We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorites in Jacksonville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eleven South Bistro

Eleven South Bistro
216 11th Avenue South, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
9042411112
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Eleven South Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $30 - $55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Georgia, US
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“One of our favorites in Jacksonville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We have eaten here several times. We have had great food and service each time. Rack of lamb is awesome. Other menu items are great as well. Highly recommend.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    29
    6
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not a bad experience, but it was not great either”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our Tuesday evening, wed valet parked, our 8 pm reservation was acknowledged and we were promptly seated. There was a rather good crowd, both at the bar and in the restaurant. The service staff wasted no time in providing water and beverages. A "first impression" was the ambient noise level was pretty high. Noticed that there is no noise abatement capability evident in the ceiling. We noticed a fair number of people eating out on a patio ... which had ceiling fans and nice indirect lighting. Probably less noise out there.

We ordered 5 dishes from the "left-side" of the menu. The best by far was the soup du jour, a caramelized onion dish that also contained smoked applewood bacon and a touch of cheese. It was really quite good. Another special was a crab cake. While it contained little to no filling, and was topped with tomato confit and an aioli, it looked a lot better than it tasted. An on-the-menu Bibb Lettuce salad was ordered next. The Bibb Lettuce Salad contained sliced avocado, orange supremes, hearts of palm, shaved vidalia, toasted Macadamia, citrus poppy vinaigrette. It was fine, but there was not much vinaigrette on the salad. Additionally, the Grilled Atlantic Salmon was way over done. Lastly, the Grilled Artichoke was ordered. Accompanied by citrus, poached and mesquite grilled whole artichoke, aged parmesan, olive oil and lemon lemon aioli. It was pretty good and plentiful in size, with the hearts made easily accessible.

All in all, this was not a bad experience, but it was not great either. Service was very attentive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Happy hour 1/2 !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in after a day of shopping on Sunday around 5. Sat at the bar and enjoyed a very nice $3.50 glass of wine , tasty cheese plate with honeycomb and marcona almonds. Small bite that left us eager to return as the lambchops our neighbor feasted on looked delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A Shore Thing in Jax Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

If you thought you’d only find touristy seafood restaurants in Jacksonville Beach, then think again. Eleven South Bistro proves that fine dining can be found in this beachside town. I’d actually put Eleven South up against any of the top-tier restaurants in the city of Jacksonville. The entire staff, from valets to hosts to waiters, was very courteous and attentive. The menu selections varied and innovatively presented. We even had someone in our party who had a limited palate, and she was able to have a delicious meal along with the rest of us. The portions were just right – not too overwhelmed with food and not left feeling hungry. The only negative was the noise level. It got a little loud when the restaurant filled up, but welcome to bistro dining. We’ll definitely return and recommend this gem of a find to others.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good But Not Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I went to Eleven South recently with another couple. First, our service was excellent. And while the décor is attractive, it is noisy when the restaurant is busy as it was on the Saturday we went. We were still able to have conversations, however. We ordered the cheese plate for the table as an appetizer while we enjoyed our pre-dinner drinks and it was very good. Their wine list is nicely chosen and prices are reasonable. My husband and I both ordered the Sea Bass and while it was attractively presented, it was just warm - not hot. It seemed like they had been sitting waiting for the other two orders to be ready. We did not mention this to our waiter, but it did detract from the overall experience. We eat out often, and getting the food while it is hot to the table is critically important to the flavor and enjoyment of the food. This is the one area that the kitchen needs to improve so that the quality of the food matches the prices. A busy Saturday night is no excuse for not serving hot food. I don't know that we'll go back anytime soon, since we have a favorite restaurant in Ponte Vedra where the prices are similar but we've always gotten our dinners hot and delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eleven South Bistro also viewed

 
Jacksonville Beach, FL
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 

Been to Eleven South Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eleven South Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.