We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Campeche Bay Cantina Mexican Rest

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Campeche Bay Cantina Mexican Rest
127 First Ave North, Jacksonville Beach, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Slow Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

It was a quiet night at the restaurant (although the bar side was busy), so you would think service would be good. Not so. There was no one to greet us at the hostess desk when we walked in. A busboy saw us and said someone would be right there to seat us, but the hostess did not show up for several more minutes. We place our orders and the food was brought to us in a timely manner, but by someone other than our server, who seemed to disappear for the majority of our stay.
The food was just okay - nothing special. We went expecting a unique Mexican seafood experience, but were disappointed in the seafood options. Maybe just a bad time of year for fresh fish?

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fresh tasting Mexican food in a great atmosphere!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere with excellent variety of menu options. All within 2 blocks of beach. About 6 TVs in the bar showing several different football games. Complimentary chips with a green and a red salsa. For dinner, we had the shredded beef tostada, basically large salad, and fish tacos (with tuna). Both very fresh tasting!! Good drinks as well!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Johns, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best Mexican food east of Mexico.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

First it is no cookie cuter chain. It is owned and ran by 3 Guys that really love what they do and it shows. I have know them for about 25 years and I will say they have got it together.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Solid Food and a Great Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I schedule a dinner night here whenever we return to visit family at the Beach. Campeche Bay has solid, quality food. My wife swears that the fish tacos here are the best she's ever had, and she continually searches out decent fish tacos. She gets them every time. I am partial to the Chicken Poblano Rojas, which is two sautéd chicken breasts covered in roasted peppers and a cream sauce. Such a fantastic dish.

We almost always sit at the bar as opposed to the dining room and the bar staff is fantastic. They are witty and interact well with the patrons and are helpful with suggestions. Plus, they make great drinks, including a quality top shelf margarita.

We've been here dozens of times and don't intend to stop. It is a great choice for solid Mexican at a great price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth Checking Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I would recommend checking the restaurant out if you're in the area. The food selection is pretty good and the prices are reasonable. This is definitely a more Baja or Cabo style of Mexican food than your Tex-Mex or New Mexican type of mexican food. I don't know that this would be my "go to" place but I will return. The fish tacos were very good. Our server was excellent...she didn't miss a beat and was very patient with the two small children we had at the table.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Campeche Bay Cantina Mexican Rest also viewed

Jacksonville Beach, FL
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 

Been to Campeche Bay Cantina Mexican Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campeche Bay Cantina Mexican Rest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.