We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too bad good food doesn't compensate for bad service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
1018-2 North 3rd Street, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
904-241-5600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We are more than pizza and beer. Catering. Delivery. Gluten free pizza and vegan options. Art, music and Wi-Fi. Spring water dough, fresh toppings, the highest quality cheese on the market. Daily beer specials! Open late!
Spring, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Too bad good food doesn't compensate for bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Unless customer service is not a big deal to you..the new Spring, Tx location provided horrible service. Unfortunately by the time I did receive any attention, I could not tell if the pizza was good. I don't think I'll be back...no food is worth the disservice we've received.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    60
    25
    13
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Anything but mellow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Really good food! Like the variety something for everyone's taste buds. Semi vegetarian choices. Service was really good enjoyed the appetizer and salad. The shock was when the bill came!!! OMG really for an appetizer, pizza and a small salad....it was good but not that good!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Still My Favorite Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My wife and I just returned home from San Francisco; had some pizza there and we both agree that Mellow Mushroom's pizza is still the best. Better than any I've had in Chicago and New York. The crust and good quality ingredients give a flavor that is hard to duplicate.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Service-bad food (found a hair!)”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

I've been to this location twice. The first time, it was fairly crowded and took about an hour for our food to come out. By the time it came out, we had lost our appetite. Especially after seeing our burnt pizza. The manager even agreed that it was burnt and removed it from our bill. I gave it another try at a different hour. Again, the service was great. Our waitress was friendly and attentive. However the food took a long time again. And this time there was a long blonde hair in my daughters food. We don't have blonde hair, and neither did our waitress. I completely lost my appetite again. My daughter didn't even want the free dessert they offered. They did comp her food but after two bad experiences, we won't go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful pizza!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Having worked at a family ran Italian place, with fresh dough and ingredients, I like to think I know a little pizza. This place has wonderful pizza! The decor and atmosphere is great and the menu is not complicated and has a little something for just about everyones taste. Hummus appetizer was great and our Mellowterannean pizza (feta, red peppers, chicken ,basil, tsatziki sauce etc etc) was delicious. Crust is garlic'y'(?) and soft and warm.

The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is that the server looked pretty uninterested in me and my lady, and was in fact eating her lunch/dinner 10ft away from us with some friends, on the floor, on the clock............???

Great place and one of the best places on Jax beach to eat. Will be back soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

Jacksonville Beach, FL
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mellow Mushroom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.