We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TacoLu

TacoLu
Beach boulevard, Jacksonville Beach, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Downers Grove, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The food here is amazing. I highly recommend the Carne Asade steak tacos. The service was fast and friendly and the atmosphere was great. Family of 4 ate for just shy of $60 with tip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    86
    35
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best tacos on the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The atmosphere is lively and the tacos are unique! They have a wide variety of tacos and Mexican inspired food. The bar area can get pretty crowded, and I prefer the outside seating. The staff are speedy and helpful. The wide variety of drinks are refreshing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Follow the crowds to share a truly average Taco with them!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My wife and I have driven by this place a thousand times and it always seems busy. This restaurant location has been two other establishments before, and we dined at both before they closed. Then Tacolu moved in from further down Beach Blvd. So, in spite of some mediocre reviews and what looked to be a likely wait for a table on a Sunday evening, we gave it a try. We like to try new places and hopefully discover a new favorite eatery. In the case of Tacolu we ordered what else, Tacos! So now we've been there & done that, won't be back. My overall impression was that they may as well have some Golden Arches out front. True, there are a variety of tacos to choose from, but they come out looking like assembly line food, and they taste like it too. Maybe the other menu items are better? This is the kind of place that ( I think ) Anthony Bourdain would sneer at, and rightfully so. Nothing really bad about the tacos we had, just nothing really good about them either. When the best part of your dining is the chips and salsa you know it was a pretty forgettable meal. Also, it is noisy, crowded, and you may find yourself seated at a small table for two shoehorned between other small tables with waiters standing literally just behind and beside you taking orders from the next table. Feels a little like you have to hold your elbows close, like on a crowded airline flight out of LaGuardia. Is it really all that bad? No, like I said it is just mediocre in all ways and maybe that explains it's popularity. Some folks just like to graze with the herd.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“THIS is the place you're looking for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

I've lived in JAX 3 years and not found one restaurant with really great food....until today. This place is fantastic with an inspired menu, vibrant ambience, and killer tasty drinks. I had the avocado tacos with carne asade, suiza enchiladas, Mexican corn, charro beans, cilantro lime rice, a house margarita (outstanding BTW) and sopapillas for dessert. It was a flavor explosion in my mouth and everything about it authentic. Friendly staff and complimentary valet parking. Love Love Love!!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Interesting tacos in a neat old house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

There is a wide variety of tacos here- and they are not the traditional tacos. Our favorite taco was the scallop taco .
The restaurant is casual and a bit noisy. The service was good.
Overall, we enjoyed our meal very much.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TacoLu also viewed

Jacksonville Beach, FL
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 

Been to TacoLu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TacoLu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.