We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wanted it to be good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gumbo YaYa's East

Gumbo YaYa's East
14333 Beach Blvd. #101, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
904-223-0202
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Restaurant details
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I wanted it to be good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

I wanted this place to be great like most of the reviews say it is. The place has a nice hole-in-the-wall feel, like they HAVE to put out great food in order to stay in business. They don't. I ordered the jambalaya and fried mushrooms and sat at the counter, I watch the man behind the counter pull a big tub out of the refrigerator scoop out jambalaya, spritz it with hot water from the tap on the coffee maker and put it in the microwave. He then plated it in a basket and had the server walk around the counter to give it to me. Even after seeing this I still tried it. It was bland... Surprising enough I couldn't tell it was nuked, but you can buy a mix at the store that blows this out of the water. Mushrooms were O.K. Their saving grace was some seasoning they put on after frying, if your shroom was missed by the shaker, it was very bland breading. Plus side I could tell they were fresh mushrooms. Gumbo yaya's, you get one star because it's mandatory and one more because the staff is nice. I would not recommend this place, and won't be going back.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Best Cajun seafood in Jacksonville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I am originally from Southwest Louisiana, thus I have partaken of Cajun food my entire life. Gumbo Ya Ya met or exceeded all of my expectations again and again and again. i had lunch with 4 other ladies and we had the time of our life. The the tastiness of food was enhanced by the attentiveness and charm of the staff.

They made us feel so welcome and indeed part of a community. Thank you Gumbo Ya Ya

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Cajun Restaurant in Jacksonville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

What can I say? It has all the great food straight from Louisiana. Big hang out spot for LSU and Saints fans. They have great Gumbo, Jambalaya, etouffee, etc. Small Casual Restaurant with great food and service. I highly recommend almost everything they have on the menu. I personally like the Jack Daniels Bread Pudding as a favorite!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenswood, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice New Orleans touch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Boiled shrimp, crawfish pie, and green bean, artichoke casserole were nicely prepared and the service is good!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Oyster poboy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Outstanding food new orleans style, oyster po- boy is delicious, cold draft beer, gumbo is really good, great spot for lunch or dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gumbo YaYa's East also viewed

Jacksonville Beach, FL
 
Jacksonville Beach, FL
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 

Been to Gumbo YaYa's East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gumbo YaYa's East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.