We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gumbo YaYa's East

Gumbo YaYa's East
14333 Beach Blvd. #101, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
904-223-0202
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Restaurant details
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
353 reviews 353 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Another Great Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

As promised, we stopped in for another meal when we were in Jacksonville. My husband couldn't eat since he was having some medical testing done, but he was a trooper and took me so I could have some "hometown" food. I had the seafood gumbo and the shrimp etouffee, and both came with wonderfully fresh French bread. The gumbo seemed a bit thick, but was still tasty. The etouffe was quite good, and it was the first time I had it with shrimp instead of crawfish.

Staff was very nice and helpful to everyone who came into the restaurant.

We'll be back for another taste of "home" when we're back in town!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Expectations were exceeded”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Went here on a beach trip with my family. LOVED IT!! Best po-boy I have ever had. Wife had jambalaya and kids had ham and cheese po-boys. Also had some killer hand breaded mushrooms. Writing this review before sampling bread pudding, but I'm sure it will be great too. Good value to. The bill with tip was only 60.00. Two thumbs up!! Much better than the Cajun at home.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Panhandle, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Holy Cow, what a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We found this place by accident and were really impressed. While we were eating our lunch, we were busy looking at the menu and ordering to go items to try later. The service was excellent, the food was wonderful and the prices were very reasonable. Between the 5 of us, we sampled many of the menu items and they were ALL good. This is not a fancy place, but it is really good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Gumbo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Had a friend tell me about this place so I had to try it. I love gumbo and I must say it was pretty good. New Orleans still gumbo in a foam cup. No fancy dinning here. Service good and the place was small but crowded. Pricing was ok but I thought a little high for a small eat-in strip mall restuarant. I will go back when I crave gumbo.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great new place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Great food and bread! The staff was friendly and the atmosphere makes you believe you are in The Big Easy! Had the seafood gumbo and onion rings. Gumbo had great flavor and thr rings were big and crispy. I'll definitely be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gumbo YaYa's East also viewed

Jacksonville Beach, FL
 

Been to Gumbo YaYa's East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gumbo YaYa's East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.