We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids bowl free all summer long” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Bowl

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Beach Bowl
818 Beach Boulevard, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
(904) 249-9849
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Amusement
Attraction details
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kids bowl free all summer long”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Nice local, small bowling alley that honors Kids Bowl Free for the summer. Food was good. They could use some upgrades for the scoring mechanisms and if they charge the $2 for the kids ball ramps, they should invest in some new ones. The ones they have are old and unbalanced. Actually, I've never been to a bowling alley that charges for these.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dated but good place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Kids had a great time. I was thankful I could purchase extra socks. Staff was friendly. It was good fun for all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“what a ball”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The friendliness and fun is always just inside the doorway ...the food is the best Eddie is the grill master..and the whole staff our new friends...THATS the best part of a beach town ...small town feel and always a welcoming smile ...cosmic bowling has become a staple of our weekly fun ..we have quite a gang...that calls this place home...Dudley is the PR on..who can take care of all your Bowling needs...rain or shine its the place to have a ball....full bar and pbr's for us ....stop by and say hi ...tell um the Palmer's said hi

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun for the kids, service needs improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I was part of a large family group that had called ahead to reserve several lanes. When we arrived, the woman at the counter seemed unorganized and put out by our group's arrival. There was another woman at the counter who was much more welcoming. We are able to begin fairly quickly and the kids were delighted to have bumpers in the lanes and ramps to use for the ball. We had a few problems with our lane getting stuck, but the desk took care of those issues fairly quickly. The lane set up was a little dated; for example, you couldn't designate one bowler to use bumpers and the next not to. Everyone in the lane had to use the bumpers.

The music was loud, and with all the extra noise of bowling, it was difficult to carry on conversations.

There was a very long wait at the snack bar to order food! It took well over 10 minutes just to order and then 30 minutes more before my three pretzels were ready. I chose pretzels deliberately thinking they would be quick.

The kids had a great time, but I left feeling like it could have been better. I might return again to give them another try, in case I hit an off day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Take the Kids Bowling on the Cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Beach Bowl has been in Jax Beach since I was a kid. The building has been remodeled but lacks the flair of newer alleys. The lanes are good and you can get great prices most mornings. There is a nice snack bar and the people are helpful

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Bowl also viewed

 

Been to Beach Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Bowl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.