmosphere much better than the other hotels we have stayed out. He was still hesitant to stay there again because of the bar issue. We came back this past weekend and I can tell you we won’t ever stay anywhere else. Your staff made our stay outstanding. I wanted to point out a few people. First off Jane was in the bar Saturday night and took care of us and then was in the tiki bar the following day while we were at the pool. When we got there, there were 2 girls and then other left, Jane was extremely busy and still made sure no one had to wait. I was a bartender at one point and I hate seeing people get in the weeds but seeing how she handled it made the wait not bad. There was a one point a lady (who had been standing next to me for maybe 2 min) decided to yell at her because she was waiting “too long” for a coke refill. The lady even said called her stupid. Jane didn’t get upset or mad or anything (I made a comment to the lady because after all she was rude I didn’t have a job on the line). Jane even said she couldn’t believe how she was just talked to. I look forward to her bartending for us the next time we were there. The next person was Elaina, I myself and the world’s worst morning person, My boyfriend makes fun of me for it. We came down for breakfast Monday morning and she had me cracking up. She was super funny and very attentive. My boyfriend even made a comment that he can’t even make me laugh like that in the morning. The other 2 people are Rene and Kyle. Kyle gave us some great directions and suggestions to some good places to eat differently that what we had already been to. I know it sounds like he was doing his job but he went above and beyond not just saying go here and go there. Rene the omelet guy again was a great addition to the morning Sunday and Monday. He was funny and talkative while standing there for 5 min waiting on our omelet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to recognize our staff members, I know they enjoy what they do and work really hard at it. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront

Address: 1617 N 1st St, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront has spacious and comfortable guestrooms for you to enjoy along with the many amenities and close proximity to Jacksonville Beach attractions. Just a half hour from downtown Jacksonville and minutes away from some of the best shopping in the area, Jacksonville Beach is a great destination for business travelers or the family vacationers. Guests can sit on their balcony and listen to the waves crash ashore, enjoy a meal in our oceanfront restaurant, or just take in the beauty from our oceanfront patio. Gorgeous weather and beautiful scenery are some of the many magical things you can experience when you’re paying a visit to the Sands of Jacksonville Beach. Our hotel is recognized by the State of Florida as a Green Lodging Property & Most Sea Turtle Eco-Friendly Hotel. Our spacious rooms perfectly integrate business conveniences with luxurious comfort - beachside! Our junior and executive suites have a large oceanfront private balcony and a separate sitting area offering panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean. All rooms are non-smoking and have an LCD screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, and high-speed wireless internet access. Enjoy a reasonably priced breakfast buffet with omelets cooked to order and an ocean view. Relax in the oceanfront heated outdoor pool and whirlpool with Tiki Bar. Our hotel is equipped with an exercise room that has cardiovascular equipment and free weights. East coast Sports Rental has surfboards, skim boards, kayaks, bikes, beach chairs and umbrellas to rent for a day of fun at the beach. Reserve your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront Hotel Jacksonville Beach
Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Jacksonville Beach Marriott
Jacksonville Beach Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.