We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marina Hotel and Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Casa Marina Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Marina Hotel and Restaurant
691 First Street North, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250   |  
Hotel amenities
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here last summer just as Tropical Storm, Amelia was making her way across Florida.
Needless to say, it was a quiet noight in their rooftop restaurant/bar. but it was Happy Hour and th evening that my husband and and I arrived. The staff was very friendly in all areas, but the best was the rooftop bar staff that continued with happy hour even though my hasband and I were the only customers they had during the heart of the storm.
Last week we went back to Jacksonville beach, but stayed in a different hotel. We still went to Casa Marina both nights we were there to visit with the wonderful bar staff and have a great time!
...and enjoy their wonderful "happy Hours"! If you pop in, ask if Ben is there...Say "Hi".

Room Tip: Rooftop Restaurant/Bar is great during late afternoon > - = 8 pm i usual "happy hour"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    23
    7
    3
    10
See reviews for
17
39
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our stay was on a Tuesday/Wednesday. Sara at the front desk was excellent, as was everyone else. She made us feel very welcome. Our room was fantastic and we were treated to a couple of Tapas plates from the hotel restaurant (excellent). We forgot our beach towels, again, Sara was extremely accommodating and provided us with hotel beach towels.
The location, view, staff, room, walking distance for nightlife...all perfect.
We cant say enough about how much we liked our stay and would definitely go back to hotel. For us, everything starts with customer service and it was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My family and I spent 2 nights at this hotel. Thursday night was the first night and it was wonderful, Friday night was a little different. This hotel has a bar on the roof and on Friday and Saturday nights I would recommend staying on the opposite side of the hotel. Other then our night of hearing music and other bar type noise, we loved this hotel. The hotel manager was also very sorry that we had to deal with noise and wished we had called down to comment before the morning because it is their policy to put families on the other side of the hotel and we were put overthere as an oversight. It is an older hotel with a lot of old world charm. It has hard wood floor through out rooms, seperate living room with pull out sofa, little hallway with closet and storage area, decent size bathroom and seperate bedroom. Although it doesn't have a pool you have direct access to the beach and beach views from every window. The staff was also amazing. Everyone was so nice and very helpful!!!! Can't say enough good things about our stay, the staff and this beautiful historic hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the opposite side of hotel from the bar if you are staying on a Friday or Saturday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had Sunday Brunch at Casa Marina with friends who live in the area. They rave about Casa Marina and now we understand why. Everything was absolutely delicious and we highly recommend the buffet! We particularly liked the poached eggs on slices of eggplant (i.e., Casa Marina’s take on eggs Benedict) and a spectacular presentation of whole baked fish (salmon and whitefish). There was also prime rib, fried chicken, peel ‘n eat shrimp, pasta Alfredo with baby spinach, a generous selection of vegetables, salads and everything you could possibly want for breakfast. The dessert table included tiramisu, peach cobbler, cherry cobbler, chocolate torte, carrot cake, several cheesecakes and mini cinnamon buns. A selection of beverages is included with brunch, including mimosas, poinsettias (i.e., cranberry juice and champagne), orange juice, soft drinks, coffee and tea. Sterling, the maître d', is very welcoming and friendly. Service is excellent. The price seems very reasonable for all you get.

Casa Marina is a lovely historic, beachfront building. The dining room has high ceilings and tall windows overlooking a courtyard and the beach. Tables are well-spaced so there is plenty of room to move around the buffet, but with the main dining room filled to capacity, it’s noisy. (In fact, the noise level in the dining room is the only reason we didn’t give this restaurant 5 stars.) There is also courtyard and oceanfront patio seating available. The Sunday brunch buffet is a very popular offering, so it’s definitely advisable to make reservations. There is plenty of parking next to and across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for a friend's wedding on a recent Saturday night, and while the wedding was lovely, I honestly don't know how they can read some of the rooms here. Our room (218) was on the second-floor of the three story property. The third floor's Penthouse Lounge turns into a nightclub after 10PM. Our room literally shook from the bass of the thumping music above us. Further, the room was poorly maintained. The cover to the light in the bathroom was dangling precariously, held on only at one side. The door to the closet with the air conditioner fell off when you tried to open it, and the cabinet door containing the television in the bedroom was held closed by a hair elastic. Never been so happy to check out of a room in my life.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I met my husband in the Penthouse Lounge on the top of this hotel in 2011. After several happy hours and Saturday nights at this hotel, we became engaged. He proposed to me here in 2012. It was only natural that we get married here. We were married on May 4, 2103 at the Casa Marina. They did an incredible job. Everyone ranted and raved about how incredible the food was. They loved the service. The place was beautiful. Our families stayed at the hotel and the rooms were very nice. Our suite was elegant and classy. I plan on coming here every year for my anniversary. Of course, I will still enjoy Sunday afternoons and Wednesday nights there with live music in the meantime. Don't miss happy hour on Friday. You never know who you are going to meet.

Room Tip: If more than one person is going and you are staying for a while, opt for the suite. There is a sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just returned from holding a destination wedding at the Casa Marina. It was one of the loveliest
experiences I have had at a hotel. Built in 1924, it still retains it's charm without being old
fashioned. Right on Jacksonville Beach, it's Penthouse bar has a wonderful view of the ocean and fantastic drinks! Our reception was well handled by the ever professional Sterling and the food was delicious. The chef, the masterful Mr. Webb, did not serve your average banquet fare. Creative and flavorful, it was high end quality food.
The best part of the whole experience was the people. Everyone who I encountered there was friendly and helpful. Everything was done to accommodate our every need. Sarah, at the front desk, was truly amazing, even though she was having to maneuver on crutches.
They serve a fantastic brunch on Sundays, if you are just visiting for the day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Marina Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 691 First Street North, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Jacksonville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Marina Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marina Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.