We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KC Crave - CLOSED

KC Crave
1161 Beach Blvd, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
904 595 5660
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Welcome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Last night the husband and I tried KC Crave for the first time. We decided to hit the Happy Hour early (4pm) as to miss the Friday night crowds and to get a good feel for the place. The prices were great, as were the portions and taste. At Happy Hour the appetizers and small plates are all $6.00, which is a bargain for what you get. We sampled the crab wontons, bourbon sliders and tsunami chips. All were delicious. The wontons were a little spicy, but not devilishly hot. There is a good beer selection especially for those wanting to try the local brews. The husband had The Green Room (local brew) IPA and he said it's one of his new favorites. We left around 6pm, at which time it was getting busier and the bar was filling up. Although we didn't venture upstairs, there are tables upstairs that have a beer tap at the table, so you get to get your own beer and it calculates how much you've had. Also of note, happy hour is still offered at the tap tables too. All around I was impressed with the food, the people and the prices. We will be back again...maybe this time we will give dinner a try.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    15
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida and Lunenburg
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Doesn't Live Up to the Hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This place is the new rage in Jacksonvile Beach. It has great decor and a lively downstairs vibe...too lively. On the evening we dined there, hoards of unescorted, well turned out young women arrived for dinner but they were not part of a party, delegation or convention. Coincidence? Perhaps.

The word on the street was that the food was fabulous and the portions were enormous. Neither was the case. The salmon dish was quite good but the rest was just average. They are proud of their appetizer hummus but I found it severely over-engineered. In the meantime, the young ladies just got louder and louder as no hoards of young gentlemen arrived to amend their unrestrained histrionics.

I do not recommend dinner in the downstairs section of this restaurant for people over 40 years of age. With that said, the prices were really quite reasonable and the check was relatively small. Our red wine selection, recommended by our companion at $8 per glass, was excellent. And if you love to watch easy on the eyes young women dine, or hope for an impromptu pick up, then this place is for you. The upstairs requires reservations. Perhaps it is quiter and more "reserved." We will try this place again with a reservation and find out. With time, we think it is quite possible that KC Krave will turn out to be a solid long term asset for the Beaxhes community.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Jacksonville Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

There are several good restaurants in Jax Beach, but KC Crave has set some new standards. Excellent food and service. Portions are for sharing, and they are large. You tend to over order.
Even though the restaurant was full the kitchen kept up to the challenge.
There is also quite a bar scene both inside and outside the restaurant.
Only criticism is the cocktails are let down by the soda fountain type mixers I.e. the tonic was tasteless, so was the ginger ale.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Must Go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

KC Crave is exactly what Jax Beach needed! An upscale restaurant with reasonable prices, and the happy hour is the best out there! The service was outstanding, and I love the atmosphere. One of my new favorite spots.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

There were 6 of us that reserved a tap table upstairs. Neat concept and cozy booth for a large group. We all had a blast! The food is fantastic. Portions are large so be sure to share with your table. Deserts are a must try...all of them were so good! Service is spot on and very friendly. Highly recommend this place as it is one of the best restaurants at Jax Beach! For the amount of food you get the price is way less than I thought it would be including the beer we all drank from the tap at the table.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KC Crave also viewed

 
Jacksonville Beach, FL
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KC Crave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.